We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You'll love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We chose Grasshoppers having read other Trip Advisor reviews and it certainly lives up to them. Street level entrance is quite drab - at upper end of Union Street - and hotel sign here could be more obvious. But you step out of the lift into a bright contemporary top floor hotel and a great welcome. (On booking we'd received a welcome e-mail suggesting places of interest to visit - a really nice touch which helps you plan your time). The rest just confirms other comments - the little details, cupcakes & coffee, a tube of Smarties, touches that make it feel like being a guest in someone's home, with interesting art work as an added bonus; The Kitchen is a compact but very friendly eating experience - food is very good including the evening meal. Because it's so central, you make best use of time in reaching other restaurants, shops, places of interest etc. and reception very kindly offered to keep our luggage during our last day there, which was a big help. We'll be back and I'd certainly recommend it to any single person staying in Glasgow on business. One last touch - we loved the Valentine's Day poems :)) Were all UK hospitality like this, visitors couldn't stay away!

Room Tip: If you like to open room windows, better to choose one overlooking the station rather than Union Str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explore3947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    290
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
133
498
87
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at the Grasshoppers for three nights in January. The location of the hotel is great - an 8-minute walk from Queen's railway station (we arrived on a train from Edinburgh; there are detailed directions how to get to the hotel at the hotel's website) and literally next door to the entrance to the Central railway station. A bus stop for an express bus to the airport is also within walking distance.

The hotel is situated on the 6th floor of a commercial building.

We arrived at around 11 am and were greeted by hotel manager Sean. Our room was ready which was really nice! Sean showed us the breakfast room and the sitting room and ushered us to our room. The room is not particularly large; in our room we had two beds, TV (with Sky!) on a cupboard, two bedside tables; no wardrobe. The strange thing about the room is the sliding door to the bathroom - there is space between the wall and the door even when the door is closed! A hairdryer is not in the room so if you need one you will have to ask at the reception which is not much trouble obviously. Tea/coffee facilities are provided but we had a very small kettle in our room and too little sugar - only 5 tiny packs for two people! When we asked for more in the evening we were given only 5 more packs. On the other hand you can always help yourself to free and tasty cupcakes which can be found next to the reception. We had energy saving bulbs in our room so the light was bright white. Beds were soft and comfortable. There is a comprehensive and very helpful guide book in the room containing all the information about the hotel you might need. Our room and bathroom were in immaculate condition. There is no carpet on the floor which I personally like.

Hospitality at the Grasshoppers is absolutely great, one of the best experiences I have ever had at a hotel. You really feel at ease and at home there.

In Glasgow I wanted to go to an event but it turned out that there are no electronic tickets for that event and tickets can only be sent by post. The hotel was very nice to allow me to indicate their address for the delivery. And Sean gave us extremely helpful directions how to get to the venue!

Also we booked a bus tour to Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle begorehand, it was scheduled for the second day of our stay in Glasgow. However, the bus tour was not to happen - as we were leaving the hotel after we had checked in we heard Sean talking on the phone with someone who was inquiring about two Russian ladies. It turned out it was the agency manager who wanted to let us know that our tour had been cancelled due to the fact that we were the only two people who had booked it. We were extremely disappointed but Sean came up with a suggestion to book exactly the same tour from another company which did not cancel trips no matter how small the group was. He made a swift call to that agency and in five minutes we were booked for the tour which we enjoyed a lot the next day.

Breakfast was good. There is a choice between continental and English options. Self-service is in place. At the time of our stay English option was a bit curtailed with no beans and mushrooms. In the evening you can have dinner at the dining room but we did not have a chance to taste it.

The attitude towards guests which Sean and the team demonstrate corresponds to my idea of hospitality and I would like to thank everyone at the Grasshoppers for the great time I had in Glasgow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricciopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The best and most friendly service that you could wish for. I was greeted at reception by the owner who then proceeded to introduce me to the chef and their great red wine. After using the free wifi I then ate at the restaurant. Beautiful home cooked food which was complimented by their selection of wines.
The room was clean and very comfortable and even came with its own sky box. The power shower was superb.
When back in Glasgow I will only consider this hotel. My only concern with putting this review together is that it might it might make more people aware of this secret gem and hinder my bookings in future,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarbert
Level Contributor
207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

stayed here due to work and was pleased with the experience .as others have said very unique hotel with the very friendly and hospitable welcome .it isn't too easy to find as its part of Caledonian chambers.great location for train station and city centre shopping .the restaurant has 22 covers and has the same bespoke welcome as reception .good value and quirky worth a shot

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We arrived by train at Central Station and the hotel was about 2 minutes walk away - so convenient.
It's a bit odd, as it's on the top floor of a commercial block, but it's fabulous.
We were greeted at reception, given a tour of the facilities, then taken to our room and plied with cupcakes and hot drinks. The staff are wonderful. So helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and all the towels and bed linens are top quality. Sky TV with all the movie and sports channels.
They do a lovely 3 course evening meal which is different every evening and their slogan is 'Don't eat alone, join us for supper' so wonderful for solo travelers.
Very nice breakfast - especially loved the honey and spelt bread which comes in fresh from a Bavarian bakery every morning. I asked for a veggie breakfast and got one.
From our window we could see the Lighthouse Centre. So convenient for everything.
Only slight down side was from my husband who prefers his coffee hotter than they serve.
We will be back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BattyBebington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My friend and I stayed here on two separate occasions and the service was unparalleled. Sean, who works the front desk, gave us detailed descriptions of things to do and places to see. He even took out his phone and showed us pictures from some of his own visits. Per his recommendation we had an incredible time in glasgow.

The rooms at grasshopper are clean, lovely and comfortable. The breakfast in the mornings were always delicious and fresh and we enjoyed the cupcakes they provide in the corridor throughout the day. We also enjoyed a dinner in The Kitchen, and although the cook, Margot, swears she is not a trained chef, her food is phenomenal! Best meal we had in Glasgow actually.

Our stay was nothing short of spectacular. I will always go back to Grasshoppers hotel. Not to mention the location is smack dab in the middle of all the best shopping and train stations and subways.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaedy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I was put up here for 2 nights for work with 3 other colleagues. When we approached the entrance we were concerned that we'd be staying in a backpackers' hostel and went up to the 6th floor with trepidation. However, all our fears were dispelled as soon as we exited the lift and entered a light, bright airy space. The place is reminiscent of an upmarket version of Ikea, clean lines, bright colours and spotlessly clean with functional high quality furniture. Each bedroom has a feature wall with Missprint wallpaper which adds style and quirkiness to the rooms. The beds are extremely comfortable, the double power shower a real treat as are the free cupcakes and shortbread around the hotel.
We ate in both nights and on both occasions had a fantastic meal with really generous portions. The breakfasts were excellent too. The owner and staff are really welcoming and helpful making sure you have a really comfortable stay. Can't wait for my next trip to Glasgow to stay here again

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fragolino12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing