We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McLays Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Newton Hotel(Glasgow)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow(Glasgow)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
108
246
136
64
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
246
136
64
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauchiehall streetcity centresingle roomquiet streetyogurtbreakfast was excellentguesthousescotland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 673 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Very clean and comfortable beds. Very friendly and helpful local staff. No rowdy guests on a wild and wet Saturday night in Glasgow. Great nigh's sleep and fresh cooked breakfast with plenty of warm toast. Represents very good value for money. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms 86 and 87 make a suite for a family.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Had been told by a friend that this was basic, but at the money I paid (£35 a night) I certainly would not complain. Staff were friendly, breakfast was substantial and room was very clean. However, corridors are looking very down at heel and there was a noise coming from outside the building which I could not identify which severely impacted on my sleep. Very handily situated for Sauchiehall Street in particular, I will certainly use this hotel again on my next visit here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the side street.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totallyuntamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

would be a decent hotel at 30-40pound a night but for 100 a night its way over priced, room was clean but cold with heating on and bathroom was hidden under some stairs and you needed to be under 4ft to shower if your over 5ftyour either hunching down just get in bathroom or crawiling too get in. ive never had to have a shower on my knees to wash my hair before, almost felt like camping, shower rail was also held on by a piece of string and shower curtain was made for a adult shower, not a midget one so water never drained out of bath and curtain was covered in mildew/mould. breakfast was decent but greasy would be no good for anyone living a healthy lifestyle. would class it more of a hostel than hotel. it prices reflected conditions it wouldnt feel as much of a rip off. if available pick another hotel

1  Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Room was basic but it was what we expected of a budget b and b. Most staff were friendly and helpful. We had a problem getting the key to our room on coming back late at night. The night porter was not going to let us in - he had been looking at the wrong date! However, on sending complaint to b and b via email on our return we were very impressed with the speed of reply to our email and also the way it was handled. Top marks for this. Was not en suite but toilet was spotless. Good breakfast for the money. Very handy for city shopping . Would probably go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel and rooms are a basic but clean. The staff are excellent - very friendly and helpful. This is a very convenient location for getting into Glasgow centre. On street parking vouchers are available from the hotel at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews