We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, artwork, cupcakes ... so kind when I was ill!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed as a group of friends on a cultural visit to Glasgow: location, decor and artwork were brilliant, as we'd been led to expect from the person who'd recommended it to us. But I fell ill with the flu on the first night of our visit and had to stay in bed while my friends went sightseeing on day 2 :(. The hotel staff were so kind, insisting that it would be fine for me to stay in bed undisturbed all day. They made up a fabulous breakfast on a tray and arranged with my friend when would be the best time to deliver it to my sickbed (I forced it down ;) ). The staff were so kind and helpful. Falling ill and being bedbound (even with the benefits of a huge tv with Sky) wasn't what I'd planned for our citybreak ...but I don't think I could have picked a better place to do it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annag0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Don't be put off my the less than glamorous entrance hall which smells of the adjacent Indian restaurant because once you ascend to the 6th floor, where the hotel is located, it is like a different world. Friendly and welcoming staff, very relaxed atmosphere and cup cakes to help yourself to in the hall what more could you want? Rooms are spotlessly clean with quality fittings and sky sports and movies on the tv is a bonus. High speed broadband is included. Breakfast is good and dinner at £13.50 for 2 courses is excellent value and is very good. All in all great place to stay and good location as well

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gannonman1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriend for the night. We were a bit early but the helpful receptionist took our bags so we could head out shopping till the room was ready. Room was brilliant and having sky-hd with sports and movies was a really nice touch. The shower was amazing, I could have stayed under it for hours. Breakfast was also really nice, with a selection of cereals, fruit and bread aswell as the cooked items. Really enjoyed staying here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A great hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Above Central Station but we didn't hear a thing over-night unlike many other city centre hotels we've stayed in.
Staff were very friendly, helpful and the room was spacious. The E/S was great - the best hotel shower I've ever had!
Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Overall a really good hotel right in the city centre at a great price. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortreeSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was recently at this hotel with some colleagues & the general consensus was that it was a great place to stay. The rooms were spacious, bright & modern. The hotel was so central that we could walk to most places we wanted to go to. The staff were pleasant, friendly & helpful. The food was also top notch. Next time I visit Glasgow, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, we arrived early and got checked in early. Very helpful receptionist. Hotel is very nicely laid out and the room was superb. Beds very comfy. Fresh milk and gorgeous cupcakes a nice touch. Sky movies and sports. Hotel very quiet for being right in the centre off Glasgow. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTerrell71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We arrived via the Airlink bus from the airport and it was only a short walk away via the front of the station. When looking for it, look for the huge banner/flag that hangs over the entrance. The ground floor lobby is for an office block of train companies and the hotel is on the top floor. The shabby lobby and lift isn't replicated when you get to the right floor. One comment I'd make is just a few signs pointing the way to reception that's tucked away in a passageway.

Staff are very helpful at all times and told us about all the facilities. Great to have fresh milk offered for tea/coffee in the rooms instead of UHT tubs. They went well with the cupcakes that appeared in the lobby from the afternoon until evening.

The rooms are good, decent size. I was a tad disappointed that my sky box wasn't fully functioning, ie no record or pause facility. Oddly it wouldn't get E4HD up. But we weren't there to watch tv. Bed very comfortable but there was a bit of noise from the street.

Breakfast very nice and freshly cooked. Better than some posh hotels I've stayed in!

It's a very central hotel and as long as you don't mind the shabby street, ground floor lobby and lift, you'll love it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fly4fun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
928 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,101 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
5,478 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £63 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing