We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,051)
Filter reviews
1,051 results
Traveller rating
745
230
41
19
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
745
230
41
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding venue daughter's wedding main building ran like clockwork junior suite dumbreck station four poster bed burrell collection large bathroom night porter city centre would highly recommend this hotel full scottish breakfast fantastic hotel enjoyable stay haggis breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,051 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel during our first visit to Scotland. The hotel is situated on a hill and the site is pleasingly attractive. The staff was courteous, pleasant, helpful and professional. There is no elevator (it’s a castle) Our room is small but nice and clean. There is no air conditioning but we slept well with the window open. It helped that it was raining during the night. The bed and pillows are comfortable.
We had a wonderful dinner at the hotel, the service was good and the food was great. Overall we started our visit to Scotland with the right note. I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Oholdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Oholdlady,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Sherbrooke Castle. Your review will be passed on to the whole team. We believe a guest recommendation to be the highest compliment and this is greatly appreciated. Many thanks once again, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future on your next tour of Scotland to Sherbrooke Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

I booked through booking.com and got a great rate but unfortunately messed the dates up ... when we arrived my mistake was instantly rectified, absolutely amazing customer service. We dined in the restaurant that evening and once again experienced exceptional customer service and delicious food. The hotel is a short train, cab or bus ride away from Glasgow city centre but far enough out for it to feel less stressful than being in a city centre.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank charliedunn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear charliedunn75,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We pride ourselves on our guests experiences and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Your feedback is appreciated and will be passed on. Many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Sherbrooke Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

This is a wonderful older style hotel with lots of character. We chose this to avoid staying right in the centre of the noisy city and it has turned out to be a great choice. There is plenty of secure parking, the rooms are well furnished and very clean and ... the train station is a 5 min walk away and a daily return ticket is about 2 pounds ... one stop into Central Glasgow in about 5 mins. Meals at breakfast and dinner were very good.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RogerR569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Roger R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Sherbrooke Castle. We are thrilled to read your kind comments, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Was her for a wedding which to be honest went pretty well. Food service was generally quite good as was the food itself. It was pretty well organised too. It’s a nice venue which is well kept.
On a couple of different occasions however I witnessed & was subject to outrageously bad attitudes from staff. Different staff as well which leads me to believe there’s a culture problem within the venue. Whether it was staff doing their very best to ignore people who wanted a drink at the bar or trying their best to refuse wedding guests ( who were also hotel guests) in the empty ‘public’ bar, or simply staff refusing to change the channel on the tv to suit customer requests - even though no one else was watching the TV. It just all smacks of people who didn’t enjoy their jobs and disliked serving customers. There were lots of inappropriate conversations happening at the expense of serving people too.
All in all I’d be appalled if i owned this business and my staff were being allowed to behave in this manner. It was fairly shocking to witness and am hopeful that the owner sees this & investigates before bad attitudes cost an otherwise good business.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pickledginger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear pickledginger81,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience at Sherbrooke Castle. Although we are pleased that your enjoyed the wedding celebration, we are disappointed by the comments regarding members of the team. We appreciate feedback from our guests as it allows us to understand their experiences with us, letting us know what we are getting right and also areas which we may need to focus on. We are surprised and disappointed to read your comments, as there were numerous managers on duty on the day in question and were not aware of any issues. Had their of been any issue we wish this was brought to our attention so we may have investigated and taken any appropriate action. We believe we are lucky with the team members we have, and this is demonstrated repeatedly within other reviews, which is why we are surprised to read your comments. We do hope you will choose to join us again in the future so we may ensure you have an enjoyable experience, which we strive to provide all guests at Sherbrooke Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

OUTSTANDING....Wonderful people who are caring, friendly and very attentive. We had junior suites, though they were super clean and roomy. Food could not better! Try the haggis. It is truly better than anticipated. We had a junior suite

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Pam L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Sherbrooke Castle. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, your kind comments are greatly appreciated and will certainly be passed on. We are thrilled regarding your feedback and pleased the team looked after you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Sherbrooke Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews