We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Will be honest and admit my first impression was, what is all the hype about ?
The room was satisfactory but the view of a train station roof ,whether lit up or not, does nothing for me. However, I do not go on holiday to stare out a bedroom window and I suspect many city centre hotels in Glasgow do not have a great view.

Bed was comfortable enough, bathroom good with great shower. Great to have Sky HD, not many hotels include this without extra cost. Room temperature was fine with heater on wall or window which would open, whichever is required.

My wife and I had breakfast on two of our three mornings-missing our last day due to long lie !
The lay out of the dining room is quite quirky. It feels very friendly and encourages other guests to interact with each other. This is something that is sadly lacking in the big chain hotels. The food and service was top class. Not a large cooked selection but what was there was very tasty and more than adequate. Did not try evening meal as there is so much choice in the centre of Glasgow. The menu sounded delicious though and we were tempted.

Location of Hotel is perfect. Shopping and restaurants within minutes walk. Must give Charcoals Indian a quick mention. Turn left out hotel door and its about 300 yards up on opposite side of road from Hotel ( Renfield Street ). Great service and food ! Glasgow has lots to offer and people are very friendly.

All in all we had a great stay. I don't mean to sound negative with my opening comments. It just didn't strike us as wow ! Staff were very friendly and helpful and yes ,cupcakes lovely. We stayed in Glasgow last February in another top 3 trip advisor Glasgow Hotel. No names but it wasn't Premier Inn :-) and we did prefer Grasshoppers !

We will certainly consider Grasshoppers for our next trip to Glasgow and will recommend to family and friends.

P.S try taking stairs now and again, who needs a gym ?

Room Tip: Maybe street view better to look at than station roof. However may be noisier ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiesbetterhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    289
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
133
498
85
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Read the reviews and thought we would take a chance on Grasshoppers. Were we glad we did!
An inauspicious entrance leads on to a hotel that can hold its own anywhere. The rooms have everything you could want and are clean and comfortable. We can't speak highly enough of the staff - especially Sean - who went out of his way to ensure that we knew the best places to go to.
I know that the delicious cupcakes are a draw but the coffee we had on arrival was great!
We will visit Glasgow again and will head straight back to Grasshoppers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The staff are all incredibly helpful and friendly – they even printed a couple of documents I need during my stay. They make it as homely as possible with nice touches, such as homemade goodies, and a lounge area. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

outstanding location and facility. The grasshopper was a wonderful place to stay when exploring Glasgow. if your arrive by train it is especially convenient to the central train stations and in the midst of all the shopping and splendid restaurants. The most challenging part of staying here is choosing between eating in, or which restaurant a short walk away. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. everyone make you feel at home. Sean can find anything for you, had great recommendations for just about everything! their tag line is "you never left home..." and they go out of their way to make you feel that way. plates of cupcakes and short bread available for snacks at all times of day, fruit, in room coffee and tea, bottles of water and smarties in every room. if you don't see something, just ask they probably have it for you.

The rooms are very comfortable. bath room worked perfectly and it all seemed very new. large flat screen tv with sky plus, awesome. free WiFi that works everywhere. it would be hard to find something to ask for. breakfast was wonderful with both cold and hot options. amazing breads, fresh tea or coffee, a selection of juice. hard to beat and all available in a friendly, family like atmosphere.

this is truly a great place, I will most certainly return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned from Glasgow and my third stay at this hotel.from the moment the lift door opens and you spy the platter of homemade cakes the whole experience is pleasurable. The hotel is bright, very clean and warm. The staff are really friendly and welcoming and nothing seems like too much trouble for them. I haven't eaten evening meal, but it sounded really nice, the breakfast was very good,ample of everything, and all being freshly replenished continuously, AND! we got a lie in as it was served until 10.30 am! A true bonus if you have a slight hangover! Great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is one of the nicest small hotels I have ever stayed in. Right next door to the train station and on the sixth floor of an office – so rather surprising – but an oasis of calm and good taste once you walk through the door. The decor evokes a simple country hotel in Scandinavia; warm, bright, minimal, with wooden floors and white surfaces. My room had high ceilings, the linen was gorgeous and the beds super comfortable. The lovely people who work in this hotel couldn't be more friendly or helpful. Lovely small details like free cupcakes at the entrance. Great breakfast too! Whenever I go back to Glasgow this will be my hotel of choice!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferAnne3367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We chose Grasshoppers having read other Trip Advisor reviews and it certainly lives up to them. Street level entrance is quite drab - at upper end of Union Street - and hotel sign here could be more obvious. But you step out of the lift into a bright contemporary top floor hotel and a great welcome. (On booking we'd received a welcome e-mail suggesting places of interest to visit - a really nice touch which helps you plan your time). The rest just confirms other comments - the little details, cupcakes & coffee, a tube of Smarties, touches that make it feel like being a guest in someone's home, with interesting art work as an added bonus; The Kitchen is a compact but very friendly eating experience - food is very good including the evening meal. Because it's so central, you make best use of time in reaching other restaurants, shops, places of interest etc. and reception very kindly offered to keep our luggage during our last day there, which was a big help. We'll be back and I'd certainly recommend it to any single person staying in Glasgow on business. One last touch - we loved the Valentine's Day poems :)) Were all UK hospitality like this, visitors couldn't stay away!

Room Tip: If you like to open room windows, better to choose one overlooking the station rather than Union Str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explore3947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
534 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
1,010 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing