We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, fabulous food, beautiful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Take no notice of any negative reviews or less than good pics of this hotel all I can say is some people must have nothing better to do! I travel a lot and stay in many different hotels and this one is exceptionally good and offers good value for money. I'm not denying parts of it are a little tired but its an old castle and this only adds to the ambience of the place. The food is very good ( breakfast was beautiful as was the restaurant food in the evening) and the rooms are spacious and very well thought out (we had a sitting area in ours a huge bathroom and a huge bed). The surrounding gardens are beautiful and very well maintained and if its warm there is a lovely terrace to sit out on. The staff couldn't do enough for you, very attentive and thoughtful needless to say if we are working up this way we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our guests' experience and we are absolutely thrilled to read your comments regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and would choose to return in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at this lovely property for just a couple nights and got a wonderful deal on our room. It was immaculately clean and very child friendly, without compromising on the class of the room. There was a little sitting room and a separate bedroom. The bathroom was immense. Dinner was included and was lovely! As someone from the hotel industry, I would say that their customer service was absolutely outstanding!

We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orlandogal307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks again for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you again to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Fiancée loved her birthday here. Surprised her with a night here for her birthday on May 10th. The staff couldn't do enough to make sure your stay is everything it should be and more. We sre getting married at the Sherbrooke Castle on November 28th and after our stay we are even more convinced we have made the right decision for our wedding. Cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julimcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for al of your kind comment. We are delighted that your fiancé enjoyed celebrating her birthday at the Sherbrooke. Many thanks again and we wish you both the best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Booked this hotel as finding decent accommodation at a realistic price in Glasgow city centre was impossible for the night we required. A short taxi ride from Central station or a 5 minute train journey is all it takes to get in and out of the city to/from this hotel - no hardship there! On arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite (a pleasant surprise) and were made to feel very welcome. We decided to dine at the hotel (not something we usually do) and the food we chose from the a la carte menu was delicious and excellent value as was the bottle of wine we had to accompany our meal. We had late meetings the next day so it was a real bonus that breakfast is served until 9.45 am and as we were the last guests in for breakfast we sat in the bar area overlooking the garden to eat our beautifully cooked and well presented full Scottish breakfast before heading for the train into Glasgow. We travel to Glasgow frequently on business and it was a nice change not be woken up during the night by the inevitable noise of the city - will definitely stay at the Sherbrooke Castle again...looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caldervalleylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted to read your comments regarding your stay, and are thrilled that you would chose to join us again. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Sherbrooke Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

On a visit to Glasgow to celebrate my wifes Birthday I decided to the book the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel as a special treat. On our arrival we parked our vehicle and entered the reception area and were greeted with a warm welcome. We were allocated a room on the first floor overlooking the gardens. Due to the age of the hotel there are no lifts and we had to carry our cases up the stairs to our room. The room was well appointed, the bathroom huge with a stand alone bath and a separate shower cubicle. The main room had a sleigh bed, desk, large wardrobe and luggage stand. There was a small alcove with chairs and a tea table. Also included is free WiFi which was great. We didn't have any meals in the main dining room but we did have breakfast each morning which was superb and the staff very helpful and attentive. The hotel has all the old world charm such a magnificent building demands, the staff are superb and discreet. The bar staff insist of bringing your drinks to the table, another treat. All in all a great stay with Glaswegian hospitality.

Room Tip: We were allocated room 3 which overlooks the gardens. The hotel offers free parking and WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maverick911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted your wife's birthday celebration with us was successful, and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you both again soon. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Unfortunately we had to visit the hotel for the funeral of a dear friend. We booked a DBB rate (£115 as part of the special offers) to stay the night before, our room was huge, clean, well furnished and spotless. Room 6 has a large four poster bed, a small sitting room in the turret and a long corridor leading to the large bathroom. The only downside was the weak shower head that wasn't particularly powerful - when reported to reception on checkout we were assured this would be sorted out .

Dinner was taken in the restaurant and the food and service were simply stunning, a real pat on the back for the chef. the following day the wake was handled very well despite over double the numbers coming back to the hotel than were expected.

Well done to the team at the Sherbrooke, we hope to see you again soon in much better circumstances

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel, especially given the circumstances. We are happy to hear that everything was to your liking. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights arriving on a Sunday, we were booked into a outside garden suite and were checked in without any hassle after a long drive and were helped with our luggage into our room. The room was very clean and large and have to say the bathroom is one of the largest i have seen with a very beautiful walk in shower. For the next 3 nights we were moved into the main castle building into a very large suite with dining lounge and again a very beautiful bathroom. The breakfast was very satisfying and we only dined for a evening meal on the last night due to commitments and the meal was again very lovely.Have to say that the service is exellent and the staff are very freindly and polite. This hotel for me outshines other high reputiable 4 star hotels i have stayed in and would 100% recommend it ahead of others in Glasgow city centre. It is only a 10 min approx drive into main Glasgow city centre. Would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 34 in the main building is very spacious and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank major08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Your kind words are greatly appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
928 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,800 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £68 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing