We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Scottish Deal”
Review of McLays Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
McLays Guest House
Ranked #77 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Best Thing about the Guest House is
Scottish Breakfast
Good For Glasgow caledonian University students, Glasgow School of Art Students
Night Life for which Glasgow is famous for
The room was warm, spacios and comfortable
Draw Backs
Wifi is not aval. in rooms its in dining room with very bad Speed (((
Few of the staff are rude ((((

MOST IMPORTANT ITS VALUE FOR THE MONEY

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRASHUTOSHCHATURVEDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed in the house for three nights in private room with shared bathroom. The room was small, but spotlessly clean and was cleand every day. Staff was kind, helped me find my way in the city. The breakfast was tasty, and I was served in a few minutes, so I didn't have to wait much. It's also very good, that the breakfast time is long (from 7 AM till 9 AM), so I didn't have to wake up early, but when I did, I could eat rightaway.

The hostel is situated in the central part of Glasgow, so basically everything was in walking distance. Overall I was impressed, and I'm going to stay there the next time I'll need a bed in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 32, altough it was small, it was perfect with a large screen and basic facilities (si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vajk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Nice place to stay. Not far from the city centre and bus station. The room was warm, spacios and comfortable. Nice and friendly staff. Tasty breakfast)) We also liked the terrace and No wifi in the rooms though((

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We went for a city-escape trip with my girlfriend to Glasgow and everything was wonderful! The breakfast was amazingly good and big, the room was nice and clean and everything else was just awful. I happened to travel and stay in many hostels-cheap hotels this year, but this was the best deal ever!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griaumedis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The receptionist wasn't very warm or welcoming. I had a very basic room for one night. There was nothing overly impressive about my stay but nothing horrible. Wi-fi in the rooms would have been nice instead of having to go to the common area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris54354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This must rate as one of the worst guest houses in Glasgow if not Scotland or the United Kingdom.
Take note of the warnings over the hike up hill to the place, and the steps in front of the hotel, which are in need of repair, an accident waiting to happen.
The welcome was okay, they demand money upfront which is okay but then you find out why.
My room was disgusting, needing complete renovation, the only plus point was the TV (do not forget to collect the remote from reception). The bed was very old, the linen also.
The bathroom had a bath no shower, if you want a shower it was a hike upstairs, they both smelt horrid and very damp.
Breakfast was only until 9 even on a Sunday, not worth getting up for, given what was provided.
Wi-Fi did not work in the room and was very slow in the lounge.
The place needs upgrading into the 21st century, presently stuck in the 1970’s
Please avoid.

Room Tip: avoid please
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

From the surly staff to a room that would violate a prisoner's human rights, this was a miserable experience. Topped off by the curtain rail falling out of a rotten wall, and when I asked if it could be fixed, I was asked if I really needed to shut the curtains. My review is for a stay in March 2012.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gari42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
431 reviews
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#79 of 93 in Glasgow
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#72 of 93 in Glasgow
271 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
317 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 93 in Glasgow
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLays Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLays Guest House

Address: 260 - 276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £35 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — McLays Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McLays’ offers great value budget accommodation in the heart of the city centre. We are superbly located for visiting Glasgow’s many museums and art galleries and just minutes away from Glasgow’s finest shopping streets Sauchiehall Street and Buchanan Street where in addition you shall find an excellent selection of restaurants, cafes, bars, cinemas & nightclubs. All the main transport points Glasgow Central Station, Queen Street Station and Buchanan Bus Station are easily accessible. We are about 15/20 minutes walk from all or 5 minutes by taxi. Please note the walk from all these stations is all uphill in particular from Central and Queen Street Stations, if you have heavy baggage or have walking difficulties a taxi is strongly recommended. Room facilities include Flat-screen TV, Freeview Channels, Direct-Dial Telephone, Adjustable Heating, Electric Kettle, Tea/Coffee Maker, Wardrobe/Closet, Towels for free, Hospitality Tray & Wake-Up Service. An Iron, ironing board & hairdryer are available on request at the reception. Full Scottish breakfast is included in the room rate. The rooms are available from 2.00pm onwards and the check-out time is 11am. If you arrive before 2.00pm you can leave your baggage with us. McLays has 4 dining rooms offering a choice of breakfast menu complimentary to all guests. We serve breakfast daily from 7am to 9am except Saturday & Sunday where breakfast is served 7am to 10am. We do not have a car park and parking is on the street only and is restricted due to our very central location. Glasgow City Council has a voucher scheme in operation for parking and we can supply the vouchers on their behalf for a nominal cost to enable parking. The cost from 4pm to 8am the next day is £2.00. The cost from 8am to 2pm is £2.00. The cost from 8am to 4pm is £4.00. There is also a 24 hour multi-storey car park 2 minutes drive away from the guest house. Free high-speed uncontended Wi-Fi is available throughout all areas of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your McLays Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclays Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Mclays Hotel Glasgow
McLays Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing