We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2010

My wife and I spent our wedding anniversary in the Sherbrooke Castle. I chose largely it because it looked like it had character, but had no prior knowledge of it. It's an imposing building in an elevated position overlooking Pollockshields, and the good impression formed on arrival was sustained all through. The room was bright and airy, with a 'turret' in the corner where you could sit and admire the views. Dinner was first class, and the service excellent. Despite the fact that there was a high school prom event taking place in the function suite, which went on till 1am, we were not disturbed in any way, even when folk were leaving. A hearty breakfast was a fitting end to a very enjoyable stay. I'd highly recommend this hotet, and we'll certainly be back!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank dismondguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2010

We were married in function suite, had reception there and stayed for the rest of the weekend. Hotel is beautiful, very clean and staff were fantastic. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Glasgow. Food excellent and reasonably priced. Already booked for anniversary

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertRWishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Whenever I am in Glasgow (several times a year) despite the location being a little less convenient than some of the more central hotels, I always choose to stay at the Sherbrooke Castle.

I have several reasons.

One reason is that in my opinion, the general facilities, cleanliness, restaurant etc are all comparable with the big name central hotels (Marriott etc) unless a swimming pool is absolutely essential to your business trip.

Another reason is that the rooms, work space, TV's (flat screen), showers, towels, bed linen etc are all to a high standard. Parking and wifi are also plentiful (and free!)

But the over-riding reason for my choice however is because of the service I receive from the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and their response to any request is instantaneous. Every single one of them is a credit to the hotel.

Like I said, you shouldnt belive the detractors - this is an excellent hotel (and I am a very fussy person)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davekManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Staff very helpful.
lovely quiet location,
close to train station,
four poster bed was brilliant,
food good,
I would recommend this hotel to any one that wants a hotel they will always remember.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

the hotel is in an excellent position to get to glasgow centre and the burrell collection.
it is a majestic building set above the road in dumbreck.
the service was excellent and friendly and the room large, with a large bathroom with great views. i asked for the highest floor which was granted; 2nd floor in a turret type room(2 adjoinin rooms). the room was well appointed. the only downside was the single glased windows, being near to the motorway, but the noise was not a problem to sleeping.
the breakfast was excellent and so was the evening meal, in the restaurant -if a little pricey. the lunch menu was more reasonable and a good choice of menu.
overall a lovely hotel with very friendly and helpfull staff. we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterattwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We booked this Castle Hotel : according to the web: Magnificient 4 Star Baronial Hotel" four months in advance. When we arrived the hotel was under construction. We booked 4 rooms and we stayed in an ANNEXED AREA, not in the main building ! The rooms smelled of paint and the view was a garden full of rubble.
Our experience was a great disappointment !

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank glorobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherbrookeCastle, Reception Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2010

Thank you for your comments.

It was unfortunate that you were one of the first guests to stay in the hotel in 2009.

In the past 6 months we have landscaped the gardens and they now compliment the view from the windows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We enjoyed this hotel. Though the bed in our 'Junior Suit' was a disappointing size the rest of our experience was good and we would return again.

We found the food served in the bar to be a better menu and more enjoyable (and less expensive) than the restaurant but both were OK.

Staff were friendly and attentive if a little forgetful at times- like being asked for simple things that never arrived but that was not more than an irritant at needing to ask again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunnerside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
889 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,768 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#20 of 93 in Glasgow
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £74 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing