We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

my daughter and i had come to scotland for a week and our dream was stay a night in a castle and this place was wonerful. From the moment we walked in until we left we were treated fantastic, at dinner Stefan looked after us and treated us fabulous. enjoyed our time with you 100%. thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    180
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
234
349
23
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Excellent location for us, as we took the train from the nearby station into Glasgow city centre. We were on a 5 week trip of the UK, and chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Burrell Collection. We were completely satisfied with everything, from the friendly, professional staff, to the size and tasteful decor of our room, and the beautiful new ensuite bathroom, to the excellent breakfasts.
Warning - there is no lift - but porter service was offered.
We were there mid-week, when the clientele are mainly business people, so there was no problem with noise or a wedding booking out the hotel and its facilities as mentioned in the Carol_Gemmell report. Our room was on the first floor of the hotel, not down the back of the car park.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Thank you to everyone at the Sherbrooke for helping me and my wife have the best wedding day we could possibly imagine. The whole day went without a glitch. Me and my best man stayed 2 nights and couldnt find any fault in the place. Every room my relatives had were also without fault. All in all a great wedding venue and also just a great place to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StewG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights, 18th -19th September 2012. All the staff were great, really welcoming and friendly. We ate twice at the hotel restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the food. Breakfasts were equally good. Our room was nice and spacious but perhaps the armchairs and sofa could use a little re-upholstering.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfnut100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford_Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We were so looking forward to staying at Sherbrooke Castle as it was rated as no 2 romantic hotel in the whole of Glasgow. We have stayed at numerpus beautiful hotels and b&bs around the world and were looking forward to returning to my home town to experience one of the best hotels on tripadvisor.

We arrived early and left our bags and were told we would be in room 11. After visiting family in Hyndland we went back and were told we were now in a different room and were walked out of the hotel to an annex at the back of the car Park and taken down a corridor full of empty bottles and rubbish with hoarding covering the Walls all down one site. Please see my photo. We were taken into a room with the curtain hanging down (see next photo) with no tartan drapes as shown on their details and no bath. We had paid for a deluxe room with bath. There was also a problem with the water. We went back to reception to explain we had booked a deluxe room with a bath in the castle not this room down a builders corridor. The receptionist said she was aware of that but there was a wedding and the only rooms empty were above the ballroom and band which was playing until midnight. We were given keys to one of these rooms and decided after driving hundreds of miles earlier that day we just wanted a bath and to sleep. The room we were given hadn't been serviced and housekeeping had to come and clean it. We waited until 11.30pm for it to be cleaned. This room was ok although noisy but we were just tired after travelling from England. We were only left one sachet of bedtime hot chocolate which again was disappointing. This romantic hotel was turning out to be just hard work. In the morning we went to breakfast and noticed the wallpaper was torn in lots f places and chipped paint and looking tired overall. The breakfast menu was covered in grease marks on the cover and the toast was thin and just one small slice each. Cutting corners on a quite expensive stay we felt was unnecessary. My partner worked in design with international high end hotel chains and encouraged me to write this review to inform people as it's a long way to come to be disappointed especially as there were a few Americans and I don't want you to think this is the best Glasgow has to offer. On checking out the receptionist read a report left by the night staff explaining about out room change and not getting into our room until almost midnight and it would have been prudent to offer us a discount of a few pounds to soften the disappointment but nothing was said other than the request for our cars pin number. I have attached photos and would suggest a hotel in the west end instead either the Grosvenor or the Pond Hotel as they are a more realist experience of what is offered with more consideration given to every guest. My advice Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Carol_Gemmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We went to the Sherbrooke Castle to celebrate my Grans 90th birthday and it was absolutely superb! I am gluten free and my sister in law is a vegetarian but they catered for us brilliantly, nothing was too much trouble which meant we had a wonderful afternoon, the perfect celebration!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We recently attended a wedding at the hotel and stayed over. We had asked for an early check in to allow us to get ready for the wedding and although we arrived slightly earlier than we had planned, our room was ready by the time we checked in. Our room was lovely, spacious, well furnished and spotlessly clean, with a very big bathroom, plentiful toiletries and a really comfortable bed.
The wedding was wonderful and the meal of an excellent standard, well presented and generous portions. I know our friends were very pleased with the service provided by the hotel in the planning of their wedding and everything appeared to be as they had requested.
Breakfast was very good with a good choice of both cold and cooked options. The staff were so helpful and polite and any requests were met with a quick response and a smile. We had a really great stay and I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffitoorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Property: Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing