We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LITTLE HIDDEN GEM”
Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“LITTLE HIDDEN GEM”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Small, clean, comfortable hotel. Quality carpets, towels & curtains for a hotel of the star rating. Very clean for an older building. Recently been refurbished. Ian and staff are more than helpful, nothing a problem! Convenient for transport & up-market wine bars/restaurants & pubs of the "WEST END". Breakfast of a good standard with plenty of cooked choice.

I have stopped here previously on 5 occasions and will be back next weekend, would not even consider looking elsewhere.

Only downside is the parking, limited, and not helped due to the inconsiderate guests who tend to take up more than one space and just abandon their cars!!

Room Tip: Room 27 if you have any disability as they have no lift and this is ground floor. Ian will advise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riochic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    125
    62
    25
    12
See reviews for
53
95
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Pleased with this hotel good value centrally located and clean.
Staff friendly and welcoming.
Room was a very large size with chairs sat in a bay window so comfortable to relax in and watch the world go by.
Some issues I noticed which others may need to consider.

Most rooms are up stairs and no lift (don't know how helpful staff are with this as I was OK to carry my own up)

Breakfast was average with no bacon and food was warm but not hot.

And car parking is very limited I was lucky enough to get into one of the 3 bays but it is first come first serve.

Would definitely stay here again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stu1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for the last weekend of the Commonwealth Games and we thought it was an absolute bargain given some of the prices we'd been quoted elsewhere! We ordered a twin room and got a huge triple, had free wifi, tea and Scottish shortbread, and the breakfast was included and really generous - they'd cook you whatever you wanted as well as the usual toast, cereal, yoghurts and fruit. Our room was round the back so was completely silent to any outside noise.

The staff couldn't have been nicer - they looked after our bags, found us more teabags and milk when we'd drunk all the room dry, recommended where to hunt for dinner, made sure we had the wifi password, fixed our TV when we managed to break/unplug it, found us a hairdryer...and were just generally lovely.

The only downside was the bathroom - while the shower was super-modern and powerful, the room needed a more powerful extractor fan as it smelled a little damp. This minor detail wouldn't stop me from recommending it to other people as a bargain local hotel. Also don't forget that on a weekday breakfast stops at 9am - we very nearly missed out on our final morning!!

The location was better than we could've hoped for - 10 mins from an undergound station, 5 mins from a trendy strip of bars and restaurants, some good independent shops or a few stops on the underground for the real shopping streets. If you stay here don't forget to check out the botanical gardens 2 mins walk away - the glasshouses are huge and amazing, and they do a good tea and cake!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loolachoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

TERRIBLE! Resembled a hostel rather than a hotel, and quite removed from the city centre. The money saved on the room was definitely outweighed by the money spent on taxis to the centre. Dirty cramped bathroom and old style décor.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Situated a short distance from Glasgow's botanic gardens, Kelvingrove museum and the university campus, this family run hotel offers a relatively affordable option in Scotland's 'granite city'. Having extended a recent city break I welcomed the chance to spend a couple more days here. The communal areas downstairs were all spacious, clean and tidy and everything was really well presented. Check-in was very straightforward, helpful and friendly and there was always plenty of information available in reception (accessible 24 hours).

I had booked a twin room on the top-floor (three flights of stairs with no lift access)...It was clean and comfortable, furnished in a contemporary style with nice en-suite shower-room and a small TV...The beds were slightly soft but I'm glad to say I slept very soundly all the same. What appeared to be new carpets had been laid throughout the whole building and the time of writing it appeared that some of the rooms were being refurbished. Some artwork on the walls e.g. hallway and landing would have been a nice touch, all the same it was an attractive old building with plenty of character.

Included in the room tariff was a buffet-style continental breakfast with a choice of cooked options...It was quite reasonable although in my opinion the continental breakfast provided a better option. The Heritage is clearly popular with an international crowd and with a selection of rooms (singles/twins/doubles/family) would seem to ensure that there's something here to suit all-comers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for two nights in July. Incredibly priced which is what attracted us! In a nice area just a few minutes walk from Byres Road and close to two subway stations, lots of nice pubs/cafes/restaurants near by. Room was a very decent size (we stayed in room 7) and despite being overlooking Great Western Road was not noisy. Clean and tidy room and bathroom and excellent value for money. Staff were very friendly. Only thing that let the hotel down was the cooked breakfast which wasn't great, but the continental selection was brilliant and really, for the price we couldn't complain. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our second stay at the Heritage. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable and the showers brilliant. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the breakfasts are fine. The location is fantastic; right in the west end, near Byres road and the Botanic Gardens, handy for the subway and buses. I don't think you'll find better value in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antenne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#66 of 95 in Glasgow
59 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 95 in Glasgow
290 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
776 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 95 in Glasgow
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Property: The Heritage Hotel
Address: 4-5 Alfred Terrace, Glasgow G12 8RF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the westend of glasgow between cecil and hillhead st, it has 27 rooms all ensuite, all prices include a full breakfast the hotel has limited parking for 3 cars only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing