We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience.”
Review of Number 10 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Number 10 Hotel
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My husband and I were married at the hotel in May 2011. The service was perfection from the moment we booked.

Angela, the wedding coordinator was on hand with endless advice and unwavering patience. The staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. Our day went so smoothly and was beautiful. Angela and her team worked so hard to make sure everything was just right. I really can't praise Number 10 Hotel enough!!! I would highly advise anyone to have a wedding or any function here. Thanks guys!!! xxxx

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GillMcNicoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
There are newer reviews for Number 10 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

We held our wedding at No 10 on 9th April 2011, from the day we went to view the venue to the day after our wedding we received a first class service from Angela, William and the team. The venue itself is gorgeous with its traditional period features. On viewing the venue we got a real feel from Angela that we would be looked after, so much so we didnt even consider viewing anywhere else.

We had an intimate ceremony at the hotel for around 20 guests which was completely seamless. We got married in the bay window underneath a gorgeous period chandelier, after the ceremony we were lucky enough to enjoy champagne with our guests in the gazebo due to some great weather. We spent most of the day enjoying the sunshine in the hotel gardens which were great for our photos as were the sweeping staircases and art deco features inside the hotel. Angela planned and managed the whole day which meant we didnt have to think about anything and could completely relax and enjoy ourselves. The food was amazing, all our guests enjoyed the meal and we received loads of great feedback after the day itself. We held an evening reception for over 100 people which was one hell of a party, the atmosphere was great, the buffet delicious and the dance floor was full the whole night. All of our guests commented on what a great venue it was with some planning a return for some of the upcoming hospitality events the hotel hosts. Angela was there right up until the last few hours and made sure we were both happy with how everything had gone and only left when she was comfortable that we were having a great time and the night was well underway!

Overall our experience was nothing but positive, Angela couldnt have done more for us at any stage and was always one step ahead on the day meaning we didnt have to think about anything! Our guests had a fantastic time and we had a large group stay over which meant we could all enjoy breakfast together in the morning.

Our day was more than we could have hoped for and was all down to a fantastic venue, fantastic staff and fantastic food! I really cant rate No 10 and the staff highly enough, if you are considering holding your wedding here then you can be assured that you will have a great day and will not be disappointed. Angela and the hotel itself are both hidden gems! Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Request a room in the Townhouse
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pollyjean35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Or how a 5 star boutique hotel undervalues itself. Having stayed in several good 'uns around Europe, Number 10 compares very favorably. It ticks most of the boxes in terms of location (quiet yet close-to-the-centre); furnishings (tasteful/elegant) and service (friendly and efficient) and yet doesn't register on the radar of our Glaswegian pals - they live on the doorstep and yet have never heard of it!
We certainly give it the thumbs-up in terms of recommendation to friends and fellow travellers alike. Good value and quality is rare - not here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ShuggieShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda71842003, Guest Relations Manager at Number 10 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

What a wonderful compliment, Thank you so much, our hotel is spectacular and has a lovley selection of tastefuly decorated rooms, Yes! you are right regarding local awareness, comments taken on board and we do neddd to get our name out there locally, we hope we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We had our sons christening on 10th April 2011 at number 10 hotel. The day we booked it the events coordinator, Angela said she would take care of everything and set up the room for us and if there was anything she could do to make things easy for myself then she would, and thats exactly what she did.
On the Saturday night my husband dropped off the balloons and cake etc to the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel on the Sunday the room was all set up as promised and the staff could not have been more helpful! The food was fantastic and our family and friends commented on what a great day they were having. The hotel and its grounds are really lovely and very well kept. When organising something like this you just want everyone to enjoy themselves and to be honest i didn't really expect to be able to relax but thats exactly what myself and my husband were able to do as the day went so smoothly, thanks to all the friendly and helpful staff!
Thanks again to Angela and all the staff for a great day! Joe, Leigh Anne & baby Jay

I have since been back for a coffee with my mum and sat in the gardens and the service and food did not disappoint!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LACOYLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

My husband and I got married at Number 10 in December and the service we received from Angela and the rest of the staff was excellent. We had a wonderful day and night at the hotel and the food was fantastic. It was a great start to our married life together. Angela made sure that everything went smoothly and was so friendly and helpful both in the run up to the wedding and on the day itself. The venue is lovely and all our guests commented on the wonderful features and huge guest rooms. For anyone looking to book their wedding, we would certainly recommend number 10.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Barsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda71842003, Guest Relations Manager at Number 10 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2011

Thank you for your compliments, Really pleased you shared your special day with us , we are very proud of our wonderful product and pride ourselves on friendly and proffessional staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I turned down a free stay in one of the other five star hotels in Glasgow to 'treat myself' and my husband with two nights here.

The hotel's good points are that the furnishings are stunning. The large room sizes and fresh decor really add to the character. It's location is also gorgeous.

Unfortunately for me and my new husband the service from some of the staff is what let it down.

After an amazing wedding day we check into Number 10 Glasgow in a great mood.

The staff on duty were happy to bring us some water and glasses to the room.
When I took a gulp of my water a piece of already chewed chewing gum went into my mouth.

My husband called down to reception to tell them what happened and spoke to the manager. Who told him that if he wanted it to be replaced then he would need to bring it over himself as they were very busy with a wedding party ' that had actually had their day here'. No apology was offered.

The next day we told the girl on reception, who kindly changed our room to the honeymoon suite (we were already in the other suite) but after doing so commented, 'so, there; now you've got something for it'. This made us feel that we had no right to complain, and that we were out of order in doing so.

I was sorry that I had paid for two nights.

The following morning we went to breakfast (half an hour before it was due to shut) to be told by the same manager that he'd decided to close breakfast early that day. When we said that it was unfair that we weren't told he replied 'well it's free when you pay for a night's stay, so you haven't really lost anything' He then offered us 'tea and toast, if (we) didn't mind eating whilst they prepared the room for another party that afternoon'

I am so dissapointed that this is where I booked to spend my wedding night. I can never have another one.

I did not want a lot of 'freebies' in return for putting already chewed chewing gum into my drinking glass - I would've settle for a sincere apology. Instead I was made to feel that I had over reacted and that I was not important enough to offer good service to. That my wedding was second best to the other couple's wedding because we had it elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sancerre-5810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda71842003, Manager at Number 10 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Thank you for your feedback, and the compliments regarding our venue.

I was dismayed to read your review, however I am surprised that your experience was 10 months ago, had this been brought to our attention sooner then I am sure we would have been able to rectify your concerns and perhaps the bad memory would have not lingered so long.

It is important to us that we shed a positive light on the company from both existing and future customers and the public at large.

We are committed to you, our valued customers, and have taken immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us. I am positive that this was a “one off” experience and not indicative to the standard of service that we offer.


Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

My daughter had her complete wedding at No 10 and it was the most perfect experience. From booking to completion, we were treated with wonderful customer care. The staff are totally committed to make your function run beautifully. The wedding set up for the ceremony/dinner and evening reception was wonderful. The room was beautifully set up and the food was amazing. We were fortunate enough to have the champagne reception outside in the Gazebo as the weather was perfect. The wedding co-ordinator Angela was outstanding and seamlessly attended to every detail without being obtrusive, she made the day very special. All the other staff were equally attentive and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. A lot of the staff have worked in this hotel for a long time and they are very happy in their employment, it says a lot these days! Most of the hotel rooms were occupied by family and guests and we had a lovely family breakfast in the morning. All the people who stayed over night enjoyed the very large rooms and comfort provided. To conclude, if you want to have a function where you are treated with the best of hospitality, then choose No 10, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wanderer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,195 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 93 in Glasgow
1,034 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 10 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 10 Hotel

Address: 10-16 Queens Drive, Glasgow G42 8BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £61 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 10 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 10 is a beautiful boutique hotel, conveniently located on Glasgow's Southside, and just 10 minutes from the city centre - perfect whether you are travelling on business or pleasure. Set in a stunning location with beautiful views over Queen's Park, No 10 affords spacious and stylish interiors that effortlessly blend contemporary design with the original Victorian features. And these features are perfectly complemented by our luxurious rooms, our fantastic new restaurant and, buzzing bar and an enthusiastic team to look after you. Plus No 10 has a pretty garden at the rear which is perfect for al fresco drinks and dining on warmer days. The hotel consists of two stunning Victorian townhouses that have been restored to their original glory, providing a range of stylish contemporary accommodation. Our 26 rooms and suites offer lovely open views over parkland and gardens, and feature every modern convenience including 24-hour internet access, in-room toiletries, hospitality tray, comfortable beds and much more. The hotel recently launched its new restaurant & bar offering a relaxed setting where guests can enjoy an extensive menu of timeless classics with a modern twist; the restaurant is open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch, light bites, afternoon tea and dinner. Seasonally inspired dishes, using locally sourced ingredients, are the foundation of the menu, and they have been infused with ingenious touches from the talented Executive Chef and kitchen brigade. No 10 is an ideal location for business and leisure guests and as a wedding venue. The hotel is only 10 minutes from the city centre and 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. Nearby are the world famous Burrell Collection and all of Glasgow's Museums & Art Galleries. The Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre and The Hydro are only 15 minutes away and there is also easy access to the M8 and M77 Motorways, the Emirates Arena and Hampden Park, Scotland's national stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Number 10 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No 10 Queens Drive Hotel
Number 10 Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing