We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Used this hotel for an overnight stay in Glasgow after attending a concert at the Hydro. Only 8 rooms but exceptionally clean and completely adequate. Breakfast very good and the service at reception and at breakfast was friendly and attentive. Location very good right at the top of Hope St. 2 minutes from Sauchiehall St, and 5 minutes from Buchanan St. We actually walked back from the Hydro and it only took 45 minutes. Very pleased !!

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed over at the hotel to meet up with relatives and visit The Stand Comedy Club. We were made to feel welcome, asked if we needed any help in finding our way around the city, advice on places to go etc. For a very small hotel, tucked away from the biz but within walking distance of many main attractions, it is ideal. Reasonably priced, good food in the restaurant and a great choice of whisky and wine to round off the night.

Room Tip: rooms at the front give a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinJam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipersTrystManager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for coming to stay with us at The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel. We are delighted you had a great stay and visited The Stand, Glasgow’s top comedy club. It’s always good to hear our staff were courteous and assisted you during your stay. Haste ye back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed at Pipers Tryst recently through a special offer on line deal purchased @ £48 for 2 people on 1 night stay including breakfast. Good location and easy to find. Not the best looking from the outside and can be difficult to get luggage out of car as on a narrow single lane one way street. Twin room was of adequate size over looking front of building but although near main road was not noisy and i am a very light sleeper ! Clean and comfy but nothing fancy with bathroom being quite old looking and shower head did not have choice to change direction of flowing water was just pouring straight down so had to stand right underneath it. No parking available but nearest car park was not far away being near the police station at bottom of road which is £1 per hour and £2 overnight which is handy and cheap if on street parking can not be found. Guests are given 2 keys as front entrance is locked and doorway from inside hotel to bar area is closed at a particular time ( we stayed on a Sunday ) so the side entrance is then used for access but not a problem. Best part for me was the breakfast, area is quite small with tables close by but luckily was quiet on my day of departure. I opted for scrambled eggs, bacon and mushrooms. All cooked very well, hot and tasty , probably best scrambled eggs i have had. All staff we encountered were helpful and polite with nothing being too much trouble:

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sootyghirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipersTrystManager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are glad to hear had a good stay and took advantage of our special voucher offer. It is a great deal for a Sunday night. As an 8 bedroom establishment we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, the quietness and of course our famous breakfasts! The bathrooms are going through a process of upgrades in 2014/2015 which will take us to a new standard this year. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for one night for wedding anniversary with an itison deal.Right at the top of Hope St across the road from the Theatre Royal.Close to Sauchiehall St shopping.Calls itself a restaurant with rooms. Only has 8 rooms.Is attached to the Piping Centre. Room 5 was at back of hotel so not much of a view.Clean and cosy, nice tartan decor comfy bed room was bit warm but had a window which opened squeakily.Bathroom with bath & shower, nice toiletries,fluffy towels and clean.Staff all very nice,no reception just check in at the bar,Pipe major's breakfast was included in the deal which was large & lovely.Continental breakfast is standard but some nice choices on the cooked breakfast menu at an extra charge.10% off restaurant for guests.had a lovely time, would stay again.Not for anyone not good with stairs.

Room Tip: Not for anyone not good with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dumbartondweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipersTrystManager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay. We are delighted that you had a pleasant time at our wee hotel. Our location is first class for a shopping break or cultural visit being so close to Glasgow’s ‘Style Mile’ and also in the heart of theatre land. We are pleased that you enjoyed the 10% discount for hotel guests when eating at The Pipers’ Tryst. Our cosy restaurant is reviewed as a ‘hidden gem’ in Glasgow’s restaurant scene and features delicious local produce and of course a great selection of wines and malts. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Experienced an absolutely beautiful wedding reception here for my daughter in 2009 with lovely food, lots of fine wine and amazing first class service by the staff who could not have done enough for us.

Unfortunately I was overcharged twice although this was indeed refunded by cheque and negotiation after I argued my point with someone behind a door who never showed their face.

Just to reiterate that everything was first class apart from that.

Gemma looked after us very well but I don't know what happened at bill time.

This review has been blocked once by Tripadvisor so perhaps billing problems are not supposed to be worried about.

Perhaps we should leave that to the customers to decide............

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and I received no complaints from the eight rooms I booked and paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N1CE-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipersTrystManager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Sir/Madam, thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you still have fond memories of your daughter’s wedding in 2009. Gemma is still our general manager and takes great pride in ensuring that each and every guest has a wonderful experience at The National Piping Centre. We take great pride in training our staff to ensure that they give excellent service at all times to deliver memorable occasions, overnights stays superb dining and fun events.

We are sorry that you had a bill mix up and since it was around 5 years ago I am afraid we cannot comment on what went wrong. We are terribly sorry all the same, however issues do happen and we are glad to hear that a refund was promptly given.

Thank you once again for taking time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Tucked away from the noise, but close enough to walk everywhere, the Piper's Tryst is in a great spot. A large, comfortable room with a monstrous bed and good facilities.
The small restaurant downstairs has excellent food and friendly, professional staff.
A perfect city stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Great wee hotel in a good area for pubs, clubs and theatre. Our room was clean and warm. Only niggle was a squeaky floor board. Got a good night's sleep in a huge comfy bed. We had the piper majors breakfast which was great. Next time we stay we will have dinner as the food looked good. The dining area was comfy and had a relaxing atmosphere. The staff we spoke to were all very polite and friendly. I like this place as it has a real welcoming feel about it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank weewills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
836 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,245 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pipers' Tryst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

Address: At The National Piping Centre | 30 - 34 McPhater Street, Glasgow G4 0HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £89 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pipers' Tryst Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The National Piping Centre is home of The Pipers' Tryst which houses 8 cosy bedrooms, and is classed by the Scottish tourist board as a 4 star 'Restaurant with Rooms'. All 8 bedrooms are equipped with en-suite bathrooms, colour TV with radio channels, hairdryer, trouser press, and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served within The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant. A continental buffet breakfast is provided in all our rates. Cooked breakfasts are also available at an extra charge, The Pipe Major's breakfast will be sure to see you through the day. The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant is also available for lunch or dinner throughout the week. Having achieved eat quality Scotland standard and received very complimentary reviews in local press our tables are often in high demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Pipers' Tryst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipers Tryst Glasgow
Pipers Tryst Hotel Glasgow
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing