We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I booked a triple room for myself and two friends for a night out in Glasgow. I accidentally booked the room twice because my computer crashed, but the issue was resolved with minutes of me sending an email to the hotel. At £80 for the night we weren't expecting much, but we received a warm welcome and were impressed when we opened the door to our room - it was very spacious with the huge windows and high ceilings typical of Glasgow Georgian terraces. And most importantly, the beds were very comfortable. All in all, it was much more than we were expecting. We ended up leaving in a hurry the next morning, as one of my friends was ill, so we didn't get to fully appreciate the breakfast (I ran into the breakfast room on the way out and grabbed a couple of bananas and a yoghurt!). Judging from some of the other reviews, this seems to be one of the only negative points about the hotel, but since I didn't try it, I can't comment. However, for £80 a night, it wouldn't bother me too much if it wasn't perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    124
    59
    24
    11
See reviews for
51
92
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

The room was fine, but the noise from the street kept us up for some of the night. The shower was barely warm enough for a shower. Be aware that there is a hike up to your room with your bags as there is no elevator, so pack lightly or start weight training in order to carry your bags up. The breakfast was great with a lot of options including, cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt, cheese, fresh buns, eggs, sausage, OJ, tea, coffee etc. There are only 3 parking places at the back of the hotel, if your don't get one you need to park on the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

What a fantastic small hotel. Situated in two classic Georgian terrage hotels. Both the bedrooms and public rooms have been well renovated, but they original decorative style. My bedroom was suprisingly large for a single room, well decorated, clean, cotton sheets on the bed, fluffy cotton towels in the bathroom, well lit (including a reading light over the bed), lots of power sockets. Good breakfast. It just doesn't get any better.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beard42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

How this hotel got a three star rating I will never know....we arrived to find the outside strewn with litter and broken glass. At this point we actually thought about not going in at all but it was early evening and we were guests at a wedding. The bathroom was not even big enough to swing a kitten nevermind a cat! We were on the ground floor and the sash windows had no locks. The heat in the room was stifling. The noise levels were dreadful all night long. The staff at breakfast were unfriendly. One member of staff was eating and popping toast in the toaster without washing her hands. The radiators were on in the dining room and the heat was unbearable. There was a television set with football blaring out and it was 8.30am. I didnt eat the breakfast i felt to nauseous with the heat, smell of grease and noise!!! I was out of there by 9.00am. If this is a three star hotel i would hate to see a one star!! How this is on visit scotland website i will never know. I would have been scared to walk back there in the dark on my own and my feet would have been cut to ribbons on all the broken glass outside the front door!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrrosielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We found this place on the net a day before our stay. It is excellent value for money. The rooms are nice and seem modern. Just excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is a really nice budget variant for 2-3 days. It is located just some blocks away from Charles Rennie Mackintosh house, Kelvingrove museum and University of Glasgow. Hefty breakfast servings, clean and very spacious room.

It took us an 1,5 hour to find this place, because it is located in upper terrace and even locals had no idea where it was. So keep this in mind and search this location with GPS. Lack of elevator is a disavantage especially for those who have heavy luggage. Separate hot & cold faucets/taps in sink was an unpleasant surprise for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizaveta_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Paid £49 for a double room here recently (via Laterooms) which is a great price and currently beats others in the Great Western Road vicinity for price, location and cleanliness,

Our room on the second floor was spacious and spotless but I did have two minor complaints. The first was the shower, which looked liked an all singing, all dancing power shower which in reality was pretty poor and either scalding or cool. The second was the lack of a mirror in the room. There was one in the bathroom but thats no good for us girlies who need to to blow dry and straighten our hair. I did raise this with the receptionist who said she would see what she could do but said it was doubtful that one could be moved from another room as they were screwed to the wall. Surely a mirror should be in EVERY room over the dressing table?

Anyway, regardless of the above, I will consider returning on my next visit, unless I can find a cheaper deal, and will request a room with a mirror!

Parking at the back of the hotel was limited but luckily we managed to get a space. Unfortunately the back alley is quite dirty and many of the bins were oversplilling (not the hotel's) with food scattered across it.

Finally, overslept and missed breakfast so can't comment on the turkey rasher / rubbery egg situation!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#74 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Property: The Heritage Hotel
Address: 4-5 Alfred Terrace, Glasgow G12 8RF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the westend of glasgow between cecil and hillhead st, it has 27 rooms all ensuite, all prices include a full breakfast the hotel has limited parking for 3 cars only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing