We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$207
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$95
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
300
145
20
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
145
20
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiping centresmall hotelpiping museumwee dramfree dramtheatre royalcontinental breakfastwee hotelscottish themecity centreon arrivallovely little hotelbuchanan bus stationno liftfriendly hotelfull scottish breakfastfew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We got married and had our reception in the Pipers Tryst in April 2011. Honestly could not have asked for more. Rob and Gemma were simply fantastic, and the day went so smooth.
I have had so many compliments from our guests on the place, from the food to the atmosphere.

We also booked all the bedrooms in the hotel, and even breakfast the following day was fab. Thank you thank you for such an amazing day xxxxx

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isis79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Booked for the Gala Ball on 31 December 2011. Food was excellent. Canapes on arrival along with glass of bubbly. Table to ourselves for meal rather than shared with others. Once we had meal we went upstairs to a shared table with other guests for the Ceilidh - this was also good but could have done with a bit more space for the Ceilidh dances - a bit cramped for certain dances. Piper at midnight then disco - music was really more suited to the younger guests but on the whole we had a great time and would return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eibmorcreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This Hotel and Gemma and her management team looked after all my family and gave us a 5 Star Service.

The welcome was extremely homely as is the Hotel itself,it boasts great Food,Wine,Craic,what more could you ask for and a few extra surprises by Gemma.

The Hotel is in a great location on the edge of Sauchiehall Street for everything you could wish for if you like shopping and a few minutes walk away to give you peace and tranquility in a old Glasgow cobbled Street.

The Hotel has its own Piping Centre as well.

Dont waste money on a large Glasgow Hotel come here ist like visiting friends and family the way your are looked after is great.

I cannot wait to go back,any negative comments No I feel you cannot beat this Hotel.

Enjoy like I did because I am sure you will.

Gemma you and the Team are special.

Mr James Mc Dermott.

Room Tip: I had room 6 great view of Glasgow City Centre and its great people.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trystmanager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. December seems a long way away now; however I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay and dining experience at The Pipers’ Tryst.

It was great to have your large group stay with us over the festive period. The hotel does lend itself well to intimate parties and those looking to have a meal and a private party for up to 20 people.

Please come back soon...however I cannot guarantee chocolate truffles at breakfast time any other day than Christmas Eve!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed here on a Sat night so quiet for a city centre location.Staff very friendly & welcoming. Full Scottish breakfast was excellent also a continental breakfast available if you are watching the calories. Great location for Theatres & shopping. Would highly recommend it to others. There is also a restaurant for lunch & evening meals.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsayhmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trystmanager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Thank you for taking time to post your comments about The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel. We are delighted that you had a good stay and enjoyed our facilities. Although we are very central, we are on a quiet cobbled street ‘McPhater St’ which remains very quiet at night time especially after 12am once the local pubs close.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the Pipe Major’s breakfast (full Scottish breakfast) – this offering, as you can imagine has become famous throughout the piping world!

We hope to welcome you again in the future and thank you for your kind comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We have just spent our second time in this little hotel. The eight rooms have all the amenities one could wish and the location is ideal for exploring Glasgow and beyond. One can walk to both the Queen Street and Central train stations, the main bus station, concert venues, and shopping. There is parking, but you can get around fine without a car. A nice continental breakfast is included in the room rate, with options for an extra-charge sumptuous cooked breakfast. The restaurant serves fine Scottish food, with other specialty options, for both lunch and dinner. (Make reservations for dinner as the restaurant is popular with locals.) Ask for a room on the front for a good view of bustling streets. If you are interested in bagpipes, there is an excellent museum on the history of this native instrument in the attached Piping Centre.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are bright and offer a great view of bustling Glasgow streets.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trystmanager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Thank you for your repeat custom at The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel. We are very pleased you had another comfortable stay with us when visiting Glasgow. It’s great to hear that you enjoy our fine city!

The hotel is such a central location for Buchanan St bus station and both railway stations are within walking distance; it is always easy for tourists to get around the city. Not to mention the city’s ‘clockwork orange’ subway system – Cowcaddens stop is right on the doorstep!

Thank you for recommending reservations for The Pipers’ Tryst. This cosy small restaurant has become so popular especially on pre-theatre nights; we do suggest booking in advance.

We do hope that you will return to the city in the near future. Thank you once again for your positive review.

Haste ye back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews