We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Good Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sandyford Hotel
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Ipswich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Good Value Hotel”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I have stayed at this hotel twice. Once overnight with a friend and then again last year with my husband on a longer visit to Glasgow. It is reasonably priced, the rooms are clean and well furnished and you definately get value for money at breakfast. Just a 20 minute walk to the city sentre and they can also provide vouchers for nearby on street parking at a price I doubt you would be able to beat.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff are always friendly and have given both directions and advise on public transport. There is also a large choice of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    253
    110
    46
    37
See reviews for
76
195
86
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Having read a couple of the earlier reviews regarding the Sandyford we were both a little nervous. However, we soon discovered that our concerns were unnecessary. The staff were extremely helpful. Daniel and Colin on reception could not have done more to help. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and adequate for our needs. They are not 5* but perfectly fine. The reception area is very bright and comfortable. The hotel provides free Internet service at reception along with free coffee and fruit. The breakfast is excellent! A great Scottish cooked breakfast with as much muesli, cereals and toast as you can eat.
We have inquired on behalf of a close family friend to stay there for a month whilst they relocate to Glasgow. We would not hesitate to recommend or use the hotel again.

Glen & Denise, Cambridge

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This hotel actually made me cry! The staff was not very friendly nor helpful, the room was dirty and the bathroom was worse. The walls are paper thin and I didn't get a single minute sleep because of our noisy next door neighbours. I called reception to complain and they did NOTHING. Finally at 6 in the morning we checked out and told the new reception person that our stay was terrible and they only told us "That's too bad. You should come back next time, it'll be better." I have to admit, I disliked Glasgow because of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Dundee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I have stayed at this hotel a few times when through in Glasgow for gigs but my friend stayed in the annex with her boyfriend and a month later, our local police were at her door saying she had stole a plasma from her room !!!, considering she was going home on a train and her boyfriend on a plane I think this would be very unlikely, These things are mounted to the wall so you would have to take your own tools and then of course remember if your travelling to take a big bag haha. Very shocking for my friend whose house was searched. I suspect an insurance job.. I liked the hotel until that happened.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGardner1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secret
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We really enjoyed our stay, we werent in the main building but in the annex, which we didnt expect and werent told about, but still have no complaints. the room was very tastefully decorated, simple but very modern and had everything you needed. the staff were also very friendly and helpful.
We didnt expect much from Sandyford as of its very cheap price,but were very happy with our stay and really enjoyed the relaxed and quiet atmosphere.
The breakfast was also very enjoyable tooo.
The only complaint we have is that the room wasn't cleaned very well, new towels were supplied everyday but a possible change of bedding would have been nice to as we stayed for 3 nights, but apart from that it was lovely!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

I had a fantastic stay at this hotel, the reception staff were always pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious. The room and the bathroom were in immaculate condition and had daily housekeeping. The breakfast was sumptious with a choice of items, the location was good. I would definitely rebook if another chance arose.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magic_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Have to say a dissapointing hotel but only due to lack of fairly minor maintainace and cleaners not having the room fresh.. On arrival the room had an unpleasent smell and someone had been recently smoking in the room , so we had to open the windows despite it being pretty cold outside. The sink in the tiny bathroom/shower room still had water and some hair in it. There was no bath, the small shower had numerous chipped or cracked tiles and a lot of mould on the shower base. The uht milk was never replaced during our stay or the teabags. Positives were the reception area was nice, staff were friendly and the brekfast was excellent. The breakfast aspect was very well organised and plentiful. Just a team let down by whoever is responsible for cleanliness and maintainance. A pity.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#54 of 96 in Glasgow
193 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
737 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
883 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
402 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandyford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandyford Hotel

Property: The Sandyford Hotel
Address: 904 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandyford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Sandyford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandyford Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing