We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Out Boy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fall Out Boy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Went to see fall out boy and needed convenient place to stay. This hotel is directly outside central station via Union street at first thought bit strange entering via office block but pleasant surprise on reaching sixth floor greeted by friendly staff and cup cakes. Room very clean comfortable just could have done with bit of thought as to socket and shelf by mirror to get ready by which us ladies like!!!! It was a Saturday eve and the building I'm guessing is listed so was a little noisy but no fault of hotels but just be prepared. Breakfast excellent all fresh and plenty of choice. Value for money would thoroughly recommend and I would certainly use again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    285
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
129
495
83
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The reviews looked great but the reality was even better. After a slightly strange start going through an office building, the top floor is like an oasis high above the station. Beautifully refurbished so a combination of original features and new comfort, my room was beautiful and the free cupcakes, smarties, and water a lovely touch. The bed was extremely comfortable and a large shower was a real treat. My only quibble would be that because reception and the breakfast area are in the centre of the floor where all the bedrooms are it was a bit noisy in the morning. But I had a lovely view of the station roof, and really enjoyed all the attention to detail that's gone into this hotel. Would definitely recommend to all my friends and will hopefully return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the station roof would be quieter than those on the main street, and ask to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent stay. Stunning views of the Glass roof of the Station. Cool looking furniture's in the room. A funky chair in the toilet, that was neat! The decent hot breakfast is served at a tiny pantry area. Overall a very warm and welcoming feel. The entry to the hotel is not classy. The reception is on the top floor. They give you the access code to enter & exit the hotel on the street level. Great for travellers arriving or departing by train. Paid car parks are available nearby. They have a special rate arrangement with one of the Paid Car Parking Building. Ask at the reception.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nizamsaleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I absolutely love this hotel, for me it is the best in Glasgow! I visit Glasgow very regularly on business, and, if you have to be away from home then this place is the next best thing. It is so clean and comfortable and there are lots of little touches that you just don't find in other hotels. The owner, manager and entire staff team cannot do enough to make you feel comfortable & very welcome and genuinely go that extra bit further to make sure you feel at home. So much so, since staying at Grasshoppers I'm now left wanting when I stay in other hotels around the country. I definitely wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when I'm in Glasgow.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for my Girlfriend's 30th birthday on Sunday 9th of March & so glad we chose this hotel. We stay only 15mins from Glasgow & had to choose somewhere local as had our 1 year old girl to pick up early in morning. We looked at every 3,4 & 5 star hotels in area before picking this one. First of all location 50 metres from Glasgow Central Station right in heart of city perfect. Second manager welcomed us with a personal tour of where kitchen was, also where a guests sitting room was & also a quick run down how to work everything in room also returned with tea & cupcakes 5 minutes later & offered us a bottle of wine to celebrate girlfriends birthday. Third room was smart, modern, clean, sky tv box, large comfy bed,also very good power shower too.
Fourth went for breakfast in morning after a great nights sleep got a tour of where everything was and had a pot of tea brought to our table straight away we both had cereal first then toast & full hot breakfast bacon,sausage, scrambled eggs & the breakfast was by far the best have ever had in a hotel or anywhere else Bacon was so good just had to have seconds. Overall amazing hotel with friendly staff will definitely stay here again( despite living local).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I love this hotel, My husband booked this as a surprise birthday present, and we were unsure what to expect given its location on such a busy street.
We were amazed that when in our room we couldn't hear anything from wither the street or any other guests, at one point we wondered if we were the only people staying there (we weren't as we found out at breakfast)
As soon as you get there the personal touches really stand out, we were shown to our room, instead of being pointed in the general direction. Offered fresh milk and coffee which when arrived came with cupcakes - which were amazing! The room was so clean, the towels soft and luxurious and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud! I could not find one fault with the room or the hotel and I certainly was not looking for one.
The staff were really friendly and no intrusive in any way, and so helpful if you needed anything, The breakfast room could be cramped if everyone went at the same time, but it was not an issue for us, the food and service was awesome.
I have since told everyone who good the hotel was and i would definitely stay here again if I could, Thank you for making it such an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the station roof have stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellybobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Chose The Grasshoppers for a city break hotel on Tripadvisor ratings. Great rooms, great hospitality, excellent breakfast. Only negatives are that there is no bar / lounge of note. No residents parking although you can park at nearby Jamaica Street multi-storey for £6 per day. For travellers by rail it is a fantastic location(50m) from Central Station. Will travel by rail for next visit!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank colrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing