We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Nice hotel, warm welcome”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

When staying in this hotel is a manorial experience. The hall is from the older times with old pictures on the walls and really charming.
First they wanted to put us in the garden suite separate from the castle. Since we have already booked in January, we insistend on being in the castle, which was finally no problem. Our rooms were very spacious and well equipped. Dinner in the hotel was excellent and breakfast as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeonline1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    180
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
234
349
23
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Arrived on a Saturday evening just when the wedding party was getting going. Owing to my first choice in Glasgow, the Eglinton Arms at Eaglesham being full, I tried here. At a week`s notice they had only a superior room available in a motel style block at the rear of the car park. It was very very spacious about 25ft square at its widest with a clean modern large bathroom. The room contained a king siz bed which was very comfortable, large wardrobe, desk and large easy chair, TV and coffee, tea making facility. There was also unencrypted wi fi connection. Two factors spoiled the room; firstly it was situated such that a light needed to be switched on for reading even in the middle of the day and of more import the windows which opened out, it was of course at street level, could not be opened on a security lock with reduced aperture. The consequence was that if like us you can`t sleep unless there is fresh air coming in there is a risk of very easy entry for anybody you wouldn`t want to enter.

Breakfast was OK but for this money £117 I`ve had better. Considering there were freshly squeezed orange and grapefruit juices the eggs were so so...the scrambled eggs were congealed and I ordered fresh to the astonishment of the waiter who remarked that scrambled eggs were at the buffet........and my wife did not like the porridge which was an off menu option. I had to request cheese. The coffee was excellent and the service good. We had food only on one night of the three we spent there .....in the lounge.... a salad and a pasta which were both well cooked.

Apart from the window`s lack of security there were no reserved parking spaces outside the "motel" rooms which meant difficulty getting parked at the weekend we were there. The reception staff didn`t consider that a problem so I found some cones and reserved my space. They also denied there ever had been another complaint about lack of window secuity.

For this money the hotel is not worth it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryMarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

we booked for one night at the sherbrooke and stayed in an annexe not in the main hotel we were not shown to our room just given vague indications of where it was It would have been much nicer to have been offered help with our bags and shown to the room .the room was fine clean and spacious with large windows . outside there was a large pile of rubbish though and an old suitcase which wasnt great to look out on . the bathroom was modern and clean and provided everything that we needed for our stay there . we had a lovley evening meal in the bar area service was good and the food was very good and reasonable too There was a fair choice of buffet for the breakfast cereals etc and good choice of juices etc but the hot breakfast wasnt hot at all it was tepid and looked as if it had been there a while , but my husband ordered poached eggs on toast and these were done fresh and were lovley , I would advise asking for fresh breakfast to be cooked an option which is given on the menu .
We would definitley stay here again its only 500 metres from the train station and one stop to the centre of glasgow so no car worries .all in all it was a very nice experience .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b8suu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Although our perspectives were quite high, we were really surprised by the incredible atmosphere of a real clasic victorian castle.

The place is simply amazing, probably the most impressive place ever been as an acommodation after many travels, both business and leisure. The service is also very kind, and the children enjoyed a lot with the pictures, the different areas, the library, the garden and in general with all what a true castle is for them.

We also enjoyed the room, (really comfortable, big enough for 4 people and full of commodities, specially the shower and the beds), and the views from there to the area of Ibrox in Glasgow were really wonderful. The hotel is located not in the city downtown, but the suburb is full of victorian big houses and it is really a quiet area.

We take both the dinner and the continental breakfast and we were surprised by the good quality and the average price that we had to pay.

Summarizing, the best that we did in Glasgow is the election of the Sherbrooke Castle. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed there for a Wedding (17th July) which was enjoyable. The rooms are a bit dated, and have a rustic feel to them. The grounds are lovely, however our stay was dampened a little bit by the taxi company the Hotel booked with. We booked a taxi to take us to the Airport. Its less than a ten minute ride to the Airport and we were charged a fixed fare of £17.00 - we didn't know it was a fixed fare taxi until we arrived at the Airport. Luckily we had enough money on us to fork out for the fare.

We complained to the hotel (being locals) that they ought to warn customers regarding the expensive taxi service and that it wasn't metered. I spoke with the Manager (I had to chase him - as he didn't call me back), and he could care less... very disappointing and not the type of service I would expect of a 4 star hotel. We are a well travelled couple and stay in 4/5 star hotels frequently- on the basis of our experience, I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay there given my overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HUNTRESS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2010

There is nowhere else I would stay in Glasgow. I regularly stay at the Sherbrooke and have held a number of functions there. The staff never let me down and neither does the hotel. They really do know what they are doing.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonlow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Our guests arrived begining on Wednesday and most left on Sunday. We took most of the rooms in the Hotel which worked our really well. Staff was great. Worked with us on every detail. Mix of NYers, Glasgow locals and UK. All had a great time and this crew is not easy to please. Everyone enjoyed the food in both the bar and the restaurant. Hotel staff worked hard so that we could enjoy our day. Train is short walk down the street, 6 mins to central Glasgow. 15 mins by cab from George Square. Looking forward to going back in the fall. High reccommend

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgow_NYexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Property: Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing