We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barrisdale Guest House
Ranked #18 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favourite place to stay”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

An excellent place to stay in Glasgow's leafy west end. It may seem a little out of the way on the map view but it has excellent links into the city. The rooms are characterful and comfortable (look out for the guide book of Glasgow's public toilets). Ron is ever cheerful, attentive and a delight to chat with. I heartily recommend the Barrisdale.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
43
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Ron is hilarious! He's chatty, funny, attentive, and an all-round amazing host. The house is nicely decorated, clean, cosy, and genuinely pleasant to be in. The prices are great, the continental breakfast was substantial, and the location is great if you're looking for a quiet area away from the bustle of the city centre. It's only a short walk to Jordanhill or Hyndland stations, meaning central Glasgow (and even Edinburgh) are not far away. We only spent one night here, and were initially not sure what to expect because of the sparse website, but will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent recent stay at this lovely guesthouse. All other contributors have really said it all. Our large bay windowed bedroom was so comfortable and spacious. It was well decorated with lovely ship themed prints on the walls. Nice touches included good quality soaps/shampoos etc in the ensuite bathroom, local guide books and a powerful hair dryer available for guests use - not all B and Bs provide a hair dryer in my experience. As the room is so large with both a comfy sofa and a small dining table and chairs in the window space, it is perfectly placed to enjoy the delicious continental breakfast provided by Ron, the friendly and so Glaswegian proprietor. He was extremely helpful in pointing out the local pub and the convenient station that takes you into the city in around 10/15 mins. We could even use our senior rail card to get a discount so the trip only cost 70p each way - much cheaper and more convenient than parking in the city. We come back to Scotland a couple of times a year to visit a favourite relative and have struggled to find a high quality, low cost base. Well we have certainly found it now. Thank you Ron, we shall return, if you'll have us!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnneOEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed last weekend with my partner for a birthday celebration. This beautiful Victorian terraced house is a real gem. Location is superb with the local train station nearby, and a great pub across the road. We were serves a lovely continental breakfast each morning in our room and Ron our host was genial and informative. Our room was really lovely and made my partners birthday weekend truly special. We will definitely be back. Thanks Ron.

Room Tip: Be sure to book early to enjoy this gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilsen Region, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We only stayed in this lovely guest house for one night, but we enjoyed it a lot.
We stayed in a triple room (two single beds and one pull out sofa) and found it big enough. The pull out sofa is a bit in the way, but you can always fold it back during the day. For two people it would be great!
The bathroom was very nice, room nicely decorated. The house is located in a quiet neighbourhood. There is a pub nearby, very nice, serving food as well.
The owner, Ron, is a very talkative person, very nice and likeable.
The breakfast is served in the room, it is a continental breakfast. There is plenty of it, so don´t be afraid fo not having enough! (butter, jam, cereals, fruit, croissant, muffin, bread, yoghurt + drinks)

+
very nice host
big room, big bathrom
nice neighbourhood

-
no wi-fi (but that doesn´t have to be a bad thing + there is a free wi-fi in the pub nearby)

Taxi to the city centre takes about fifteen minutes and costs around ten pounds. There´s also a bus and train station nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klára Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We staid here three days. The house is beautifull, near the train station (ten minutes walking), all clean and perfectly arranged. Ron is a marvelous person, all time ready to help you, and with more conversation. The breakfast in the room is perfect. Thank's for all Ron from Javi and Anna

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOROS36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We have stayed twice in Barrisdale guest house (another time for a week) and let Ron pamper us. The victorian style big room in their beautiful house is excellent even for a family of four with such a lovely decoration. It's also quite exclusive to have a breakfast in one's room-and what a breakfast! Ron is such a friendly and helpful person who likes to chat with his clients and tells everything that is important while staying in Glasgow. The location is also perfect, everything is close but still it's such a peaceful place with a good gastropub nearby. I wouldn't complain about the price, either, in Barrisdale it's possible to get a luxurious experience with a bargain price. E.g. last time Ron let our grown-up daughter to have a room of her own with no extra cost, as he happened to have a free room. We'll surely go back to Ron's place next time we'll travel to Glasgow. I'm already missing his golden retrievers!

Room Tip: The biggest room is ideal for a family with four persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Glasgow Pond Hotel
#54 of 93 in Glasgow
1,070 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
Glasgow Guest House
#1 of 36 in Glasgow
580 reviews
Manor Park Guest House
#7 of 36 in Glasgow
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrisdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrisdale Guest House

Property: Barrisdale Guest House
Address: 115 Randolph Road, Glasgow G11 7DS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Barrisdale Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing