We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm welcoming and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“warm welcoming and comfortable”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is a small castle hotel i found it to be exactly as my title, warm welcoming and comfortable. The staff make your stay a pleasant one they aim to please you and they suceed, it doesnt matter that its traditional style is a mite worn although its because its obviously well loved and especially by the locals, i have it on good authority by a lady i met in the nearby Maxwell. park herself a teacher ,that its a popular with the local teachers who use the Sherbrook as a watering hole, so you wont generally find teens hanging out in the bar.Youll find its an older crowd, The food is quite good here, The breakfast worthy of an oscar if there was such a thing for food. They do a quaint afernoon tea service too, Rooms are warm with comfortable beds. contempary bathrooms. A Sherbrook special as is their instant free room upgrade availability allowing all part of their hospitality. its a peaceful an quiet place which is why i chose it, iv been to better hotels but on service this one DOES deliver , I would return.

Room Tip: request a room away from the bar below it stays open in the wee hours otherwise you may hear them if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyhoney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    178
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
234
348
23
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I went with a friend to visit Sherbrooke Castle for afternoon tea. It is located in an affluent south side area in Glasgow and located on the top of a hill. The castle certainly looks the part from the outside and it's decor is very much in keeping with it's history.

We were seated in a window alcove seat. It was a very refined affair and not really suited for a family affair with children. Our waiter was friendly and was attentative without being too intrusive. We each had coffee and a glass of fruit juice. It took a little while for the sandwiches, scones and cakes to arrive but it was definitely worth the wait. The sandwiches were fresh and tasy as were the scones, but the piece de resistance has to be the sweet layer with mini cakes and small shot glasses of chocolate mousse.

It was clearly evident that all the items on the sweet layer was freshly made on the premises - they were absolutely scrumptious and heavenly. Sweet but not too sweet and the chocolate mousse shot is complete manna for chocolate lovers. My friend and I bought this on a special offer at a discounted price but we would happily pay the full price to experience this little slice of heaven. Definitely a must try experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StrathNickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were looking for a restaurant in Glasgow to have a family lunch which includes 7 adults, 4 children aged 5 and under and a baby of 3 months who would be breast fed. This was a replacement for Minsky's at the Hilton in Glasgow which has closed.
We found all of the food very good, the service very good and the whole ambiance just what we wanted. There was no pressure, we were able to mix and match the menus to suit out tastes and the children loved the 'castle' surroundings. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cateferguson2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise for our 2nd wedding anniversary and i have to say from check in i was unimpressed. It was certainly the quickest check in i have ever had - 30 secs at the very most! Where's the 'good evening and welcome'? The 'receptionist' spoke so fast and practically hurried us away from the reception desk! The room was ok, clean, but we were right on the hallway and at the top of the stairs so heard every movement and conversation of the other guests. A bit of sound proofing wouldn't go amiss! We ate in the restaurant the first evening, food was fine but staff service was poor .... no interaction or chit chat with guests, i was served my main then seconds later was asked how it was .... i hadn't even picked up my knife and fork! Hotel lacked atmosphere and was overpriced in mu opinion .... felt very ungrateful expressing my concerns as my husband booked it as a surprise .... but will definitely not be returning for 3rd anniversary! I hate moaning, long winded reviewers but in this case, it is all very valid!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerrickDL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Not really; but was for two nights. Loved it!

Massive room,great bed, quality bathroom, decent, friendly service with excellent food!

What more does a business traveller need? Free Wifi. Got it!

Another internet find, supported by Tripadvisor comments. Great location for Glasgow if you want somewhere different, quirky, interesting; with free parking in a really nice area.

Impressed, will be back, a great base for Glasgow and surrounding area.

Thanks to all for a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: First visit, room 34. Only minor irritant was the kitchen extractor fan. Worth a mention but would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

arrived for romantic evening having booked junior suite, only to find that one end of hotel was noisy with wedding and other even worse due to neighbours party, both of which lasted until midnight! Noise was horrendous and hotel showed almost no sympathy or offered any compensation for the fact we were unable to stay in room at all..walking around Pollokshields at 10pm was never the plan. Cream tea was disappointing though evening meal was faultless.

Room Tip: anywhere away from weddings or parties!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I didn't actually stay at the hotel but did visit for afternoon tea, the atmosphere was great and the tea was fantastic. Staff were friendly and helpful and the cakes......delicious! I would heartily recommend this to anyone wishing for a lovely afternoon tea experience.
Thanks x

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Property: Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing