We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and service make this a great choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service make this a great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yes, as the reviews say, the hotel is on the 6th floor of an office building, but once we arrived via a quick elevator ride, we found ourselves in a different world. The beautiful contemporary design of the rooms and common areas put us at ease immediately.The room and bath were small, but brilliant design has made the most of every inch of space. We were on the street side, but it was quiet. Sean and the other staff members could not have been more friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and the always-available cupcakes were a nice touch . The location was perfect--most of the historic sites and good restaurants were within an easy walk. We arrived by train, so did not have to deal with parking. The staff called a cab for us when we needed one. If you wish to use the excellent hop-on-hop-off bus, the staff will give you a 1-pound-off coupon. We loved this place, partly because we had done our homework and knew what to expect. The cost is very reasonable considering the price of other hotels in this location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    285
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
129
495
83
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is beautifully designed - lovely wallpaper and elegant furniture, but we found it basically uncomfortable. The bed was huge but there was very little floorspace around it. No closet space - just a couple of hangers on a small open rail.

The most difficult aspect was unloading luggage from our car into the hotel. There is no street entrance reception for the hotel. The hotel shares a street entrance and lift with several businesses. The hotel is on the 7th Floor. The street has some metered parking, but we had to stop on yellow lines to unload - all very awkward and the hotel has no car parking of its own. The recommended car park is a few blocks away - not easy to find and even more difficult to get through the one-way system back to the hotel on the morning of departure. The hotel does arrange a discount at the car park but that was minor compensation for the inconvenience. I think the hotel probably works very well for train travelers without much luggage as the station is right next to the hotel.

We found staff slow to respond, not keen to help.

Room Tip: Some rooms are noisy. Ask for one overlooking station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for one night and would agree with review comparing this to a good b and b. The rooms are smallish but the decor makes up for that as the furniture, lighting, shelving etc., are all to a high design standard. The breakfast (which was included in our room rate) was good, and on our visit was not hurried. The hotel is the sixth floor of an office block, very close to Central Station, but despite that we were not disturbed by train noise. Staying as a couple was good but I would not have been entirely happy staying there as a lone female visitor...mainly due to the Reception etc being on the 6th floor, which means guests have to enter (via a pin code) from street level and while this is okay for a couple of adults, fumbling with pin codes alone on an urban street would feel just a tad insecure for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room than the standard double size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Fantastic located hotel which actually has more of a b&b kind of feel to it. You get coffee and a cupcake at Arrival. Very comfy rooms with a very Nice decoration, brandnew and very stylish. Minor letdown is the breakfast, the service was a bit hurried, didnt like the coffee and the juice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted_and_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

As other reviews have said, do not be put off by the front door of this hotel, when you get upstairs you find an immaculate hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Bedrooms are very clean, beds are comfortable, Sky TV in every room, very good shower (much needed after a very wet day in Glasgow!). Breakfast is delicious, self-service but very fresh and not sweaty food which has been sat out for hours like in most chain hotels. My room overlooked Glasgow Central Station but was very quiet, my colleague was at the front of the hotel and found it a bit noisy but not loud enough to keep them awake. On arrival we were asked if we wanted fresh coffee and milk for our rooms, I was swiftly delivered a thermos of skimmed milk - no UHT milk here - just brilliant!

I stayed for one night on business and will definitely book again when I'm next in Glasgow. I was so bowled over by how lovely this place was I found myself racking my brains to find anything which could be a fault...the only thing I could think of was there was no bath mat - a small point I know but I couldn't think of anything else, it is just such a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRae15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. Was impressed by staff and how nice everyone was. My room was on the small side but had all the comforts of home so made up for size. Shower in room very good. Didn't get milk sent to room for tea and coffee and there are no phones on room to phone reception to ask. Ended up buying milk for me and sisters to share. Breakfast was excellent. Overall I would def stay here again but would book a double room as not that much more but a lot more room.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed as a group of friends on a cultural visit to Glasgow: location, decor and artwork were brilliant, as we'd been led to expect from the person who'd recommended it to us. But I fell ill with the flu on the first night of our visit and had to stay in bed while my friends went sightseeing on day 2 :(. The hotel staff were so kind, insisting that it would be fine for me to stay in bed undisturbed all day. They made up a fabulous breakfast on a tray and arranged with my friend when would be the best time to deliver it to my sickbed (I forced it down ;) ). The staff were so kind and helpful. Falling ill and being bedbound (even with the benefits of a huge tv with Sky) wasn't what I'd planned for our citybreak ...but I don't think I could have picked a better place to do it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annag0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#9 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing