We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay unfortunate name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sandyford Hotel
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pleasant stay unfortunate name”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

pleasant stay, warmer than most i have stayed in in Glasgow, which was a plus, peaceful at night even thu surrounded by restaurants, clean and tidy. Only thing I would mention is make sure your clear to any cabbies that it,s The Sandyford Hotel and give them the full address, otherwise you might experience an interesting detour to the sandyford sexual health clinic just around the corner and a rather embarrassing conversation with your taxi driver ! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    260
    118
    46
    40
See reviews for
78
209
89
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel as we attended a concert at the nearby SECC. The receptionist was welcoming but we were taken aback to be asked immediately for payment for the room!
This was prior to any "niceties". This is the first time we have been so quickly relieved of our dosh!
The room was nice enough, the bed was comfortable and clean.
The bathroom was very cramped, one small bar of soap, sat on the tiniest corner hand basin. and the shower had a dispenser of cheapest shampoo/shower gel. A shabby bleached shower mat completed the disappointment. There was no hair dryer in the room.
Breakfast was ok, buffet style for cereals, coffee, toast etc. Then waitress service for the cooked food. There were no morning rolls (because it was Sunday) and queuing for the toast machine added to our dissatisfaction.
All in all we were disappointed, and while the price was right, I would still expect basic stuff like toiletries and a haidryer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenem72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton, scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a friends birthday. Room was clean , bed comfy, breakfast really good and staff great. Hotel is in a decent location for a night out in Glasgow. Not far from Sauchiehall street and close to the West End. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nicnic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poulton le fylde, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The staff were very polite and very helpful, the room was very well maintained. the beds were comfortable. the housekeepers was very helpful replacing used items. would definitely recommend others to stay and if everything goes according to plan i will b back next year one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The wife and I stayed here at the weekend for the Good Food Show on the Sunday.
We did leave our booking to the last minute so our options were limited from the get go, and treating ourselves was no longer an option as all the 4*+ hotels were full.
We decided to take the thrifty option and the Sandyford was near the top of the searches.
We also forgot to check but the hotel did not have a bar which was a shame as we would have happily used it if it had one.
The room was small but functional; however the matress was a lot softer than our own at home so the night's sleep was not the best. Unfortunately the shower pressure was minimal which made for a long shower, as I had to take time to ensure I had rinsed myself down properly before stepping out to dry myself off.
Breakfast was mediocure but inclusive of the room rate and the cooked aspect seemed to arrive all too quickly once the order had been taken. Maybe if they had called it once the cereal[s] or starter bowls had been cleared then it would have made for a better experience. The waiting staff were friendly and smiling which went a long way to make up for the content.
I would not return; but that is because we plan to book a bit more in advance the next time we're in Glasgow, so that our options are greater.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralphsymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very clean hotel, in fact spotless. Our room was on the lower floor but was a decent size and very quiet, couldn't believe we were in the centre of Glasgow.Bed was comfy. The staff were pleasant. Very handy for the SECC, a short walk away and a bus stop right outside the hotel if needed. The breakfast had a good choice although in my opinion was the cheapest of produce and not the best that I have had but then you get what you pay for. Breakfast time finishes at 8.30 on weekdays which I think is a bit early especially if you are on holiday.Parking is free at the weekend on nearby streets and you can get a permit from the reception for weekdays for a fee. There are no hairdryers in the rooms which is the first thing I look for but are available from the reception. All in all a very good budget hotel, we only paid £95 for 2 nights in a double room

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Good basic accommodation and so handy for the Secc and Hydro - only 10 minutes walk. We had a room on the top floor and although quite small it was clean and tidy. The receptionist was very helpful and told us where the best places to eat and drink and in the area and also gave us a map showing the best route to the Hydro. My husband had breakfast (I am not a breakfast person) and he said it was very good with everything cooked fresh. My only slight gripe is that breakfast is only served until 9.30 at weekends - this is a bit early especially if you've been out at a concert etc - even 10 o'clock would be a bit better. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return as I feel it offers great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoshTosh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
209 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
570 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#56 of 93 in Glasgow
944 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#88 of 93 in Glasgow
1,101 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandyford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandyford Hotel

Property: The Sandyford Hotel
Address: 904 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandyford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Sandyford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandyford Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing