We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk to SECC”
Review of The Flower House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Flower House
Ranked #17 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Walk to SECC”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I attended a conference held at SECC last September. From the airport, you can take Bus 500 & get off the 3rd stop (Grand Central Station). Take the train and get off at the Exhibition Center; walk along Minerva St and turn left at St Vincent Crescent. The Flower House was about 10-15 min walk to SECC, with a covered walkway from the train station. I suggest to get a return bus ticket for GBP 8.50 if you are planning to go to Glasgow Airport the same way on your return flight.
It was clean, cosy, and comfortable place to stay. I liked that breakfast was served in our room at our requested time and convenience. The continental breakfast was freshly prepared, delicious, and filling, and served on a nice setting. We were able to use the kitchen to prepare our dinner, and keep some of our food in the fridge. There were 2 shared bathrooms; the one at the lower level was a small shower in a bathtub, while the one at the upper level was just a big bathtub. Both were maintained clean at all times. The wifi was efficient. Susan was warm and very accomodating. I would recommend the Flower House to those who are looking for affordable and comforatable B&B near SECC, near the train station, and the city center.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggages, get the rooms at the upper level...which is at the street level. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceto8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    12
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
23
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed for one night, and I can say that Ian and Susan are very welcoming. We stayed in the "ground" floor bedroom (the floor you walk in on from the road). This room was amazing, a unique but very relaxing decor. It felt very much like being at home with the parents, without the stress of your parents asking "where are you going, what you doing, when are you coming back, you treat this place like a bed and breakfast!".

The breakfast in the morning is personally delivered to your room, and it is plentiful, healthy, refreshing and a delight to sit in the comfort of your room and eat.

I would happily return again

Room Tip: The double room on the main level shares a massive well appointed bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavyBoy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have stayed three times in this B&B and highly recommend it, it certainly beats everything else in the same area and price range. The bedrooms are high Victorian but the bathrooms are something else! High fashion Biba-esque 1970's style glamour. Everything is scrupulously clean, the welcome warm as toast and the breakfast a magnificent spread.

Room Tip: All four rooms very nice indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed on Tuesday after a last minute (literally!) change of dates. We can't thank Susan Enough for pulling out all the stops to enable our trip to go ahead - a truly magnificent landlady who throws in a perfect guest house with great breakfasts as a bonus.

Our room was immaculate with a very comfortable bed and nice outlook over the garden. The bathrooms are both excellent and it is refreshing to be able to make yourself a cup of tea when you fancy one!

The pictures on other reviews show the lovely setting but as a location this is great for the West End, the City and further afield. Scotrail services are just around the corner ( two stops from Glasgow Central ), buses are easy from Argyle St but the walk is easy too.

Access is arranged with your own key and parking is available on the street. There are parking meters but it is inexpensive, just make sure you don't park until after 3pm to ensure your ticket goes through to 8.00 am the next day.

Altogether a great little house with the best hosts around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I spent 1 night here earlier in the year- a freindly informative landlady- a good clean room on the lower ground floor ( almost a basement-but on the garden level at the back)-- with a family sized bathroom , all to ourselves as no other guest staying midweek as we were.
A wonderful breakfast- yes very different as it is served on a tray/table in your room, but a nice full cooked breakfast- cereal and fruit+ ... we will certainly stay again when we travel up in to glasgow.

Room Tip: don't worry about sharing the bathroom- it worked well for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Lovely landlady who tries very hard to ensure you feel comfortable. I had a double room that was big and airy and a bed that was very comfortable. Everything is very clean and in a good state of repair with the small but important personal touches that create a homely feel. It seemed a little strange at first that there wasn’t a breakfast room and instead my breakfast was brought to my room on a tray for me to eat by the large window overlooking what is probably (in the summer) a picturesque garden. However I soon got used to this idea and quite enjoyed it.

My room had a small TV that unfortunately only received a few channels but the lounge has a big TV so not a huge problem. I’m not sure if ensuite rooms are available as I was only able to reserve a double with a shared bathroom.

Walking distance to SECC and the soon to be opened Hydro Centre. Plenty of good quality restaurants and pubs also within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flowerhouse, Manager at The Flower House, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thanks to this reviewer , we discovered a problem with the TV , which has now been fixed.

He booked a room with private facilities (not shared). But also had the use of the other bathroom, which was shared (kind of), the long term guest leaves at 6.30 am, and doesn't return till 6 pm. So we told him he could use the other bathroom in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at this delightful B&B during February and we thought it was great. We were shown to our room which was very pleasent and very clean, we were the only guests staying at that time so we had a family size bathroom all to ourselves.
We felt completely rested during our stay due to the fact that there was no noise at all from outside. There was plenty to do right on the doorstep. Great pubs just 200 yards away and we also ate around the corner from the B&B at a small italian which was to die for.
This is a good choice for people who want to be just far enough out of the centre for peace and quiet but still close enough to access it easily.
I do think that the rooms could do with a bit of modernising with a few less chintz thown in. But this didnt affect our stay.
Breakfast was good, a different selection everyday with all the trimmings too, juice, fruit, cereal etc. All delivered with a smile from he lovely hostess Susan.
The only thing I would say is that the rooms are not en-suite and therefore if there had been other guests staying at the same time as us then there may have been a regular queue for the one bathroom!
Susan did say however that she never lets all the rooms out at the same time so this may not ever be a problem.
All in all we had a great stay and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCurfewMicropub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flowerhouse, Owner at The Flower House, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
This guest had a private family size bathroom ( we are not allowed en-suite as this is a historic building). She did not have to share, there is a bathroom on each floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
786 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#53 of 95 in Glasgow
924 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,270 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 36 in Glasgow
691 reviews
West End
Argyll Guest House
Argyll Guest House
#9 of 36 in Glasgow
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flower House

Property: The Flower House
Address: 33 St. Vincent Crescent, Glasgow G3 8NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Flower House Hotel Glasgow
The Flower House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing