We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sandyford Hotel
Ranked #62 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok but tired hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed one night in a family room. It was ok for the price but everything looked very tired. The bathroom in particular needed replacing. There is some repainting going on, but the place could do with getting the hoover out! The stairs looked like they hadn't been done for a week and there was a dead cockroach near the top of the stairs covered in dust. Not good. It meant we didn't sleep well, too worried in case something skittered out in the night. I didn't bother with breakfast though my partner and son did, their verdict was ok.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    256
    113
    46
    39
See reviews for
77
202
88
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the Sandyford Hotel on two occasions with a few days in between. We were given a good clean room in the lower part, peace and quiet. A fine breakfast with good service.The hotel is centrally located and staffed with friendly people, so we are looking forward to our next visit. Thank you to everyone at The Sandyford Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank TourDirectorAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Friday 25th April and was very pleased with our stay. The double room was large and clean with tea and coffee in the room. No complaints about the hot water as it was boiling and the breakfast was very good with a large selection to choose from. The chef cooks your main course for you and it is nice and fresh, not sitting under a hot lamp. My only complaint is the noise from the traffic which went on for a long time as our room overlooked the main road. At £58 for the double room including breakfast it was not overpriced. Great location either to walk into the shops or take the bus which is just outside the hotel front door. Yes I would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougal1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here whilst visiting Glasgow,room was large,clean and bright. Breakfast served in the morning was as good as I've had in expensive hotels,plenty choice and served to you by very friendly staff. Great location but the only drawbacks for me were no lifts,curtains that don't meet In the middle and being on sauchiehall street the noise of traffic kept me awake.

Room Tip: Ask if there are rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn-Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longframlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed here for one night with a friend and her children. Their family room was immaculate and well equipped so I expected my single room to be the same. Unfortunately it wasn't. There were signs that some form of what I think was damp having been treated on the wall and window surround but then badly painted over. The desk/dressing table had clearly had a lot of liquid spilled on it at some point and as a result the veneer was peeling away on top there was also what appeared to be a red spray paint mark on the inside leg when I pulled out the chair. I know this was only a forty pound room but their is no excuse for poorly maintained furniture. Also the room I stayed in was at the front left of the building near the bins of a neighboring bar who promptly woke me up at closing time when they threw out their empties. The windows appear to be single glazed.

On the plus side the breakfast was filling, tasty and served by very helpful, pleasant staff. On a weekday morning breakfast service stops at 8:30am which having spent a late evening with James Blunt was a bit of a shock to all of our systems.

The hotel is well located in the centre of Glasgow for shopping etc but it was a long walk to The City Hall despite us being told on booking that it was only a five minute walk it was more like fifteen. There is also no car park. You have to park in the bays on surrounding streets which have a very confusing pricing tariff. Had we not had advice from hotel staff we would have still been standing there with a calculator. This admittedly is Glasgow City Councils problem not the hotels.

Over all not bad for the price paid but as another review has already said it could be better.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a double or twin room if traveling alone. The larger rooms appear to be better mainta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank handbagsandgladrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and were more than happy with the hotel for what we payed.plenty of others have gone into more detail so i will just say that our room was big and clean and the breakfasts were huge with plenty of choice.staff were great and helpful.we would stay here again if we go back to glasgow.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank falldownalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I enjoy staying here, we usually do when we come to Glasgow. It's reasonably priced and the rooms are always impeccably clean. The reception and breakfast room staff are very pleasant. Not the hotel for you if you're not an early riser - even at weekends, breakfast is only served 'til 9 (worth getting up for, though - a decent selection of foods are available). I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 95 in Glasgow
203 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
915 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
775 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#89 of 95 in Glasgow
1,084 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#91 of 95 in Glasgow
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandyford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandyford Hotel

Property: The Sandyford Hotel
Address: 904 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandyford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Sandyford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandyford Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing