We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The reviews looked great but the reality was even better. After a slightly strange start going through an office building, the top floor is like an oasis high above the station. Beautifully refurbished so a combination of original features and new comfort, my room was beautiful and the free cupcakes, smarties, and water a lovely touch. The bed was extremely comfortable and a large shower was a real treat. My only quibble would be that because reception and the breakfast area are in the centre of the floor where all the bedrooms are it was a bit noisy in the morning. But I had a lovely view of the station roof, and really enjoyed all the attention to detail that's gone into this hotel. Would definitely recommend to all my friends and will hopefully return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the station roof would be quieter than those on the main street, and ask to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    304
    61
    10
    5
See reviews for
137
521
93
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent stay. Stunning views of the Glass roof of the Station. Cool looking furniture's in the room. A funky chair in the toilet, that was neat! The decent hot breakfast is served at a tiny pantry area. Overall a very warm and welcoming feel. The entry to the hotel is not classy. The reception is on the top floor. They give you the access code to enter & exit the hotel on the street level. Great for travellers arriving or departing by train. Paid car parks are available nearby. They have a special rate arrangement with one of the Paid Car Parking Building. Ask at the reception.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nizamsaleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I absolutely love this hotel, for me it is the best in Glasgow! I visit Glasgow very regularly on business, and, if you have to be away from home then this place is the next best thing. It is so clean and comfortable and there are lots of little touches that you just don't find in other hotels. The owner, manager and entire staff team cannot do enough to make you feel comfortable & very welcome and genuinely go that extra bit further to make sure you feel at home. So much so, since staying at Grasshoppers I'm now left wanting when I stay in other hotels around the country. I definitely wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when I'm in Glasgow.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for my Girlfriend's 30th birthday on Sunday 9th of March & so glad we chose this hotel. We stay only 15mins from Glasgow & had to choose somewhere local as had our 1 year old girl to pick up early in morning. We looked at every 3,4 & 5 star hotels in area before picking this one. First of all location 50 metres from Glasgow Central Station right in heart of city perfect. Second manager welcomed us with a personal tour of where kitchen was, also where a guests sitting room was & also a quick run down how to work everything in room also returned with tea & cupcakes 5 minutes later & offered us a bottle of wine to celebrate girlfriends birthday. Third room was smart, modern, clean, sky tv box, large comfy bed,also very good power shower too.
Fourth went for breakfast in morning after a great nights sleep got a tour of where everything was and had a pot of tea brought to our table straight away we both had cereal first then toast & full hot breakfast bacon,sausage, scrambled eggs & the breakfast was by far the best have ever had in a hotel or anywhere else Bacon was so good just had to have seconds. Overall amazing hotel with friendly staff will definitely stay here again( despite living local).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I love this hotel, My husband booked this as a surprise birthday present, and we were unsure what to expect given its location on such a busy street.
We were amazed that when in our room we couldn't hear anything from wither the street or any other guests, at one point we wondered if we were the only people staying there (we weren't as we found out at breakfast)
As soon as you get there the personal touches really stand out, we were shown to our room, instead of being pointed in the general direction. Offered fresh milk and coffee which when arrived came with cupcakes - which were amazing! The room was so clean, the towels soft and luxurious and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud! I could not find one fault with the room or the hotel and I certainly was not looking for one.
The staff were really friendly and no intrusive in any way, and so helpful if you needed anything, The breakfast room could be cramped if everyone went at the same time, but it was not an issue for us, the food and service was awesome.
I have since told everyone who good the hotel was and i would definitely stay here again if I could, Thank you for making it such an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the station roof have stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellybobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Chose The Grasshoppers for a city break hotel on Tripadvisor ratings. Great rooms, great hospitality, excellent breakfast. Only negatives are that there is no bar / lounge of note. No residents parking although you can park at nearby Jamaica Street multi-storey for £6 per day. For travellers by rail it is a fantastic location(50m) from Central Station. Will travel by rail for next visit!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank colrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel was very convenient from a location point of view being just a minute's walk from the Union St. entrance of Central station. The street itself is extremely busy and not particularly nice. The hotel was very easy to find and the lobby was not as bad as I thought it would be judging by previous reviewers.
One the lift opens to the 6th floor it isn't immediately obvious where the reception is placed. There was a unit directly opposite the lift doors with a small number of cakes and biscuits available to take. However, these was the one and only time we saw these available despite previous reviews, they were not replenished during the rest of our stay.
The receptionist was efficient and quite friendly and we were given all of the information we needed. We had deliberately called prior to our stay to request a really quiet room if possible and had been advised this was no issue. We were a little dismayed to be given the room directly opposite the kitchen dining room - just a metre away from our door. To that end, we visited Boots pharmacy in the station on our way out to buy some ear plugs.
The receptionist brought us fresh coffee in a glass jar and cake - the cake was rather dry but as it's a free thing I wasn't about to complain as it's a nice gesture.
The room was clean and comfortable, very average. The main light did not work (yes, we put our room card in the slot) nor could we get any of the channels to work on the TV. However, we were in a hurry to leave so thought we'd mention it on check out instead. You need to ask for a hair dryer as these are not available in the room. There is no mirror near the desk and the light is insufficient to put on makeup in the room so you need to use the bathroom.
The bathroom is very small indeed and effectively a box inside the bedroom rather than your usual en suite. However, it is clean and has great towels, toiletries and a good sized shower - more than adequate providing you are staying over with someone you know very well and have no qualms about making your ablutions in full range of your fellow guest - not the most romantic place to sty in that sense so be warned!
The street late at night still remains very busy but we were lucky enough to be at the back of the hotel, station roof side so we were not disturbed. the bed was comfortable and we slept well but as we feared we were woken early by the clattering in the kitchen and the sound of loud voices.
At breakfast we found a nice table for 2 and took our seats but were immediately asked to move to a table with another set of guests (no good morning, how are you!). We moved and sat for a bit then looked for some glasses for juice - there were none. I picked up a bowl and reached for the yogurt - it was empty. So we asked for coffee and were told to go over and take it off another guest's table - I was uncomfortable doing that so we left it. the very brusque and unfriendly woman eventually took it off their table and put it in front of us - i managed to pour half a cup then the pot was empty. We tentatively asked for more coffee and again were directed towards another pot sat by another couple. We asked them for the coffee, it too was empty and they advised they had also been waiting. we all agreed that we'd just have coffee in our own rooms rather than disturb our host's intention of emptying her dishwasher before she could do another thing! There was a tiny bit of scrambled egg left so we shared that between us and had some very dried, hard bacon. The sausage and tomato were fine and we did eventually get some glasses for the juice, hurray. It was a less than pleasant experience having people shove past you frantically slamming dishes away with a face like a smacked bottom - we couldn't wait to leave at that point.
We checked out quickly and were not asked if everything was OK with our stay - which I do think hotels should do. We didn't mention the light or the TV as we just wanted to leave, we have just opted not to stay again - we just couldn't see the "wow" others found, just not our cup of tea overall.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,300 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
722 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,135 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing