We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel by a seasoned traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel by a seasoned traveller”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The best and most friendly service that you could wish for. I was greeted at reception by the owner who then proceeded to introduce me to the chef and their great red wine. After using the free wifi I then ate at the restaurant. Beautiful home cooked food which was complimented by their selection of wines.
The room was clean and very comfortable and even came with its own sky box. The power shower was superb.
When back in Glasgow I will only consider this hotel. My only concern with putting this review together is that it might it might make more people aware of this secret gem and hinder my bookings in future,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    290
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
133
498
87
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tarbert
Level Contributor
207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

stayed here due to work and was pleased with the experience .as others have said very unique hotel with the very friendly and hospitable welcome .it isn't too easy to find as its part of Caledonian chambers.great location for train station and city centre shopping .the restaurant has 22 covers and has the same bespoke welcome as reception .good value and quirky worth a shot

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We arrived by train at Central Station and the hotel was about 2 minutes walk away - so convenient.
It's a bit odd, as it's on the top floor of a commercial block, but it's fabulous.
We were greeted at reception, given a tour of the facilities, then taken to our room and plied with cupcakes and hot drinks. The staff are wonderful. So helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and all the towels and bed linens are top quality. Sky TV with all the movie and sports channels.
They do a lovely 3 course evening meal which is different every evening and their slogan is 'Don't eat alone, join us for supper' so wonderful for solo travelers.
Very nice breakfast - especially loved the honey and spelt bread which comes in fresh from a Bavarian bakery every morning. I asked for a veggie breakfast and got one.
From our window we could see the Lighthouse Centre. So convenient for everything.
Only slight down side was from my husband who prefers his coffee hotter than they serve.
We will be back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BattyBebington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My friend and I stayed here on two separate occasions and the service was unparalleled. Sean, who works the front desk, gave us detailed descriptions of things to do and places to see. He even took out his phone and showed us pictures from some of his own visits. Per his recommendation we had an incredible time in glasgow.

The rooms at grasshopper are clean, lovely and comfortable. The breakfast in the mornings were always delicious and fresh and we enjoyed the cupcakes they provide in the corridor throughout the day. We also enjoyed a dinner in The Kitchen, and although the cook, Margot, swears she is not a trained chef, her food is phenomenal! Best meal we had in Glasgow actually.

Our stay was nothing short of spectacular. I will always go back to Grasshoppers hotel. Not to mention the location is smack dab in the middle of all the best shopping and train stations and subways.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaedy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I was put up here for 2 nights for work with 3 other colleagues. When we approached the entrance we were concerned that we'd be staying in a backpackers' hostel and went up to the 6th floor with trepidation. However, all our fears were dispelled as soon as we exited the lift and entered a light, bright airy space. The place is reminiscent of an upmarket version of Ikea, clean lines, bright colours and spotlessly clean with functional high quality furniture. Each bedroom has a feature wall with Missprint wallpaper which adds style and quirkiness to the rooms. The beds are extremely comfortable, the double power shower a real treat as are the free cupcakes and shortbread around the hotel.
We ate in both nights and on both occasions had a fantastic meal with really generous portions. The breakfasts were excellent too. The owner and staff are really welcoming and helpful making sure you have a really comfortable stay. Can't wait for my next trip to Glasgow to stay here again

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fragolino12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr. Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Tucked away on the 6th floor of Caledonian Chambers on Union Street, you would have to know that this fantastic boutique hotel was perched on the top floor, occupying commanding views over the roof of Central Station, to avail yourself of this home from home. The room design is modern, immaculately clean and had an amazing en-suite shower/bathroom. The staff are charm personified and really can't do enough to make your stay memorably enjoyable. Brooke, even came up with a list of restaurants to try on our Friday night stay, as this was the one weekday night that dinner was not available in house. Centrally located for easy access to almost any part of the city centre, this is an ideal location if you are arriving in Glasgow by train or are planning to attend an evening event and live some distance away.

Cannot speak highly enough of our experience, which was great from start to finish and even saw Simon the General Manager multi tasking on room changes as part of the team effort in delivering top class service to guests. We will be returning soon for more of the Grasshopper experience.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking Central Station roof are slightly less noisy at night than those overlooking U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodanthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed two nights in this hotel and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The decor was wooden floors and neutral colours with one different statement wall in each room. The staement wallpaper was available to buy. I was on my own and had a large double room with an en suite with a double size shower. The whole place was spotlessly clean. The food was amazing. Both breakfast and supper was of a very high standard accompanied by rustic bread. I had a fabulous stay here.

Room Tip: Book early it is a popular hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kareen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing