We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$113
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
294
144
20
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
144
20
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiping centresmall hotelpiping museumwee dramfree dramtheatre royalcontinental breakfastwee hotelscottish themecity centreon arrivallovely little hotelbuchanan bus stationno liftfriendly hotelfull scottish breakfastfew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I booked this hotel through a deal. It was a great bargain for bed and breakfast including a bottle of bubbly. Room was fine with everything you need in it. Location nice and quiet considering it is in city centre. We had dinner in hotel which was excellent and the staff are a breath of fresh air. I would recommend this hotel for a nice short romantic break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nettie1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Room was pretty basic but clean enough. Location is pretty central, two minutes and your at the shops, also not far from Queen street station. Really great location. Only had breakfast here which was continental and was ok, but nothing great. Staff were friendly enough on check in and check out.

Room Tip: We were told we would be in a room with two single beds. Both beds had light almost right above them which we banged our heads on numerous times. Beds weren't that comfy, maybe a double would have been more so.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weephil76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here recently to celebrate our recent engagement. Having booked it in January I was very much looking forward to a wee night away however we were less than impressed with the stay!

It all started when I received a voicemail message on the morning of our stay to inform us that there was a wedding in the hotel and as such the restaurant would be out of commission that night! We would also be required to check in via the piper centre desk as the normal check in door would be out of use. To say I was a wee bit miffed was an understatement - there was no mention of a wedding being on when I booked and to be told that morning is hardly giving me notice! This meant we couldn't have a drink in the bar or a meal and had to make rushed alternative arrangements!

We put this out of our mind and made our way to the hotel - only to find we had been put in a twin room. We phoned reception to inform them of their error only to be told that they only have one double and so we couldn't move. I suggested making the bed into a king (having worked in hospitality as a chambermaid this would b common practice using a band to lock bed together and then cover with king duvet) however this was dismissed out of hand. We explained that we were celebrating our engagement and would have never booked a twin if we'd known but they were not for budging. My fiancé was pretty disgusted with their attitude - they did offer us the chance to change booking to stay in double room another night but we'd already arrived so didn't really want to traipse all the way home again and grudgingly stayed put. We were offered nothing else in the way of discount or apologies and check out staff the next morning were very abrupt.

All very disappointing - i'd read the reviews and was looking forward to a relaxing night in the comfort of a wee hotel with gorgeous food but instead we spent only a few hours at the hotel as ended up going out in town for drinks and dinner instead!

As a result I'm afraid I would hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone! A real shame

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keen_scots_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trystmanager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review. I am terribly sorry that The Pipers’ Tryst did not meet your expectations during your recent stay.

We are classed by Visit Scotland as an 8-bedroom ‘restaurant with rooms’. The Pipers’ Tryst restaurant is a very popular destination for Scottish food, weddings and private family celebrations. It is not unusual that we are fully booked during guests stays, especially at the weekend. We do advise booking in advance and therefore you would have been notified of the fully booked status well ahead of arrival.

Last Friday, as a matter of courtesy the manager on duty called all guests to make them aware that we had a wedding within the premises. She had given an alternative check in method to ensure your greeting was smooth and welcoming, but also to ensure the wedding meal wasn’t interrupted. We are part of The National Piping Centre and guests can check in at either front desk.

I am very sorry that you were unable to dine with us during your stay. In advance of your arrival, we made sure there was a cold bottle of sparkling wine in your room and an offer to make reservations elsewhere was given at check in. The manager also delivered the latest food and drink guide to your bedroom door to assist with a choice of restaurant and to make you aware that we offer room service.

Being so small but also central, it is standard practise that staff will offer to make reservations for guests elsewhere, book theatre tickets and give directions to ensure their stay within Glasgow is a pleasurable experience.

We have 1 double room and 7 twins; originally we were built as a residential teaching facility for bagpiping. At the time of booking all guests are informed of their room type and a confirmation email sent stating your rate and room type. The beds are not ‘zip and link’ therefore could not be made into a double/king. However, you were offered a full refund or a date change if you wished to come another time.

We are exceptionally flexible with our guests and staff will always offer an alternative if the room or the guest expectations are not met. It is very difficult to make amends post-stay, however please accept our sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Thanks for a lovely stay at the Piper's Tryst. The room was adequate, shower fine, hairdryer worked, breakfast fab, great location and Randy Newman at the concert hall just great. Wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronald_allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We booked this hotel thru a deal & I must admit I was very pleasantly surprised to find such an intimate hotel, it has only 8 rooms & right in the heart of theatre land. The staff seemed to be hand picked for their efficiency & friendliness. The restaurant was quite small but the atmosphere was jumping. We had an excellent dinner which was very reasonably priced. Breakfast was fit for pipers delicious & a great choice. Highly recommend far better than the larger hotels around for service & quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews