We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to all my expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lived up to all my expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

Spent last weekend at the Sherbrooke Castle and would definitely not stay anywhere else when visiting Glasgow in the future. Our bedroom was very spacious with large bed,flat screen TV, plenty of wardrobe space and not one but two irons and boards. The bathroom had a large shower and was well designed.

We ate both in the bar and the restaurant and all meals were excellent and very good value for money. my husband's dessert (double choc terrine)was beautifully presented and tasted fantastic.

The hotel is in a very good location for visiting the Burrell collection and Pollock House and we reached the city center in about twenty minutes. The hotel staff were extremely helpful in the dining room, bar and front desk and contributed to making this a very pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galdana8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    172
    33
    14
    13
See reviews for
225
328
23
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinross
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

I used to stay regularly at this hotel a few year ago while in Glasgow for business. I thought it was a good place to stay then and my return lived up to my expectations and some. The hotel has been sympathetically refurbished. The room we had was very comfortable and had a great view across the city. The staff were friendly and really helpful to my elderly mother. Breakfast was excellent. Our room was upstairs and there is no lift the stairs are rather challenging as one would expect of a hotel that has the word castle in the title, however when the new garden rooms are completed it will suit less able guests. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShelaghL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England
Level Contributor
415 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

Booked through Laterooms at £70 bed and breakfast, the room was large, well furnished, had a newly fitted shower-room with power shower (no bath) and very comfortable bed.
Another plus was free wi-fi throughout the hotel - Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express please note !
The staff were lovely and the cooked Scottish breakfast excellent.
Two minor points;
Get rid of the foam pillows - I wouldn't let my dog sleep on something as hard as these,
Get grapefruit segments onto the breakfast buffet.
Staff were top class and extremely polite and friendly.
I'll be back.

  • Liked — nice bed and shower
  • Disliked — hard pillows
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

We stayed here for a wedding at the nearby House of the Art Lover.

The room was spacious, recently refurbished with a nice bathroom with large roomy shower.

The hotel was very quiet at night and the beds really comfy, only downside was foam pillows which I personally dislike.

Breakfast was buffet style but with plenty of choice and an excellent choice of hot breakfast.

The staff were all Scottish and couldn't be more helpful. My husband left his charger for his laptop behind and they posted it to us the next day.

  • Liked — Large spacious bedroom and comfy bed
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Totoandluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

Myself, my wife and my elderley mother stayed at the Sherbrooke Hotel for one night travelling from Southampton to attend a family funeral. We were extremely pleased with our rooms which had been recently refurbished and the new decor was bright and modern but also in keeping with the rest of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay (we have already decided to return for a few days later in the year). There is a very pleasant conservatory with comfortable furniture and whilst enjoying a drink in the conservatory the owner of the Hotel introduced himself to myself and my wife and spent several minutes explaining the history of the Hotel and his plans for the future (again he was very personable and gave the impression that he really cared about guests)

Overall an excellent Hotel within easy reach of Glasgow city centre.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2007

This is an excellent hotel to stay in and would definitely be my first choice of hotel if visiting Glasgow again.

Our room was huge with a king size bed, seating area, LCD TV, large closet which held the iron and ironing board and tea making facilities, desk. The bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms I have stayed in before.

The staff were friendly and could not do enough to help us and answer our questions.

All in all a very pleasent experience that I would like to repeat some day.

  • Liked — The stunning building we stayed in.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_keys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2007

This hotel is certainly over-rated. The decor is rather naff, and the bridal suite is not up to much at all. The atmosphere is somewhat stuffy. Felt myself stifled for air. Poor air conditioning, or a clammy heat. Food was passably good though. Waiter service was not bad, too.

The one thing that triggered me is overhearing the staff loudly criticise their own guests in a very derogatory manner. Not very professional, at all.

It is a gorgeous building, however as far as the gnarly staff and the general interior of the rooms go. I would not advise staying there at all.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank travelling_buffboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Property: Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing