We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the heart of Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the heart of Glasgow”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This place is just lovely. Accessed through a door on Union St (right near Central Station), this hotel is delightful.

Rooms are modern, very clean and stylishly decorated and the staff (especially the Irish manager) are over the top accommodating.

Compared to the Ibis/ Jurys/ Travelodge/ cardboard cut out hotels out there - The Grasshopper is a real experience. Top marks.

Room Tip: Ask for one that backs on to Central Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redleader333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    295
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
134
506
87
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed for one night with my son whilst visiting Strathclyde University. I knew that the hotel was located in an office block, but still managed to walk past it, so you need to look out for the entrance
to Caledonian Chambers and take the lift to the 6th floor. I arrived very early and although my room wasn't ready, I was allowed to wait in the lounge to rest and to charge my phone, which was much appreciated. I was also offered refreshments whilst waiting. I had a twin room which was large enough. Very clean with tea and coffee facilities and a couple of cupcakes which were delicious. The room did not have air conditioning but a large ceiling fan and with the window open kept us just right. The view was over the city but was obscured slightly by the parapet which was a shame. There was also no room safe. The breakfast was in the 'kitchen' and was included within our rate. This was a buffet style breakfast with limited cereals, fruit juices and cooked items. Internet connection during our stay in room 630 was non existent and to check e-mails etc I had to sit in the lounge. All in all a very nice place to stay in a good location. I would definitely stay again providing the price was right.

Room Tip: Room 630 very limited or no internet connection during my stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Grasshoppers Hotel recently during a short trip to Glasgow. Trip Advisor Reviews are very accurate because we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this excellent little hotel.

The Manager Sean and his wife administer a top class hotel. Breakfast is excellent and plentiful while the iconic ‘cup cakes’ are a pleasant (if calorie-laden) bonus! Rooms are superb, conducive to comfortable sleep, spotlessly clean and well-serviced.

Competitive rates, free wifi and an excellent central location render Grasshoppers an exceptionally desirable location for leisure/business visitors to Glasgow.

We visited some excellent, reasonably priced restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel, including Carluccios (West Nile Street) and Café Andaluz (St Vincent Place) – great tapas! If you’re thirsty (or hungry), ‘The Counting House’ (adjacent to George Square) serves great beer and food in marvellous surroundings.

Well done Grasshoppers – we would highly commend and recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okiefrommuskogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Without the Flag flying above the door, you would not know that there was Hotel situated at the Top Floor of an Office Building next to Central Station. After getting out of the lift on the 6th Floor you can tell you are in a comfortable and bright Hotel with a tray of Cup Cakes to welcome you. The Rooms are quite small and do not have Air Conditioning although a giant Ceiling Fan does tend to cool you down and keep any stale air moving around. Apart from the size, the room is quite nicely presented with a lovely Bathroom and Shower, a very comfortable Bed, a decent TV and the necessary Tea and Coffee facilities.

There is no restaurant as such, but they do have a dining and servery area where you can help yourself to using the kitchen facilities and according to certain posters around the place, they do have Supper evenings.

Breakfast was not too bad with attentive service and a reasonable selection of Hot and Cold foods including Scrambled Eggs, Bacon, Sausage and Beans.

This is a Budget Hotel so don't expect luxury but compared with the likes of Holiday Inn Express and Qbic, this Hotel wins hands down.

Location: 4
Presentation: 4
Bed comfort: 4
Bathroom facilities: 4
Cleanliness: 4
Soundproofing: 4
Food: 3

Through the secret door - hop to the 6th
A little gem awaits
Straight to your room - friendly welcome in
Two little cupcakes awaits
Lovely stylish room - made a comfy night
A ceiling fan awaits
Freshly ground coffee - nothing is too much
A great breakfast awaits
Gem next to Glasgow Central - returning a must
A spotless little place awaits

© Paula Jubilee

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Station are probably quieter than the Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel!

It is on the 6th floor of an office building and we did walk past it at first as it's a small door next to the station which is easy to miss...but it was a haven when we got upstairs!

We were early but the lady on reception went to see if she could let us check in and our room was ready so it was a bonus to get in there so quickly! The staff were so helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and valued.

As others have said, there are cup cakes to help yourself to as well as various other treats which we thought was such a lovely touch.

I'd called ahead to enquire about parking and was given the post code for sat nav for the local NCP on Jamaica street. This is above Matalan and the hotel will validate your ticket so it only costs £6 for 24 hours which I thought was brilliant for a city centre.

The rooms themselves are quite small with only a shower, no bath, in the bathroom. We had a ceiling fan which was definitely needed as it was very warm (but fine with the fan on) and looked out over the roof of the station so there was no street noise.

We had decided to chance having no dinner reservation even though it was a Saturday night and the book in the room recommended a couple of places. One of these was Cail Bruich and the receptionist kindly made a reservation for us. She also gave us a map and told us how to get there on the subway. All brilliant and the restaurant was amazing!!

Only minor gripe was an issue with the toilet flush breaking on the morning of our stay - but it was just a glitch and the receptionist came over to sort it immediately.

Breakfast in "the kitchen" was opposite our room so we awoke to the smell of bacon cooking. Yum yum! Breakfast was a help yourself affair with continental and cooked items available. I missed mushrooms and beans which we're not readily available but I'm sure had I asked they would have sorted some for me.

All in all my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at grasshoppers and will definitely stay here again as a first choice if we ever stay in Glasgow again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank holidaymonster83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I love staying in penthouses but his hotel is probably one of Glasgow's best kept penthouse secrets. It's based in the Caledonian Chambers, on Union Street, on the sixth floor, and the first thing that hit me when I walked in, was it's appealing surroundings. It felt like I was walking into a nicely decorated, every so Scandinavian style house, not a hotel. The rooms have high ceilings and have ample space. They have added a SkyPlus box in every room as standard, with movies and sport (if you fancy staying in that is). They have a lounge with fully stocked fridges with a variety of beverages and laptops available. There is also on tap freshly ground coffee and various cup cakes and delights going. The 'Kitchen' is where you have breakfast and where they serve a different three course meal every night. Everything is delicious. Breakfast is included in the price, dinner is optional. Bottled water is free and so is the Wifi. I felt quite at home. Ceiling fans and modern decor throughout the rooms - fantastic. The only gripe (not that I really want to have one, and not that they can do a lot about it) is the street noise. You have to accept that you are in the city and the original sash windows are not going to keep out street noise which starts early and ends late so that's just one thing you need to be aware of. Otherwise it's a five stars from me. You've done an incredible job of this hotel guys. Congratulations! I'll be back.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwigirluk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night - very nice hotel, friendly staff. The room was very stylish and despite the location (next to the central station) it was very quiet. We would return immediately. Try the cupcakes.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
1,067 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,020 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing