We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value Great Welcome”
Review of McLays Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
McLays Guest House
Ranked #77 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good value Great Welcome”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It was an inexpensive stay in a convenient location - city centre - and the staff were thoughtful and friendly

Very fast delivery of a pleasant fresh cooked breakfast

This is an ideal stop in a great location

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    225
    114
    55
    104
See reviews for
67
120
120
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed one night at McLay's and would book there again. We were in the new, freshly painted section. We were warmly greeted by the young woman at the front counter, and she stored our luggage for us because we arrived before 2 pm and we wanted to go explore Glasgow. I enjoyed sitting on the balcony with the lovely flowers. The breakfast was bountiful and the women who served us were pleasant and helpful. We were quite satisfied with our bedroom and shower facilities. We did leave the window open while we slept, although we wondered briefly about security.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 818Kathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wormit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked this at the last minute as we were going to Glasgow for theCommonwealth Games Opening party. Most hotels were way too expensive and/or fully booked. This one was only slightly above our usual budget, and so we took a chance.
The location is quite good: near Charing Cross, the Glasgow School of Art, and Sauchiehall Street shops, etc. perfectly safe even at night. Walking distance to city centre, though a bit of a hike back (uphill)! Taxi back from centre was only £5.
The place is old, a bit run down in parts, but they are obviously trying to keep it up. The entrance was fine, with furniture outside on a small patio in the sunshine. Check in is not till 2 pm. We arrived at 1.45 and could not get into our room early. The girl at reception was quite pleasant, but assertive on this point, and said we could wait in the lounge, which was ok.
Our part of the hotel had been painted recently and was quite fresh. The carpets, however looked grubby.
The room (81) was spacious with a king size bed, clean and comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was also clean, and fresh white towels, soap, shampoo and shower gel were supplied. The over -bath shower worked well. I liked the fact there was a screen not a curtain. Tea and coffee (good quality) were supplied, and there was a flat screen Tv. My only slight concern was the fact that the window was at ground level at the back of the hotel. I locked the window, but then suffered the stifling heat! There was no noise, so we slept well.
Breakfast was fine: cereals, yoghurt, fruit, toast and a cooked Scottish breakfast. Service was quick. Best of all, the coffee was EXCELLENT! (So many places cut corners with this, it annoys me.).
All in all, our stay was fine. I'm not sure how much rooms usually are, but I imagine it would be budget, rather than mid priced. As such, i would reccommend it, though we would prefer somewhere like Holiday Inn Express if it was available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

If it was possible I would give minus 5. This review is long, so I apologise but you all need to read it. The bedrooms were grotty and damp and the breakfast was average. You may be enticed by this guest houses central location and cheap prices but you may leave with less than what you came with. I am a reasonably travelled person, who likes good old baragin accommodation but not when it's at the expense of personal belongings. My family and I stayed here and after realising an expensive jacket was left contacted the guest House and it was confirmed the jacket was there. As we live over 2 hours away we could not collect straight away but we were told the jacket would be kept. Low and behold the jacket is now missing. After being fobbed off for 4 weeks about different staff members being on holiday and the question about a Lost and found log being quite blatantly ignores, were told by the at 1st seemingly lovely elder receptionist ( the manager) any belongings not claimed within 6 weeks "are chucked in the bin" those were the actual words. If it's not bad enough they don't seem to care, they chuck then I'm the bin. At least the should have the courtesy to donate belongings that are claimed to charity. Quite clearly they are in this business for a quick buck and some on too for your personal belongings.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fwen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

In the centre of Glasgow, nice staff, good breakfast. Is not a new hotel but it is clean... so... for less than 40 £ for single room ...is very good... Maybe not ideal for honey moon...but good for travellers with a low budget

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italocaramia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I booked this place for my father and uncle who are aged 55-65 and seeking budget accommodation in Glasgow. They said it was located in a good location and staff treated them well, especially given my father had a fall and needed to be taken to hospital - they were very helpful and fussed over him upon his return. Recommended this for a cheap place to stay when visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was a great place to stay on our trip to Glasgow. Walking distance to the bus and train stations. Excellent hot breakfast and they accommodated a vegan diet. Excellent location to many things you will want to visit in Glasgow and the staff are very helpful in suggesting activities and ways to get there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#78 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#74 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
City Centre
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#83 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLays Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLays Guest House

Property: McLays Guest House
Address: 260 - 276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — McLays Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McLays’ offers great value budget accommodation in the heart of the city centre. We are superbly located for visiting Glasgow’s many museums and art galleries and just minutes away from Glasgow’s finest shopping streets Sauchiehall Street and Buchanan Street where in addition you shall find an excellent selection of restaurants, cafes, bars, cinemas & nightclubs. All the main transport points Glasgow Central Station, Queen Street Station and Buchanan Bus Station are easily accessible. We are about 15/20 minutes walk from all or 5 minutes by taxi. Please note the walk from all these stations is all uphill in particular from Central and Queen Street Stations, if you have heavy baggage or have walking difficulties a taxi is strongly recommended. Room facilities include Flat-screen TV, Freeview Channels, Direct-Dial Telephone, Adjustable Heating, Electric Kettle, Tea/Coffee Maker, Wardrobe/Closet, Towels for free, Hospitality Tray & Wake-Up Service. An Iron, ironing board & hairdryer are available on request at the reception. Full Scottish breakfast is included in the room rate. The rooms are available from 2.00pm onwards and the check-out time is 11am. If you arrive before 2.00pm you can leave your baggage with us. McLays has 4 dining rooms offering a choice of breakfast menu complimentary to all guests. We serve breakfast daily from 7am to 9am except Saturday & Sunday where breakfast is served 7am to 10am. We do not have a car park and parking is on the street only and is restricted due to our very central location. Glasgow City Council has a voucher scheme in operation for parking and we can supply the vouchers on their behalf for a nominal cost to enable parking. The cost from 4pm to 8am the next day is £2.00. The cost from 8am to 2pm is £2.00. The cost from 8am to 4pm is £4.00. There is also a 24 hour multi-storey car park 2 minutes drive away from the guest house. Free high-speed uncontended Wi-Fi is available throughout all areas of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your McLays Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclays Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Mclays Hotel Glasgow
McLays Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing