We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sandyford Hotel
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I enjoy staying here, we usually do when we come to Glasgow. It's reasonably priced and the rooms are always impeccably clean. The reception and breakfast room staff are very pleasant. Not the hotel for you if you're not an early riser - even at weekends, breakfast is only served 'til 9 (worth getting up for, though - a decent selection of foods are available). I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    254
    112
    46
    39
See reviews for
77
198
88
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location if attending concerts at the hydro or secc. Just next to Argyle street which has an amazing selection of restaurants and bars. The rooms are very basic and should this be a school report I would probably comment 'could try harder'. We paid £75 for bed and breakfast which was ok due to the location. Would we stay again?? Probably wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and paid £153: Couldn't grumble for that price! A clean & tidy hotel with helpful and friendly staff.
The breakfast is included and you can help yourself to cereal, fruit, yoghurt, juice, toast and croissant. Cooked breakfast is then made to order once you've finished your cereals etc. Plenty too choose from and you definitely won't be left hungry.
Great location: we walked to all of the places we wanted to visit, but if your not up to walking there's a bus stop nearby and you can be in town in about 15 mins.
I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJpinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Just stayed here for the night with my mum to see Gary Barlow at The Hydro, perfect location! 10 mins easy walk (with directions from the very helpful gent receptionist) Basic room, only £55 the night so didnt expect 5 star! But clean, warm and quiet. Staff all very friendly, taxi called an came within minute to take us to station, Would totally recommend for anyone visiting the Hydro. Only reason I didnt give 5 stars was because the room could have done with being a wee bit bigger

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The Sandyford is a great hotel for the price. £65 for 3 of us in a triple room with a fantastic breakfast is good value by anyone's standards. Our room was large & very clean with everything we needed including a good shower. All staff were friendly & welcoming. Breakfast was cooked to order & delicious, better than chain hotels where food stands around at the buffet. Unlimited cereal, fruit, toast, croissants & juice were available.
The only minus points were no lift, the duvet wasn't big enough for the double bed (which was 2 singles zipped together) & the towels had seen better days. These were minor points & didn't spoil our stay & if I visit Glasgow again I would come back to the Sandyford.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarthaFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and a colleague stayed here during a congress. Staff is amazingly friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and comfy, prices are relatively low, and the location is ideal too. I can highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

3 of us stayed here at the weekend to attend Buble concert at the Hydro. Friendly staff, right price, nice triple room, good breakfast and only 10 mins walk from the Hydro. Taxi from Queen Street Station under £6. Ticked all the boxes for us. Will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank speckys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#66 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#91 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandyford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandyford Hotel

Property: The Sandyford Hotel
Address: 904 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandyford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Sandyford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandyford Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing