We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived like a queen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lived like a queen”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Got Room 11 at the very top of the castle for six wonderful nights and it blew me away. The bedroom was spacious enough to hold two wardrobes and a writing desk, in addition to a real double bed. There was a separate lounge area. The bathroom was huge and sparkling clean, with a claw-footed tub as well as a shower, and great views from three windows. There was no lift and the door was locked with a plain metal key, but I liked these old-fashioned touches that reminded me I was sleeping in a castle.

The food in the restaurant was surprisingly good. I still have fond memories of the roast beef (pink), Yorkshire pudding (huge), garden vegetables (crisp), lamb saddle (juicy) and pork belly (tender). They really know how to cook meat here.

Through it all, the staff were helpful, polite and efficient, and took care of everything without ever being intrusive or huffy. The guy at the reception desk had no issue with stepping into the restaurant to take my order when everyone else was busy, and I was impressed by that.

The only niggly negatives I could find were that the shower pressure wasn't great (though nice and hot), and the Wi-Fi was pretty weak, probably because of the room's location. Five stars nonetheless, because the everything else was so lovely, and the bill at the end of it was very reasonable. I'm glad I stayed here, and I was sorry to leave, and I'd come back if I could.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    186
    36
    14
    13
See reviews for
246
366
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We visited this hotel this week for a one night stay. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite and had a fab room, huge bed and lovely views. The two meals - dinner & breakfast were excellent except for the tea at breakfast. I am Coeliac and the staff were knowledgable about my problem. Good & mostly helpful staff.
We were there for a funeral and the reception after was held at the hotel. By contrast with other meals this did not come over well. The Lentil Soup was excellent but the sandwiches were dry (I'm told) with very skimpy fillings and the garnish was a few rocket leaves thrown on - very poorly presented.Once again, the tea was absolutely foul. Don't know how a 4star hotel can ruin a cup of tea but they did.

Room Tip: We had room 5 - see comments above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hill_dweller210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Just back from a two night break with friends. We were celebrating a special birthday and a special wedding anniversary therefore we wanted a special hotel and that's exactly what we have returned from. The surrounding area is oozing grandeur so this castle fitted into the area beautifully. The castle looks lovely from the outside but even nicer inside. The rooms were an upgrade, big enough to have had a party. Each meal we had was served to a very high standard.the food was delicious. The bar area and small lounges were cozy to sit with a small dram or three. The staff are all helpfull,professional and pleasant. Two minute walk to train to central station. We will definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed 2 nights recently. Very good small hotel.Welcoming ,friendly staff and clean warm rooms.Breakfast was excellent with great choice. Dinner menu rather limited with similar menu both nights, but the quality and presentation very good. We were delighted to find the station 2 mins along the road and only 1 stop from the centre of Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poland123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This was a itison deal sunday roast either beef, pork or gammon all the trimmings and a bottle of wine per couple when we arrived the reception staff were so helpful taking our coats and escorting us to the lounge until our table was ready which was all of five minutes food was delicious in fact two of the starters were white bait and the waiter advised that chef had not been happy with first batch so had re done them and there would be no charge the sweets were also scrumptious we had sticky toffee pudding which we shared as portions were big overall lovely hotel great staff and toilets were spotless

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinty478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We recently had our wedding meal and evening reception at the Sherbrooke Hotel and were very pleased with the whole experience from start to finish. Our meal was delicious and the staff were very attentive and thoughtful. Our room was luxurious and the breakfast was excellent. Would definitely recommend the hotel as a great wedding venue. Good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GlasgowMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My guest house recommend the hotel as a place to consider for dinner. The restaurant and bar is very nice, the service was excellent, and the food was very good. If you can't stay or dine here, take a walk in and look at the public rooms and staircase. Well preserved building.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_from_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,663 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
709 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 93 in Glasgow
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Property: Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing