We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveller rating
859
251
45
24
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
859
251
45
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding venue main building garden room junior suite four poster bed afternoon tea downtown glasgow full scottish breakfast room was large fantastic hotel train station fantastic stay breakfast was excellent william turret scotland motorway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2019

We have always loved this hotel and decided that the Sherbrooke would be the perfect location for our wedding. We had our meal in the conservatory area and all the tables were beautiful. Nice crisp, clean tablecloths and napkins. Staff are very attentive and make you feel welcome and at ease. Food amazing (second to none). There are no negative comments to make about this hotel as it ticks all the boxes. George, Claire and William are amazing and make the day flow smoothly. William was our wedding coordinator on the day and really helped me calm down and he kept everything running smoothly and effortlessly.

Date of stay: June 2019
1  Thank LightPacker45227
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Dear LightPacker45227,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are thrilled to read your review, we are so pleased that your wedding celebration with us was such a success. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us to understand our guests experiences with us. Your review will be passed on to the whole team. Many thanks once again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Sherbrooke Castle and may we take this opportunity to wish you many congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2019

Breakfast was the best on our whole trip to Scotland. Staff was helpful and courteous.
Half of our group stayed in the original castle and other half stayed in the new section. Both had there advantages. Originally built in the 19th century, but upgraded with new and modern amenities. I would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Rooms in the castle have more charm, but new executive rooms are more modern.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmazingCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Dear AmazingCharlie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent experience with us at Sherbrooke Castle. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, your kind comments will be passed on to the whole team. Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Sherbrooke Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2019

We booked the Sherbooke Castle Hotel 2 years ago for our wedding on 1st June 2019. The hotel were fantastic to deal with from start to finish and answered all my questions and enquiries. We had a taster menu a few months before the wedding which was fantastic, we had a lovely evening. On the day of the wedding we had the most amazing day. We cannot thank every member of staff enough from the bar/ serving staff, front of house and most especially William our wedding coordinator who was absolutely amazing. William kept everything going to time throughout the day and ensured the guests were all ok, he even brought us out some drinks and canapés whilst we were getting our photos taken which was a lovely touch. Nothing was too much to ask at the Sherbrooke and we were so well looked after. We really did feel like royalty! For the food we had melon and parma ham, lentil soup, chicken with haggis and sticky toffee pudding, every course was roasting hot and tasted amazing! The guests raved about the food and the service and the night time buffet was also fantastic.We had taken all of the rooms in the hotel which was lovely as we could have the place to ourselves, the breakfast in the morning was also great after a late finish of 5am in the residents bar! I honestly could not have imagined a better wedding day and I would highly recommend the Sherbrooke as a wedding venue. Thank you so much!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank nirvine1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Dear nirvine1995,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We pride ourselves on our guests experiences and we are delighted to read your kind comments. Your generous feedback is greatly appreciated and will certainly be passed on to the whole team. We are thrilled the day was such a success. Once again many thanks for taking the time to review us and may we take this opportunity to wish you many congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2019 via mobile

The Hotel is set a nice part of Glasgow which has numerous wonderful properties and outdoor spaces and still only a short commute to the city centre.

The building itself it very characterful and positioned overlooking a church and the surrounding area.
As I understand it the Hotel doesn’t have an abundance of rooms but I was originally shown two when enquiring about staying. One was in the ‘old’ part and one ‘modern’ and I have to say both looked lovely. However when I came to actually stay I was located in a room/chalet detached from hotel (about 4 in total I believe) next to the carpark, which were self-contained and in my opinion not quite as nice as the rooms inside the Hotel I was originally shown.
That said the room itself was clean and spacious albeit a bit dated and jaded, however it was cleaned daily with bed turned down etc.

The bathroom was clean and tidy, the TV was a bit of a let-down, old and only had Freeview which had intermittent signal so not the best. The bed and pillows were just okay, not uncomfortable but certainly not the best I have stayed in, I slept ok.

The only other points worth noting are due to rooms overlooking carpark, the security lights made the room quite bright for me and also there was an elements of noise from traffic in terms of residents coming in/out of Hotel.
I never tried the restaurant or sat in the bar but they both looked solid enough.

To finish on a more positive note you won’t struggle to park your car which is free, the surrounding area is nice and relatively close to city centre.

The staff were very, very good, helpful and polite and the breakfast was superb. This was the best thing about the stay, I really enjoyed the entire breakfast ‘experience’, great food and service. All in nice place but room for improvement.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank durhamb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2019

Dear durhamb2016,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at Sherbrooke Castle. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have executive rooms located within our cottage, garden suites and castle building, should you have a preference to which building please let us know for future and we will do our very best to accommodate this request. Many thanks once again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Sherbrooke Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2019

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The place is pretty, the rooms comfortable, and the breakfast nice. Pity they keep the breakfast warm under an element and then add the egg. It made the mushrooms, haggis, blood sausage etc dry looking and dry. The pillows were hard. The staff are very friendly, the place is very clean

Date of stay: June 2019
1  Thank ElmarieS34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2019

Dear ElmarieS34,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Sherbrooke Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews