We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless hotel complimentated by superb staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just returned from 5 days at the commonwealth games. I booked the hotel on the back of trip advisor comments a year ago and we were not disappointed. The hotel was spotless, the breakfast was hot and tasty. The staff couldn't do enough for you. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel & would certainly return in the future. Many thanks for making our visit to Glasgow so enjoyable

Room Tip: Only a small eight bedroom hotel linked to National Piping centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice enough inside and near all the local restaurants, bars etc.

Friendly staff, nice quiet restaurant and bar.

Only issue was we were woken up at 7am by construction works across the road as we left the window open, which is not the hotels fault obviously but it did affect the experience.

Then at about 8am we were woken up again by a member of staff showing the new cleaner around the other rooms, talking loudly and letting doors slam behind them wasn't the best wake up call. So take ear plugs to avoid unwanted wake up calls by loud staff.

Do not miss the breakfast here it is amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeorr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Visited for one night as for once had baby sitters and wanted a relaxing an intimate night.
Originally thought we would use this as a base although when we checked in and had a drink menu looked perfect so after a look around we came back and had drinks and dinner.
Great choice as menu was lovely, full of Scottish dishes which were well cooked with a limited although decent wine list.
We always look for something a little different if we can and this did not disappoint. Room was fine, not over the top although perfect for what we wanted and fee Wi-Fi.
Breakfast was fab although you pay a little premium for main dishes. This is advertised so if you just want cereal/toast in the price you can. Personally I would say it's worth upgrading.
Staff were brilliant and very helpful.
We wanted a nice night out and this was perfect although I could equally come here corporately as it's a refreshing change to the chains!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Pipers Tryst as part of an itison deal which included breakfast in the morning. We stayed on a Sunday evening due to little availability on any other day.

We arrived to the hotel bar (no reception), billed as a “restaurant with rooms” and found the staff pleasant enough. They explained that as there was a function on at the restaurant that evening and as such, requested that we use the side entrance if we were leaving/entering the building. Onto our room, we discovered a moderately sized room, swelteringly hot, with a beautiful view of the back of a grey building. The two single beds joined together to make a double bed were firm but manageable for one night. The small pedal bin in the bathroom had not been emptied from the previous occupants and along with this, we were treated to the leftovers of what might be described as ‘a night without the kids’, with a bag of condoms and lubricant in the bedside drawer!

The staff were extremely polite and apologetic when we mentioned this to them downstairs, but it did leave me with the wonder that if these hadn’t been cleared then what else had been missed? We were told to come back later for a drink on the house but with a private function on, it wasn't suitable for us to just show up so missed out on this - doubt it would have softened the blow any!! Thankfully when we were out, a member of staff helpfully went up to our room and changed the wastebasket and removed the offending items! It was, it has to be said, funny in an embarrassing way but still unpleasant.

Being the above-mentioned "restaurant with rooms!", the rooms left a lot to be desired. The floor was as creaky as, and if either of us had woken for the bathroom during the night the other one would have likely been terrified by the noise of the deafening floorboards! The bathroom was a step up, with a massive tub and waterfall shower, although the water flow through the shower was a bit of a drip. The shower curtain was showing signs of mould at the bottom left hand corner nearest the taps.

In the morning, as part of the deal we had, we were to be treated to the Pipe Majors breakfast, a hearty beast of a morning meal but despite entering the restaurant at 8:15am and with only two other patrons dining together at this time, it took an age. My husband and I were on a tight schedule, needing to leave before 9am, and despite questioning the wait staff about how long the breakfast would take to make, twice, we eventually had to give up and leave at 8:57am, rumbly bellies ahoy!

It is unlikely I would ever return to the Pipers Tryst Hotel, despite its convenient location, I could think of a hundred other places I might stay in the vicinity before I chose this again, including the heilanman's umbrella. Disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jjtbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

would highly recommend this hotel, the staff were a credit to the hotel, they were very friendly and nothing was any trouble to them. I am gluten free and they provided a gluten free menu and the food was excellent. the room we stayed in was immaculate and had a bath and overhead shower.
taxi from Queen street railway station approx £3.50.....and to the Secc/ hydro approx £6.50.
if you are a shopaholic then only a 5 minute walk from main shops.
we have mobility problems and never thought to ask for a lower floor room, I forgot to ask if there was a lift, however the staff assured us that had we asked at the check in they would have changed or room.as they did not have a lift, this did not spoil our experience
in summary a little Gem of a hotel close to the tourist main spots and we will be returning.

Room Tip: room 5 on second floor so if you have any mobility issues or heavy case then ask for a room on lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here for £48 through the Itison deal and it was great. Our room was lovely and a big comfy bed. Everything was very clean.

We had the Pipe Major's breakfast in the morning which set us for the day!

My only one wee complaint would be charging us £1 for a bottle of water - perhaps either include it or don't have the water in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andie-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here mid week after buying a voucher on line for B&B. Although the hotel was very central, no parking but can park in NCP for £2 , so not expensive. We were not able to have the breakfast as it did not start service til 8am, which is too late, as we had work to go to so needed to leave by 8am. The staff were very kind and did supply juice and cereal , delivered to our room. Rooms were very spacious and surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mo i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
822 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,230 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pipers' Tryst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

Address: At The National Piping Centre | 30 - 34 McPhater Street, Glasgow G4 0HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £93 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pipers' Tryst Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The National Piping Centre is home of The Pipers' Tryst which houses 8 cosy bedrooms, and is classed by the Scottish tourist board as a 4 star 'Restaurant with Rooms'. All 8 bedrooms are equipped with en-suite bathrooms, colour TV with radio channels, hairdryer, trouser press, and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served within The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant. A continental buffet breakfast is provided in all our rates. Cooked breakfasts are also available at an extra charge, The Pipe Major's breakfast will be sure to see you through the day. The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant is also available for lunch or dinner throughout the week. Having achieved eat quality Scotland standard and received very complimentary reviews in local press our tables are often in high demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Pipers' Tryst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipers Tryst Glasgow
Pipers Tryst Hotel Glasgow
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing