We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday Party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Hotel is set in a great location, The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. The room where we had our event has recently been refurbished to a high standard. The quality of the food was also excellent. All round this was a great venue for a Birthday Party. Thanks William and your team, we had a FANTASTIC time.

Brenda & Dot

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our daughter had her wedding reception at the Sherbrooke Castle on the 25th April 2014 and I would like to say if you are still looking for a venue then look no further, this hotel ticks all the boxes.
The staff look after you from start to finish. The venue was beautifully decorated and the meal was fantastic. I would especially like to mention William, thank you so much for everything you made the day go so smoothly
Everyone had such a wonderful time at the wedding, and they couldn't stop talking about how beautiful the place was or how delicious the food was. Thanks to you and your staff, the wedding was perfect. Thanks again for everything!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoeMrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our daughter had her heart set on her wedding reception being held at this beautiful hotel.
We were not disappointed in any way!
William and his colleagues could not have been more caring or helpful, catering for special dietary requirements was ace! That even included a single sticky toffee pudding for the Brides father. Bar service was always prompt and accurate. Full marks also for the sandwiches on arrival and the hot rolls after the dancing had started! Breakfast was fresh and filling.
The rooms were great, What a magnificent view across the City of Glasgow.
A perfect day was had by all!
Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 3, try the roll top bath! Enjoy your tea sitting in the turret overlooking the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked this hotel because friends said it was a luxury hotel. Paid £115 for Dinner and B&B. On arrive we had our room upgraded. My wife is fussy, so she wanted something different from the dozen choices on the menu. Nothing seemed to be problem. Staff fab, homely atmosphere. Free parking. 2 mins form the sub way into Glasgow or £6 in a taxi. Better than any chain hotel.

Room Tip: Mid week breaks almost guarantee a room upgrade. Family room in the castle tower so you have the flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Being a seasoned traveller for my work I find myself all over the country and stay in some stunning hotels, the Luton hoo for example, never before have I stayed in a 4 star that I could ever class as 'avoid' or actually you are better off in the jury's inn in Glasgow central. I Am trying to find a redeeming factor here, reception staff are good, from there it drops to "Fawlty towers" level, poor trained staff in the bar and restaurant with no respect or understanding of service food not great either, far better places to stay for your time away , do not get sucked in about the castle bollocks, it may look like one from the front, so does a jaguar look like an Aston martin , not until you sit inside do you see and feel the difference! Room has poor maintenance as shown in pics, grout and sealant missing in tiles round shower tray and floor, badly hung wall paper, and bad finish to paint work. Not trying to rubbish here but while writing barman just dropped collected glasses on floor!. You know what, go stay at holiday inn, better location all round

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank 440mlcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Although generally we greatly value guest feedback as it allows us to understand areas for improvement, in this case we find your review to be generally unfair and conflicting with your recent stay with us.

Our records indicate that at no point did you dine in the hotel, not in our restaurant nor did you chose to have in room dining. You also checked out early and elected not to have breakfast.

Despite the fact that our customer service department has contacted you numerous times following you stay, you have refused to discuss your comments.

Having looked at your review history, everywhere you have stayed has received a negative review from yourself. We believe genuine guest feedback is a necessity within the hospitality industry as it allows us to truly understand our guests, and allows us to improve where necessary. However we find your review to be unfounded and not a fair reflection on your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay here last minute as we were coming up to glasgow for an exhibition.
Didn't look too much into it so got a lovely surprise when we arrived.
Beautiful rustic decor and lovely staff. The room was huge! Huge bed, lounge area and gorgeous bathroom. The food was great. Had a great night there I didn't want to leave.

My only issue would be the rooms decor needed a little updating, I know rustic is the charm of the place but the carpet was worn and dirty.

I would definitely recommend it to anyone and such good value for money

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Both my husband and myself have just experienced a wonderful experience at your hidden gem of a place in such a vibrant city such as Glasgow.Room was fabulous,thank you for the upgrade,spectacular.Lovely big warm bathroom with roll top bath and massive shower as well.I have to commend the young gentleman on the desk when we arrived,his help and local knowledge was excellent for our first stay but not last,hopefully.Dinner was what can I say 5 stars for service and quality.Breakfast just the same,The cleanliness of every area in the hotel outstanding.The bar was quite well stocked with quite a lot of choice beverages.
Overall I would highly commend this hotel to anyone,no faults at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
835 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,722 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,049 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,347 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £79 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing