We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a noisy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sandyford Hotel
Ranked #62 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Wheelers Hill, Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bit of a noisy room”
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This a more budget like hotel that has had some renovations done and is located on the corner of a busy road. We were given a room right in the corner of the building which ended up being a bit noisy from the traffic, although later in the evening this dies down (no double glazing). The room itself was very spacious although the ensuite was in need of a few minor repairs. The breakfast was very good with a lot of choices including haggis!

The location was a little out of the centre of Glasgow but there are local and hop on and hop off buses that stop almost outside the hotel. There is on street parking with permits available from the hotel with good rates. There was free internet available on two laptops in the foyer for emails which was a bonus. The staff were helpful. Glasgow centre is also walkable. There are shops, restaurants and a landromat close by. We would recommend the Indian restaurant diagonally opposite called Mother India. It is a bit upmarket but the food is modern Indian and very good, be prepared for the large serves!

It must be remembered that this is in the budget range and I think that our experience would have been better if we were in a room away from a busy road.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    257
    116
    46
    39
See reviews for
77
204
88
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I have never stayed in hotel in which I want to leave straight away. If you are walking from the bus station its not the short distance they tell you its a good half an hour walk some up hill and dragging a heavy suitcase that distance is not a good start. Got to reception which was pleasant and went to our room. It was very tatty. The TV did not work,holes in the wall where the head board used to be and a mirror which used to be on the wall propped against the wall.They had a kettle for tea and coffee but no plug socket.The only socket was the one for the TV. Went down to reception to complain and got a constant do not understand what you mean from Michael which is not the help you want when you have been travelling for the whole day. I asked what they could do as I been there 20 mins and wanted to leave but was told I could still be charged and felt bullied into staying. Got given another room. It was alot better from the first but there was another occupants hair and cracked tiles on the bathroom floor and to plug the kettle in I had to move the chest of drawers out the way and then the lead didnt reach so I had to make the drinks on the floor bit of a fire and safety hazzard. Breakfast was nice apart from vinegar on the poached eggs and the orange juice was disgusting and on the first day I didnt ask for haggis but it was served.Some people were standing up to eat breakfast as there were not enough tables and one waiting staff. We were surrounded by tables with dirty plates stacked up. I did sit in reception and over heard another guest who had arrived at 6-00 pm had been given a room that had not been cleaned. I really would't recommend this hotel as I visit glasgow frequently and would not stay here again. A shame really as it could be just my experience that let the place down.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loumarie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

eire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

This hotel is good value for money, but not suitable if you want to be in the thick of things i.e. city centre. There are no lifts in this hotel, (loads of stairs) so it is not great for older travellers, disabled etc. The room was nice, quite modern apart from the bathroom which really does need some updating, although it was very clean. Compliments to cleaning staff. Tea and coffee making facilites available in our room. Not much wardrobe space available, this didnt bother me as we were just there 2 nights. Its about a 20 min stroll into the city centre from here and approx 15 mins to west end. Otherwise a taxi is required. Expect to pay about £4-£5 depending on taxi driver :)
Breakfast was great, generous portions. Reception staff were fine - helpful but not intrusive. There are loads of indian restaurants in this area if you are a fan of this type of cuisine.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boissevain
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2009

All stairs, no lift. Not a place for elderly or handicapped to stay. Day,evening manager was not very friendly. Was not receptive answering questions and giving directions. Morning staff were more pleasant to deal with.

Breakfast needs an exhaust system and a little friendliness would be great. To open at 6:30 am and no staff to be found when arriving at 7:00 am. Had to help ourselves. No nearby sit down eating places and streets dark at night. Uncomfortable walking after dark. Seemed to be away from the centre of the city. Good bus connections and hop on-off stops closse by.

Internet use was available which a nice feature but no paper in printer.

Room cleaniness was questionable. Things under the bed and bathroom was not great. Needs a good overhaul.

Had to turn in your key everytime you left the premises.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timbucktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

stayed here for 2 nights to attend a friends wedding out at Loch Lomond. For £30 each a night this city hotel offers fantastic value and everything you need!!

Daniel on reception was friendly professional and very helpful and sorted out all our taxi requirements saving us a fortune on what we had been quoted from other companies (from £55 reduced to £27 for taxi all the way to Loch Lomond!) That's with Network Cars who were great!

Rooms have flat screen TV's, drinks facilities and wireless free internet throughout the building.

The breakfast is great and you are encouraged to ask for seconds, which is great when hungover.

If you like indian food you are spoilt for choice in this part of town and there is a 24 hours shop 1 min walk away which came in useful in gthe early hours

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PocketRocket73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2009

was staying 1 night in glasgow to visit the passport office, didnt reach the hotel until 8pm. managed to park very close by and cheked in, was told i was out in the annex which made me think it was going tobe terrible. turned out that it was a renovated flat attached to the hotel that had about 4 rooms. i paid £30 for 2 people b&b which i think was excellent value for money considering i would have paid at least half of that for breakfast at a supermarket or cafe. breakfast was also very good. very basic but very good value for money, would use again for a short visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ironross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Booked double room for hubby and me, plus single for our daughter via late rooms.com.
Excellent location, easy access for buses, taxi to central Glasgow a little over £4, which was really reasonable.
Staf are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast HUGE.
Both rooms comfortable, bed was marvellous, best nights sleep I have had in ages.
Only down side was the heat. Although we had very wet weather, it was not cold outside, however the hotel was over hot. This was managed by leaving a window open at night.
This was our second trip to Glasgow and we would all stay here again as it was far better than the "chain" hotel we stayed in last time.
Geta selection of bars/restaurants in the immed area if you do not feel like travelling to the city, which by the way takes only 20 minutes to walk to.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oldbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#55 of 95 in Glasgow
208 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#54 of 95 in Glasgow
928 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
790 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#90 of 95 in Glasgow
1,094 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#91 of 95 in Glasgow
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandyford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandyford Hotel

Property: The Sandyford Hotel
Address: 904 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandyford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Sandyford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandyford Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing