We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I got married here on 25th July. The day could not have gone more smoothly and I was even worrying I had forgotten to do something right up to the last minute! The staff were so attentive and efficient that often I didn't see them working but when I did everyone was so helpful and friendly.

Our wedding wasn't quite so traditional in one or two minor ways but the hotel definitely made me feel like they'd seen it all before and it didn't bother them at all. They even managed to accommodate all of our immediate families for two nights, something which almost gave me a headache with it being the start of the Commonwealth Games!

Special mention to William who coordinated everything on the day and remained in contact with myself and my husband, consulting us on the little things we needed to do like who needs to be where and when! I also want to thank Sarah Jane who started us off over a year ago but is currently on maternity leave. Any staff we emailed or visited in person was always happy to answer my questions no matter how simple or daft!

And to top it all off the day was one of the hottest and sunniest of the year! I couldn't have asked for more. Would definitely recommend Sherbrooke castle as a comfortable place to spend the night but also as a brilliant wedding venue.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AikaterineXXVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted to read your comments, guest feedback is imperative to us and we are always thrilled when we can exceed our guests expectations. We are absolutely overjoyed that the day was a success for you both. Many thanks for your review and congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of our Ireland and Scotland honeymoon. This was the best and most romantic hotel. The location was nice and quiet, but very close to the train that was 1 stop from downtown Glasgow and very easy and inexpensive to navigate.

The staff here were very friendly and accommodating. They even made us a take away breakfast since we were leaving almost 2 hours before breakfast was being served.

We would stay here again when we visit Glasgow next.

Only downfall is that there are no stores (ie. convenience stores) within a 15 minute walk.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Nicki,

We are thrilled to read your comments, and are delighted that your new husband and yourself enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future, and congratulations on your recent wedding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here when visiting Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games. We had a very enjoyable stay. The room was very comfortable and spacious. I would like to compliment the housekeeping staff on keeping the room spotless. All the staff were all very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them. An excellent Hotel in a very convenient location.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank theonlooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us during the Commonwealth Games 2014 here in Glasgow. Many thanks for your kind comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sherbrooke Castle in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED: My wife and I spent a pleasant time at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. It is situated set in a delightful area and has good size and has excellent views. The bed are comfortable and the hotel is a lovely quiet place to sleep. The restaurant cuisine is of a marvellously high standard. The breakfast buffet has impressive choice and offers a full Scottish breakfast which is both delicious and generous. Lunches are superb: try the Scottish beef fillet with crème brulée or chocolate truffle to follow. The staff are exceptionally friendly and accommodating and the location is brilliant. A short stroll takes you to Dumbreck station—one stop from Glasgow Central--and ten minutes’ stroll through Maxell Park to the station which takes you to Mount Florida.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank il_padrino_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We greatly value guest feedback, and we are thrilled to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, many thanks for your very kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sherbrooke Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Cannot say anything negative about the Sherbrooke Castle,my son and his new wife had the wedding ceremony and reception yesterday and what a wonderful experience,all staff contributed to a fantastic day and everything went according to plan.
This is a must venue for any new couple hoping for a stress free day during the planning of a wedding reception.
William the wedding planner i have to say was fantastic as he made sure everything went smoothly and he is an asset to the hotel without doubt.
And what a reception meal hats off to you guys.
We stayed in the hotel overnight wonderful large rooms everything you would want,and the full Scottish breakfast was plentiful and excellent quality,this is a hotel well worthy of its star rating.
Again big thanks to WILLIAM.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms will be top quality my wife and i stayed in room 31 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jones19553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, we are delighted that your son's wedding celebration was such a huge success. We are thrilled that the day went well for you all and that your wife and yourself enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We spent a very pleasant time at SCH, primarily as a base for attending a number of Commonwealth Games sessions and also as it seemed convenient for getting in to the City centre as well.

The hotel is set in a very nice area and we were soon settled in to our room, which was a good size and has great views. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was very tasty and service was very good. The bed was comfortable and even though I think we were above the bar/restaurant we did not notice any significant noise during our stay, although the ear plugs we usually use when sleeping away may have helped.

The breakfast buffet has sufficient choice and the full Scottish breakfast was very tasty and more than enough to give a good start to the morning.

We also had a very nice late lunch while staying, lovely Scotch Beef fillet for me and fish for her, the puddings which we had later were also very nice, crème brulee for her and Chocolate truffle for me.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and we found that the location was good, a short walk to Dumbreck station, just one stop from Glasgow Central and about 10-15 minutes walk through Maxell Park to the station there which took us to either Mount Florida or Kings Park for our Hampden trips.

The trip back from Hampden to Maxwell Park via Kings Park also worked well, as although it is slightly further to walk to KP and fewer trains come back than from MF, far fewer people went that way and so we were able to get straight on a train that had plenty of room.

There is also plenty of roadside parking close to Dumbreck and Maxwell Park to avoid even a short walk.

The trip to the airport was also easy, even coming in with unexpected road closures around Ibrox, at least unexpected to us and our sat nav, were easily resolved.

The free wifi was also good with a reasonable speed.

Overall a very pleasant experience and one that we would not hesitate to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CharlieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Charlie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel, it is greatly appreciated. We greatly value guest feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during this exciting time in Glasgow. Thank you for your kind comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sherbrooke Castle in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had my wedding here on 24th July 2014 and I couldn't fault anything! Staff couldn't have been nicer, William was fantastic at keeping everything running smoothly and there to top up our drinks all day :-) we had a buffet dinner which everyone loved, and our room was gorgeous! Would highly recommend this place for a wedding the grounds are beautiful aswell and the staff know what they're doing x

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotty79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Scott,

Many thanks for your kind review, we are all thrilled that your wedding celebration was a success. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, and for your lovely comments. Thanks again and congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
835 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,723 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,049 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,347 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £79 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing