We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and good for the price”
Review of McLays Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
McLays Guest House
Ranked #76 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The location is fab, only a mile from town and the street is lovely, not at all seedy! The staff were incredible, so friendly and nice! Breakfast I found great on Sunday, hot food is made to order and quick! We had such a nice big room, thought the west end is rather lively at night and single glazing does not block out the noise unfortunately. On the first day the bathrooms were lovely, however these are shared so on the second unfortunately it wasn't quick as nice! Overall you get what you pay for and I felt well looked after!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
There are newer reviews for McLays Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

interesting to read reviews that the street is run down and seedy, when Renfrew St is home to the Glasgow School of Art, some of the buildings by Charles Rennie Mackintosh, a primary school and numerous beautiful old houses. My room was clean, the bathroom was clean, and the location was convenient to the train station (tip!it's easier to walk along Sauchiehall St and then up Garnet St to Renfrew St rather than all the way along Renfrew St if you are pulling a suitcase!) Reception desk was attended and service was good. Breakfast on Sunday was a bit of a shambles. The dining room was full and there seemed to be not much order to what was happening. On Monday was very different and food was quick and hot. Clearly the place is used at the weekend by locals looking for a cheap place to stay. If you are going to be in a hurry on Sunday morning perhaps skip breakfast or get in early. Having previously stayed further out I found this location excellent. The only drawback is no wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAT59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Place looks quite run-down from the outside. Reception area is small but fit for purpose. As you go through the building it feels cold and a bit gloomy. The room itself was again small but perfectly good for spending the night. The bathroom wasn't very attractive inside and looks like it's been installed in a rush however the shower was nice and powerful. Bed really comfortable and we slept really well. The next morning we went into the dining room and were very quickly offered hot drinks and a cooked breakfast by the very nice girl working that morning. Breakfast itself came out quickly and was surprisingly tasty.
Overall, not bad for a night and a decent price but don't know if I'd like to stay any longer.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked here last minute. We usually find that budget accommodation is more than adequate and made our booking based on previous reviews of the place. As it was getting on average 4 out of 5 on trip advisor reviews, we decided to book it.

On arrival, the street the hotel is on is really run down and seedy looking. The entrance to the hotel is grotty with broken tiles and the seating area shown on the picture is all broken and there is a huge hole where possibly gas works are currently being carried out.

The entrance/reception area is what I would describe as grubby. I looked behind the counter and saw the light switches with some sort of tape on them, which was quite frankly filthy. The carpets were grubby and sticky. We were shown to our room on the third floor. There is a lift, but I don't think it is fit for purpose and could barely hold two people. I would question the safety aspect as well.

The reviews stated to see beyond the reception area as the rooms were clean. I have to disagree with this. The rooms were grubby and stale. The bathrooms were dank and as we passed the kitchen, well the cleanliness left a lot to be desired.

We decided under no circumstances could be stay there and checked out. We were given a refund, so no problems there and booked in to another hotel around the corner.

Room Tip: If you find a good room - good luck
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeeGeesFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

stayed here for a night in family room sleeping 5
it was very spacious and comfy beds
breakfast was good and freshly cooked
friendly staff and room was clean no Wi-Fi in rooms
would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had booked a four bedroom private dorm here when touring with friends. Decent, clean rooms. location is very good, just a 15 min walk from the city center and the main bus stand. No wi-fi available in the room though. Wi-fi is only available in the dining area near the reception.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have stayed at the Mclay guest house now on a few occassions and found it to be excellant value for money.. very comfortable with a very friendly and welcoming staff... The rooms are well presented and very clean...The staff will go out of their way to help you no matter the problem...

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and well presented... and lend themselves to a comfortable nights sleep
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#78 of 93 in Glasgow
569 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#54 of 93 in Glasgow
210 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLays Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLays Guest House

Address: 260 - 276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £39 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — McLays Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McLays’ offers great value budget accommodation in the heart of the city centre. We are superbly located for visiting Glasgow’s many museums and art galleries and just minutes away from Glasgow’s finest shopping streets Sauchiehall Street and Buchanan Street where in addition you shall find an excellent selection of restaurants, cafes, bars, cinemas & nightclubs. All the main transport points Glasgow Central Station, Queen Street Station and Buchanan Bus Station are easily accessible. We are about 15/20 minutes walk from all or 5 minutes by taxi. Please note the walk from all these stations is all uphill in particular from Central and Queen Street Stations, if you have heavy baggage or have walking difficulties a taxi is strongly recommended. Room facilities include Flat-screen TV, Freeview Channels, Direct-Dial Telephone, Adjustable Heating, Electric Kettle, Tea/Coffee Maker, Wardrobe/Closet, Towels for free, Hospitality Tray & Wake-Up Service. An Iron, ironing board & hairdryer are available on request at the reception. Full Scottish breakfast is included in the room rate. The rooms are available from 2.00pm onwards and the check-out time is 11am. If you arrive before 2.00pm you can leave your baggage with us. McLays has 4 dining rooms offering a choice of breakfast menu complimentary to all guests. We serve breakfast daily from 7am to 9am except Saturday & Sunday where breakfast is served 7am to 10am. We do not have a car park and parking is on the street only and is restricted due to our very central location. Glasgow City Council has a voucher scheme in operation for parking and we can supply the vouchers on their behalf for a nominal cost to enable parking. The cost from 4pm to 8am the next day is £2.00. The cost from 8am to 2pm is £2.00. The cost from 8am to 4pm is £4.00. There is also a 24 hour multi-storey car park 2 minutes drive away from the guest house. Free high-speed uncontended Wi-Fi is available throughout all areas of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your McLays Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclays Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Mclays Hotel Glasgow
McLays Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing