We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveller rating
859
251
45
24
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
859
251
45
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding venue main building garden room junior suite four poster bed afternoon tea downtown glasgow full scottish breakfast room was large fantastic hotel train station fantastic stay breakfast was excellent william turret scotland motorway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2019 via mobile

Loved our stay here. Staff was helpful and friendly from check in, restaurant, bar, and check out. Huge tub washed away the fatigues of this traveler! And you must try the afternoon tea. It is not to be missed!!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 514beckyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2019

Dear 514beckyp,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Sherbrooke Castle. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Your review will be passed on to the whole team, many thanks once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Sherbrooke Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2019

We have had a number of family occasions at the hotel over the last 51 years but this was our first time to stay there. Hotel staff were all welcoming, friendly, efficient and keen to assist as required. We had a Junior Suite (Room 3) for 2 nights. The large room was well appointed with lovely views over the hotel gardens and the city and there was a cosy sitting area in the turret. Tea tray, chocolate biscuits and coffee machine and water provided The very large en-suite with large bath and shower was new and well appointed.

We booked for Dinner, B&B and were not disappointed. A good choice of items for dinner; all were very well prepared and presented, with excellent service, An excellent buffet breakfast with many choices was provided with hot dishes to order as required.

We had a warm welcome from the staff at the nearby Glasgow Climbing centre; previously Ibrox Parish Church in which we had been married 50 years previously.

Dumbreck Railway station is just a few minutes walk away and next stop is Glasgow Central so travel is easy. Trains run every 30 mins. There is parking within the hotel grounds. We visited Riverside Transport Museum, the tall ship Glenlee, Kelvingrove Art Galleries and the Hunterian Museum on the second day. All excellent. Check times if travelling by bus to the Riverside Museum as they seem to be only hourly.

On the 3rd day we delighted in our visit to House for an Art Lover in the near by Bellahouston Park. This has a very good restaurant. We then visited the newly reopened Holmwood House in Cathcart (Fresh veg and a donation box in the kitchen garden) before returning to the Sherbrooke for a very good lunch.

There were functions on each of the 3 days we were there; we were not disturbed by these at all. This is an excellent family run hotel to which we will certainly return.

Room tip: Rooms to the front of the castle have excellent views.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank isobel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2019

Dear exzombaresident,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your most recent experience with us at Sherbrooke Castle. We are delighted to read your kind comments, your generous review is greatly appreciated, and we will be certain to share your feedback with the whole team. We pride ourselves on our guests experiences and believe return guests to be the highest compliment. Many thanks once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Sherbrooke Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019

There is no praise high enough for this hotel. Just off the motorway and five minutes drive from the city centre. Once inside the grounds you would swear you were on a country estate. The castle is stunning inside and out. Rooms are large and luxurious and ours had beautiful views of the grounds. The staff were wonderful, friendly and so helpful. All our needs were catered for on the day with nothing too much trouble. The food was delicious and so well presented, absolutely faultless. We will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank HeatherW2783
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2019

Dear HeatherW2783,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated, and will certainly be passed on to the whole team. We are so pleased to read your feedback, we pride ourselves on our guests experiences and are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Sherbrooke Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019

Sherbrooke castle is just outside of Glasgow and perfect if you don’t want to drive into town. We had a lovely large room on the 2nd floor, with a small sitting area and a large bathroom. There is a nice dining room and the meals are very good and reasonable. They also have room service until quite late, so if you arrive after dinner, you can still get soup and sandwiches, and wine! We left our car and took the train in, the hotel is a two block walk to the station, and Central station where you can get buses etc is the next stop. We found out very easy and convenient and we did it have to worry about trying to park in town, rarely saw an open spot, npr did we have to rush back to put money in a meter.

Date of stay: July 2019
2  Thank MCMS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2019

Dear MCMS51,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We pride ourselves on our guests experiences and we are delighted to read your feedback. We are pleased your enjoyed your time with us. Your kind comments will be passed on to the whole team. Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Sherbrooke Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2019

Stayed here recently, more than £100 for B&B per night. The hotel is dire need of investment/refurbishment, the whole place is tired and in parts grubby. There are far better places to stay in Glasgow, will not be returning to this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2019
2  Thank yeotrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SherbrookeCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2019

Dear BenF640,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We pride ourselves on our guests experiences and we are disappointed to read your review. The accommodation pricing is based on various factors such as occupancy level, average selling rate and based on competitiors within the city, and as we are one of the few hotels that includes breakfast, on site parking and wifi within our rate we feel we are competitively priced.

We are surprised by your comments as we have recently completed a refurbishment programme of the hotel including public areas and bedrooms. If you are able to provide further information this would be appreciated, please email customerservice@sherbrookecastlehotel.com so that we may look in to your comments further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews