We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money personified!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of McLays Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
McLays Guest House
Ranked #78 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money personified!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I must say this is one of the best value for money hotels I have ever had the pleasure of visiting!

Initially I thought I had ‘become a cropper’ upon observing the close proximity of the hotel to a local nightclub, but to be fair despite being at the front of the building I slept like a log with not a sound from the said club.

I stayed in a 3 or 4 people room complete with en suite (which was convenient but a wee bit dated costing Mclays a star). With the large amount of space, massive flat screen television, top floor location and an enormous window with a breathtaking city centre view of Glasgow, my friends were intent on describing the room as a “penthouse suite” – the value for money was simply staggering. The location was fantastic near to a street with plenty of restaurants, bar and clubs whilst being a short walk from the main shops etc. Also the breakfast was anything but a culinary delight but for the price (free!) it was absolutely fantastic.

All in all, I will definitely be staying at Mclays again upon my next visit to Glasgow.

PS parking is available on the surrounding streets but make sure you buy a £2 pass from Mclays!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Timswfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    222
    114
    55
    104
See reviews for
66
118
117
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Damp, smelly carpet in a room where 3 beds were shoved in together so that you could hardly squeeze between them. We had to prop the window open and leave the heating on all night because of the smell. Given room with a double bed, despite assurances that they would all be singles. Bathroom was clean, but there is no excuse for a shower curtain that is 50% filthy black with mould. Hugely overpriced for what you get. There are hostels that charge half the price in central Glasgow that are of a comparable quality. The cooked breakfast was good and arrived quickly and is the only reason I give this place any stars at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I arrived late in the afternoon and soon got settled I, checked at the front desk for a location to eat before going to a concert and they gave us a recommendation for a restaurant close to the concert venue. During the night the night discovered we had a leak in the ceiling in the bathroom when I advised them they had someone on it straight away and told us if w wanted to move rooms they could help us. We decided to stay in the room as it was a fair size and was on the back of the property and was very quiet. When we came back t lunch time the maintenance man came and advised us what had happened and it was the guest upstairs who had flooded their bathroom and everything was now fixed and again asked us if we wanted to move. The breakfast was a full Scottish breakfast everyday however the waitress was very accommodating and friendly if you wanted to change what was offered. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great as it is only one street away from the main shopping and theatre area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levis, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Fantastic place. Beautiful old building (a little worn, but still beautiful). Full English breakfast every day. Helpful staff. The staff is excellent at suggesting places to visit or eat. I highly recommend this place. Leaving luggage before/after checkout is fine, but not the most secure (relatively...unless they are cleaning the dining room). No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimie320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my friends had a perfect night over there. The only that we didn't liked was the day recepcionist, she was really arrogant, which made us uncomfortable at the beginning of our stay. The location is close to a street with a lot of nightclubs and restaurants

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BiaDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We booked this for a one-night stay as we were passing through Glasgow on our way north. It was fine - fairly clean and comfortable. But it had some draw-backs. We were travelling with a lot of luggage, and we had to drag it up and down the many steep steps at the front ourselves. There is a nightclub opposite which was extremely loud all night long, although I got to sleep eventually over the thudding. The place is pretty run-down although the actual rooms we had were ok and fairly clean. The staff were friendly and helpful, and steered us to the most fabulous local curry-house for our dinner. The breakfast at McLays the next morning was a real let-down though - one of the worst fry-ups I've ever had, unfortunately. Still, what can you expect for such a cheap B&B. And luckily there is plenty of great food elsewhere in Scotland!

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms at the front if you can - the noisy nightclub opposite is a problem and you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaR504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Good, clean, comfortable! Long established Glasgow hotel in west central location. Breakfast is included. The room I had was en-suite with large screen television and cleaned daily. Buses and trains nearby, making it easy to move around the city. I would like stay at this hotel on any future visits to the city. Recommended!

Room Tip: En-suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKrr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#77 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#54 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
City Centre
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#81 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLays Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLays Guest House

Property: McLays Guest House
Address: 260 - 276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — McLays Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McLays’ offers great value budget accommodation in the heart of the city centre. We are superbly located for visiting Glasgow’s many museums and art galleries and just minutes away from Glasgow’s finest shopping streets Sauchiehall Street and Buchanan Street where in addition you shall find an excellent selection of restaurants, cafes, bars, cinemas & nightclubs. All the main transport points Glasgow Central Station, Queen Street Station and Buchanan Bus Station are easily accessible. We are about 15/20 minutes walk from all or 5 minutes by taxi. Please note the walk from all these stations is all uphill in particular from Central and Queen Street Stations, if you have heavy baggage or have walking difficulties a taxi is strongly recommended. Room facilities include Flat-screen TV, Freeview Channels, Direct-Dial Telephone, Adjustable Heating, Electric Kettle, Tea/Coffee Maker, Wardrobe/Closet, Towels for free, Hospitality Tray & Wake-Up Service. An Iron, ironing board & hairdryer are available on request at the reception. Full Scottish breakfast is included in the room rate. The rooms are available from 2.00pm onwards and the check-out time is 11am. If you arrive before 2.00pm you can leave your baggage with us. McLays has 4 dining rooms offering a choice of breakfast menu complimentary to all guests. We serve breakfast daily from 7am to 9am except Saturday & Sunday where breakfast is served 7am to 10am. We do not have a car park and parking is on the street only and is restricted due to our very central location. Glasgow City Council has a voucher scheme in operation for parking and we can supply the vouchers on their behalf for a nominal cost to enable parking. The cost from 4pm to 8am the next day is £2.00. The cost from 8am to 2pm is £2.00. The cost from 8am to 4pm is £4.00. There is also a 24 hour multi-storey car park 2 minutes drive away from the guest house. Free high-speed uncontended Wi-Fi is available throughout all areas of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your McLays Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclays Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Mclays Hotel Glasgow
McLays Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing