We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Neat hotel, great staff”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Spent one night with family (3 kids). Cool hotel in mansion/castle. Very clean. Hotel staff couldn't have been nicer. Thanks, Andre, for the advice on where to go for sightseeing. Breakfast was included and very good - have choice of continental breakfast and/or made to order (including a full Scottish).

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy22tone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    183
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
241
360
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I can't fault anything outside of the breakfast, which for both quality and service was massively out of character with the rest of the hotel. Beautiful gardens, amazing rooms, quiet surrounding area, friendly staff and authentic pipers - a perfect getaway. Get the breakfast up to the standard of everything else and I'd stay every time I went to Glasgow - beggar the expense! A mediocre breakfast buffet is always a let down but especially in a place as fabulous as this. And in response to other patrons that say 'ignore the reviews that don't agree with mine' - PLEASE this is a review site! Why try and guilt or cajole people to agree with you when you couldn't possibly have shared their experience?? I always discount these reviews as biased so really these perplexing people are achieving absolutely nothing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We find guest feedback extremely useful in allowing us to improve where necessary. Having noticed you stayed with us 12 months ago, we believe the concerns you have raised have been rectified. We do appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed here with my partner in November 2013. Relatively easy to find but a wee bit away from the centre. We checked in and had a lovely surprise of a four-poster bed in our junior suite. We ordered room service for dinner which was venison casserole and prawn cocktail which were fine. The room was nice, clean and spacious.

Breakfast the next morning was a bit hectic, the waiter could have done with another colleague to help him out and it wasn't very clear as to what to do with the buffet etc. Overall, nice hotel, managed to book it for a good last minute deal. Next time we would probably look to stay somewhere else nearer the city centre and possibly a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Highland_Coo_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Having noticed you stayed with us 7 months ago, the issues you have raised have been resolved, and we would be delighted if you would choose to stay with us again. Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon and were kindly surprised by a room upgrade. Room was beautiful, spacious and charming and view was amazing from it. The large bathroom was such a luxury. Hotel is in a good quiet leafy suburb and would recommend if you don't mind a short drive to avoid the more touristy area. The gardens surrounding it were very pretty. We ate at the hotel restaurant and the dishes were elegant and tasted lovely - we purchased a package that included the meals so it ended up being better value. Everyone down to the concierge and waiters were helpful, friendly and warm to us. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you in the future to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Sherbrooke Castle is impressive, grand & stately, surrounded by beautiful manicured grounds, and each day Scottish Bagpipers entertain guests in the garden. Our room was very spacious, along with the bathroom, all beautifully updated whilst keeping that old world charm of a Castle !
Reception service was excellent and the friendly reception staff went out of their way to assist you. The Bar and lounge areas were comfortable, a nice place to relax and unwind. Dinner was enjoyable and food good, as was the service.
Breakfast was the only disappointment, staff unfriendly, service non existent, and the small breakfast buffet station was close to empty. When we asked for some food, staff advised that the Wedding party from the night before, had basically eaten all the breakfast food. With an hour or so before the Breakfast sitting closed, we were disappointed with the food situation and response.
Apart from Breakfast or lack of it, overall this was a fine hotel to stay, situated in a lovely leafy area of Glasgow, and was close to transport.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read your comments about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast, this is not our usual standard of service. This was a concern and having noticed that you stayed with us 11 months ago we believe the issues raised have been addressed. Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Take no notice of any negative reviews or less than good pics of this hotel all I can say is some people must have nothing better to do! I travel a lot and stay in many different hotels and this one is exceptionally good and offers good value for money. I'm not denying parts of it are a little tired but its an old castle and this only adds to the ambience of the place. The food is very good ( breakfast was beautiful as was the restaurant food in the evening) and the rooms are spacious and very well thought out (we had a sitting area in ours a huge bathroom and a huge bed). The surrounding gardens are beautiful and very well maintained and if its warm there is a lovely terrace to sit out on. The staff couldn't do enough for you, very attentive and thoughtful needless to say if we are working up this way we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our guests' experience and we are absolutely thrilled to read your comments regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and would choose to return in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at this lovely property for just a couple nights and got a wonderful deal on our room. It was immaculately clean and very child friendly, without compromising on the class of the room. There was a little sitting room and a separate bedroom. The bathroom was immense. Dinner was included and was lovely! As someone from the hotel industry, I would say that their customer service was absolutely outstanding!

We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orlandogal307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks again for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you again to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
2,655 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
671 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Property: Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing