We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
292
144
20
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
144
20
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiping centresmall hotelpiping museumwee dramfree dramtheatre royalcontinental breakfastwee hotelscottish themecity centreon arrivallovely little hotelbuchanan bus stationno liftfriendly hotelfull scottish breakfastfew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 468 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Piper's Tryst Hotel in Glasgow June 2012. I had a big, nice clean room (en suite) overlooking the road. Although it was a lttle noisy, I simply opened the windows during the day when I was out, and closed them at night. That worked just fine. Good cooked breakfasts in the intimate eating room. I also had one supper there as well which was quite tasty. I found the staff very helpful and adaptable. My room was ready early, as I had requested, in order to rest from jet lag. Breakfast trays (fruit, juice, cereal) can be brought up the night before if you are travelling before breakfast time. This little, intimate hotel is about 5 -10 walk to the bus and train station and to downtown. Nice spot. Good value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regiena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is a unique place to stay. We only spent one night in Glasgow and found this place as we were late making reservations. I would recommend to anyone as it was clean, with very large rooms and baths. Price was a surprise for the quality and unique property.

Room Tip: There is a car park right next door. Your best bet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeygs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Located in the heart of Glasgow - right next to theatre royal.

Amazing small hotel which is very basic but clean, if you are looking for a decent hotel at an affordable rate, then this is the place for you.

Ate in the restaurant which was very good, plenty of choice, and great service.

Hope to be back soon

Room Tip: ask for a room at front of hotel to get the best view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imacthisyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I'll admit bias since I'm a piper and this was like staying at Bagpipe Ground Zero, but my wife - who's not a piper - loved it, too. The small size of the hotel and restaurant make it very cozy and intimate, and the Piping Centre practice and teaching rooms next door are indispensable for traveling pipers. The rooms are small but comfortable, the food at the restaurant is as good as any we had in Glasgow, and the service is excellent. It's in a great location for walking around the city or getting the underground or buses anywhere, and the neighborhood is quiet, being at the upper end of Hope Street. We stayed four nights and can't wait to go back. Book early because they do fill up.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I have stayed in the Pipers' Tryst many times. It is right in the heart of Glasgow and the rooms might be elderly but they are clean and comfortable. The restaurant serves great food and the gals are happy smiley all the time. It has to be the best deal in town especially if you want to visit the Piping Centre or go to the theatre.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are perhaps a little quieter, if that is possible
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airbus0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews