We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very homely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A very homely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The staff are all incredibly helpful and friendly – they even printed a couple of documents I need during my stay. They make it as homely as possible with nice touches, such as homemade goodies, and a lounge area. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    285
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
129
495
83
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

outstanding location and facility. The grasshopper was a wonderful place to stay when exploring Glasgow. if your arrive by train it is especially convenient to the central train stations and in the midst of all the shopping and splendid restaurants. The most challenging part of staying here is choosing between eating in, or which restaurant a short walk away. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. everyone make you feel at home. Sean can find anything for you, had great recommendations for just about everything! their tag line is "you never left home..." and they go out of their way to make you feel that way. plates of cupcakes and short bread available for snacks at all times of day, fruit, in room coffee and tea, bottles of water and smarties in every room. if you don't see something, just ask they probably have it for you.

The rooms are very comfortable. bath room worked perfectly and it all seemed very new. large flat screen tv with sky plus, awesome. free WiFi that works everywhere. it would be hard to find something to ask for. breakfast was wonderful with both cold and hot options. amazing breads, fresh tea or coffee, a selection of juice. hard to beat and all available in a friendly, family like atmosphere.

this is truly a great place, I will most certainly return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned from Glasgow and my third stay at this hotel.from the moment the lift door opens and you spy the platter of homemade cakes the whole experience is pleasurable. The hotel is bright, very clean and warm. The staff are really friendly and welcoming and nothing seems like too much trouble for them. I haven't eaten evening meal, but it sounded really nice, the breakfast was very good,ample of everything, and all being freshly replenished continuously, AND! we got a lie in as it was served until 10.30 am! A true bonus if you have a slight hangover! Great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is one of the nicest small hotels I have ever stayed in. Right next door to the train station and on the sixth floor of an office – so rather surprising – but an oasis of calm and good taste once you walk through the door. The decor evokes a simple country hotel in Scandinavia; warm, bright, minimal, with wooden floors and white surfaces. My room had high ceilings, the linen was gorgeous and the beds super comfortable. The lovely people who work in this hotel couldn't be more friendly or helpful. Lovely small details like free cupcakes at the entrance. Great breakfast too! Whenever I go back to Glasgow this will be my hotel of choice!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferAnne3367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We chose Grasshoppers having read other Trip Advisor reviews and it certainly lives up to them. Street level entrance is quite drab - at upper end of Union Street - and hotel sign here could be more obvious. But you step out of the lift into a bright contemporary top floor hotel and a great welcome. (On booking we'd received a welcome e-mail suggesting places of interest to visit - a really nice touch which helps you plan your time). The rest just confirms other comments - the little details, cupcakes & coffee, a tube of Smarties, touches that make it feel like being a guest in someone's home, with interesting art work as an added bonus; The Kitchen is a compact but very friendly eating experience - food is very good including the evening meal. Because it's so central, you make best use of time in reaching other restaurants, shops, places of interest etc. and reception very kindly offered to keep our luggage during our last day there, which was a big help. We'll be back and I'd certainly recommend it to any single person staying in Glasgow on business. One last touch - we loved the Valentine's Day poems :)) Were all UK hospitality like this, visitors couldn't stay away!

Room Tip: If you like to open room windows, better to choose one overlooking the station rather than Union Str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explore3947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at the Grasshoppers for three nights in January. The location of the hotel is great - an 8-minute walk from Queen's railway station (we arrived on a train from Edinburgh; there are detailed directions how to get to the hotel at the hotel's website) and literally next door to the entrance to the Central railway station. A bus stop for an express bus to the airport is also within walking distance.

The hotel is situated on the 6th floor of a commercial building.

We arrived at around 11 am and were greeted by hotel manager Sean. Our room was ready which was really nice! Sean showed us the breakfast room and the sitting room and ushered us to our room. The room is not particularly large; in our room we had two beds, TV (with Sky!) on a cupboard, two bedside tables; no wardrobe. The strange thing about the room is the sliding door to the bathroom - there is space between the wall and the door even when the door is closed! A hairdryer is not in the room so if you need one you will have to ask at the reception which is not much trouble obviously. Tea/coffee facilities are provided but we had a very small kettle in our room and too little sugar - only 5 tiny packs for two people! When we asked for more in the evening we were given only 5 more packs. On the other hand you can always help yourself to free and tasty cupcakes which can be found next to the reception. We had energy saving bulbs in our room so the light was bright white. Beds were soft and comfortable. There is a comprehensive and very helpful guide book in the room containing all the information about the hotel you might need. Our room and bathroom were in immaculate condition. There is no carpet on the floor which I personally like.

Hospitality at the Grasshoppers is absolutely great, one of the best experiences I have ever had at a hotel. You really feel at ease and at home there.

In Glasgow I wanted to go to an event but it turned out that there are no electronic tickets for that event and tickets can only be sent by post. The hotel was very nice to allow me to indicate their address for the delivery. And Sean gave us extremely helpful directions how to get to the venue!

Also we booked a bus tour to Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle begorehand, it was scheduled for the second day of our stay in Glasgow. However, the bus tour was not to happen - as we were leaving the hotel after we had checked in we heard Sean talking on the phone with someone who was inquiring about two Russian ladies. It turned out it was the agency manager who wanted to let us know that our tour had been cancelled due to the fact that we were the only two people who had booked it. We were extremely disappointed but Sean came up with a suggestion to book exactly the same tour from another company which did not cancel trips no matter how small the group was. He made a swift call to that agency and in five minutes we were booked for the tour which we enjoyed a lot the next day.

Breakfast was good. There is a choice between continental and English options. Self-service is in place. At the time of our stay English option was a bit curtailed with no beans and mushrooms. In the evening you can have dinner at the dining room but we did not have a chance to taste it.

The attitude towards guests which Sean and the team demonstrate corresponds to my idea of hospitality and I would like to thank everyone at the Grasshoppers for the great time I had in Glasgow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricciopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The best and most friendly service that you could wish for. I was greeted at reception by the owner who then proceeded to introduce me to the chef and their great red wine. After using the free wifi I then ate at the restaurant. Beautiful home cooked food which was complimented by their selection of wines.
The room was clean and very comfortable and even came with its own sky box. The power shower was superb.
When back in Glasgow I will only consider this hotel. My only concern with putting this review together is that it might it might make more people aware of this secret gem and hinder my bookings in future,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing