We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the heart of Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Really convenient for Glasgow theatres. Only thing to spoil our visit this time was a slight droning noise - probably from some ventilation system - but not enough to be too intrusive. Staff, as usual, were very obliging.

Room Tip: As there is no lift it's better to get a room on the lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mikejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Pipers Tryst whilst visiting Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games. The location was very central; the room was clean and of a reasonable size and the staff were welcoming and very helpful. The breakfast in the morning was also very tasty. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the centre of Glasgow. It makes a very pleasant change from the big chain hotels.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the front of the hotel and therefore the main road. It was extremely hot when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peeblesjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We arrived at the Tryst after a long overseas flight and were treated like family. Our room was comfortable and spotless, and the tea downstairs helped us get back on our feet. We loved it so much that we stayed a second time before flying home at the end of our trip. The Cullen Skink is TO DIE FOR. Super convenient to the airport and to lots of stores and restaurants in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I sampled and thoroughly enjoyed the Platter with excellent cheese and chutney and tasty meat treats washed down with wine (of your choice)

The welcome and atmosphere is so good here that a return visit is always envisaged.

Room Tip: all rooms are good and decent with no outstanding features or problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shawbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just got back from a one night stay to watch the Commonwealth Games. The receptionists and staff were most welcoming and helpful. Rooms were clean with enough room. Location was about a 10 minute walk uphill from central station and a 2 minute walk to the underground station. Breakfast was delicious. Had a lovely short stay here and would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newkaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My siblings and I booked this venue for my parents to host their 40th Ruby Wedding Anniversary. It was a great night! The food was lovely and the staff were very helpful, nothing was a problem. It is an excellent Scottish feeling venue for a party or celebration, in a very central location in the heart of Glasgow!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Good food and accommodation with friendly staff. The hotel is convenient to the main shopping areas of the Buchanan Galleries and Buchanan Street. It is also just off the main motorway through Glasgow which connects with the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kara_chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
822 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,230 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pipers' Tryst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

Address: At The National Piping Centre | 30 - 34 McPhater Street, Glasgow G4 0HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £93 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pipers' Tryst Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The National Piping Centre is home of The Pipers' Tryst which houses 8 cosy bedrooms, and is classed by the Scottish tourist board as a 4 star 'Restaurant with Rooms'. All 8 bedrooms are equipped with en-suite bathrooms, colour TV with radio channels, hairdryer, trouser press, and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served within The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant. A continental buffet breakfast is provided in all our rates. Cooked breakfasts are also available at an extra charge, The Pipe Major's breakfast will be sure to see you through the day. The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant is also available for lunch or dinner throughout the week. Having achieved eat quality Scotland standard and received very complimentary reviews in local press our tables are often in high demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Pipers' Tryst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipers Tryst Glasgow
Pipers Tryst Hotel Glasgow
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing