We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming absolutely charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Charming absolutely charming”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Had the pleasure of staying overnight here. Welcome upon arrival superb. Asked for a quick snack from room service and it is the best service that I have experienced in a long time. Every staff member was an absolute credit to the establishment. Breakfast was tremendous. Wish that I was staying longer. Take a bow one and all and a very merry christmas when it comes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandFartravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    183
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
241
359
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here on business recently.Very good location being both close to the airport and to the City.Quite a characterful building,Had an extremely spacious and comfortable room in the annexe and a superb bed.
Had dinner in the bar and the menu and selection was good and service friendly and attentive. Looked forward to breakfast next morning and was certainly not disappointed!
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent business trip. The last time I stayed here was about 12 years ago. The room I stayed in was really nice and not like the rooms visited all those years ago. The toilet/shower was lovely as was the room which was large with a sitting area. Didn't have a meal at night but the breakfast in the morning was lovely. There was continual free Wifi available in all areas which was a boon

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We attended a wedding at the Sherbrooke Castle recently and the day went really well for us and others who made favourable comments to us too. The event was managed exceptionally well and everything appeared to run smoothly. We had booked an overnight stay to minimise travelling during that day and leave us plenty of time to get our wedding clothes on.
Just one word of warning to guests of wedding parties who have an overnight stay planned. We booked a double room, months before the wedding day when the hotel knew the start of the wedding was 1.30pm. A week or so before the wedding we made a request to have early access to our room (around 12.00pm). To our amazement, we were advised this was possible but a surcharge of £25 would be applied.
I checked all previous communications with the hotel and there was no statement or reference to this. My issue is that the staff who took our room reservation were fully aware of the time of the wedding and never mentioned that if we did need early access, which because of the 1.30pm start, was a near certainty, we would be charged extra. Even the written room acknowledgement did not highlight this. I know of others who were also stunned at this late demand and the way it was handled.
No mention on the T&Cs of this either.
I would urge all those future guests who may require early access to their rooms to get an inclusive price from the hotel before completing their booking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripster2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we greatly appreciate guest feedback. Our check in time to rooms is 3pm, which is stated on all confirmation letters, as check out is 11am in order to ensure all rooms have been serviced. We do offer the possibility of early access however this has limited availability and is charged at £25.00 to justify the prioritising of some guest rooms over others. Due to the number of rooms and to ensure they are all serviced to our standards we are only able to offer early access to a limited number of guests; however we do offer the option to store luggage until rooms are available. I apologise that you do not feel this was communicated to yourself.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended, and would like to thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
The Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We got a Groupon-type deal for afternoon tea at the Sherbrooke Castle and to be honest, I wasn't expecting much. I've known of the hotel for many years but never thought of it as a venue for much other than weddings/christenings etc. and OAP's who lunch!

How wrong was I? The hotel itself is really lovely. There was a wedding on and from a sneaky peek, it looked beautifully set up. For our tea, we were taken to the main (I think) dining room which was tastefully decorated in contemporary dark colours. We were the only two people there (not the hotels fault) so what it lacked in atmosphere, it made up in tranquility and our window-side table afforded superb views over the autumnal-leafy Southside.

The afternoon tea was absolutely amazing and far surpassed that which I'd had at a local 5 star hotel. I can guarantee that everything was freshly made. Unfortunately we forgot to request no butter on our sandwiches and when we asked for this, were told that they had just been made but the kitchen would remake them. It was not a problem. We also had tiny, warm scones with cream and jam and a selection of cakes along with a plentiful supply of tea and coffee. Oh, and not to forget, a glass of Prosecco. It was tremendous value for money and to quote Man V Food, on this occasion, food won!

On they way out, I read the evening menu and it looked really nice - I would definitely come back here for dinner or maybe Sunday lunch. I also asked the Staff about possibly using the hotel for a forthcoming family event and they were very helpful.

For anyone visiting Glasgow, this would be a nice alternative to a soul-less hotel in the City Centre. A quick hop on the nearby train or even taxi would take you to the action but give you the option of a peaceful retreat at the end of day.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendsPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple nights on either ends of a multi day Highland tour. We found this castle on-line and chose it due to it's proximity to the airport. The castle was charming, but could use a little renovation. The room was clean and well equipped, especially the bathroom. The restaurant was very good on both nights and mornings that we ate there. The strength of this property is its staff. From the front desk to the restaurant staff, everyone was prompt, professional, helpful and very charming. The castle is in a residential area, which is kind of nice, other than there's not too much to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Claire & I had our wedding reception here on the 26th October. We had very high expectations
based on recommendations made to ourselves regarding the quality of the food & friendly staff.
They surpassed our expectations by quite a margin and to say they were helpful would be an injustice.I can honestly say that the care & attention shown to the bride & groom was extended to all the wedding party.We had 65 for the meal & we couldn't believe how efficient & organised the staff were.The attention to detail was noticed by all, the hotel was very relaxed & glamorous
at the same time.A special mention for Sarah Jane & William who made a day that should have been good "perfect" they & all the staff made the day flow effortlessly for us. a big thank you to all the team at the sherbrooke castle hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnie196974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
2,653 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
668 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Property: Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing