We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Number 10 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Number 10 Hotel
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

When we first entered our room, we were very impressed. The room was huge, with a large bed, and a large modern bathroom. However, things went downhill from there; too many small and big problems for an hotel that clearly wants to be a luxury one. It was a very cold day, and the room was freezing. We asked about the heating at the reception around 3pm, and we were told they would fix the problem. When we came back after dinner, around 8pm, the room was still freezing, exactly as we left it. We complained again, went to the bar, and later we were told again that the problem had been fixed. Some of our friends staying there said they had the same problem. You guessed: when we got up to our room 3 hours later, it was exactly as cold as before. Reception sent a guy, who was nice but said he didn't know anything about the heating and could not help. Around midnight, we finally were given a portable heater, which we had to carry back and forth from bedroom to bathroom.
The room appeared clean, but there were oversights; for instance, when we touched the heater to see if it was working, we realized it was heavily covered in dust, and felt dirty to the touch, and there was mould in the shower. There was tea in the room; but no spoon to fish out the teabag. In the mornings, we had to keep asking the waiters for the several missing items; they didn't seem to be able to look at the buffet and refill whatever was missing (this was in the middle of the breakfast time). A lot of the food was very low quality; for instance, I don't remember having ever had a worse muffin in my whole life, and some of the hot food looked quite unappetizing. Also, they didn't have any Earl Grey tea; hardly an exotic request these days...
Finally in two days, me and my husband had our room keys not working 4 times (and so did some of our friends); very annoying having to go back and forth to get them rekeyed at the reception.
No offer was made about compensation for the heating problem.
Overall, not impressed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank letspackandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Number10Management, Manager at Number 10 Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear letspackandgo

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am pleased to hear that you were impressed by your bedroom however I am disappointed to hear of the level of service you experienced there on out. I cannot apologise enough for the issues you encountered and for the failings in our customer service which you experienced during your stay. We pride ourselves on the quality of our hotel and our service, and clearly did not deliver on this occasion.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay and, if you are amenable to this, I would be very grateful if you could email your contact information to william@10hotel.co.uk. My apologies again for the failings during your visit and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    171
    76
    27
    32
See reviews for
180
262
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here after a friends wedding at a nearby hotel. We didn't check in until 2am and the gentleman who greated us was happy and chearfull despite it being the middle of the night. The room we were taken to was on the top floor and had a an extra large comfy bed. The room was spacious and to be honest I was slightly disappointed we didn't have more time to spend in it. The breakfast the next morning was delicous and one of the best breakfasts we have had in a Hotel. On seeing the hotel in daylight it's a gorgeous building with nice surroundings. I would definitley stay there again.

Room Tip: our room number 27 was lovely - top floor and had a huge comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Michael and I had our wedding at this hotel and it was the most amazing day ever! The staff were brilliant, incredibly attentive and they made sure everything ran like clockwork. We didn't have to worry about anything on the day! In the run up to the wedding, Willam (the manager) and Nicola ( wedding organiser) communicated brilliantly in the run up to the wedding so we knew exactly what to expect. They also offered us lots of really helpful advice which we appreciated! The meal on the day was amazing,we still have family and friends commenting on how beautiful the food tasted and how well presented it was, we couldn't have asked for a nicer meal. The night time buffet was also great!

We had a totally stress free wedding day in a beautiful hotel with great staff, we couldn't possibly have hoped for a better day and we woud recommend this hotel to everyone. We have loads of wonderful memories of our perfect wedding day, so thank you all very, very much!!!!

Mr and Mrs Scott

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east kilbride scotland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Have just returned from spending one night in Number 10 Hotel, Glasgow with my partner and 2 children. We had attended a family wedding so decided to stay overnight too. It's a beautiful location for a wedding. The staff are very hard-working. The food is also very nice, enjoyed both the wedding meal and evening buffet, as well as breakfast this morning. We were in room 15 which was very spacious and had a lovely view of the park. Many thanks for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: We had room 15 which was spacious, had a lovely shower cubicle, ideal for 2 adults and 2 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinear1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here a very beautiful hotel to stay in all the staff were very polite, friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommenced this hotel to all looking for a place in Glasgow to stay. the rooms were spotless and food was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a brilliant time at this hotel. The staff were very professional and helpful, and the hotel is beautiful throughout. The food was great, and very well priced. We'll definitely be staying here again on our next trip to Glasgow

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Number 10 was the perfect venue for our wedding. As soon as we saw it we knew it was the place!
The hotel is beautiful!! Great garden space and even though it unfortunately rained we still got some great shots outside in the gazebo.
the staff could not have been more helpful, they made it a perfect stress free day!!
Food is fab! Service is great! Loved every minute thanks to everyone there!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kitkatz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
474 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 93 in Glasgow
1,004 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 10 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 10 Hotel

Property: Number 10 Hotel
Address: 10-16 Queens Drive, Glasgow G42 8BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 10 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 10 is a beautiful boutique hotel, conveniently located on Glasgow's Southside, and just 10 minutes from the city centre - perfect whether you are travelling on business or pleasure. Set in a stunning location with beautiful views over Queen's Park, No 10 affords spacious and stylish interiors that effortlessly blend contemporary design with the original Victorian features. And these features are perfectly complemented by our luxurious rooms, our fantastic new restaurant and, buzzing bar and an enthusiastic team to look after you. Plus No 10 has a pretty garden at the rear which is perfect for al fresco drinks and dining on warmer days. The hotel consists of two stunning Victorian townhouses that have been restored to their original glory, providing a range of stylish contemporary accommodation. Our 26 rooms and suites offer lovely open views over parkland and gardens, and feature every modern convenience including 24-hour internet access, in-room toiletries, hospitality tray, comfortable beds and much more. The hotel recently launched its new restaurant & bar offering a relaxed setting where guests can enjoy an extensive menu of timeless classics with a modern twist; the restaurant is open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch, light bites, afternoon tea and dinner. Seasonally inspired dishes, using locally sourced ingredients, are the foundation of the menu, and they have been infused with ingenious touches from the talented Executive Chef and kitchen brigade. No 10 is an ideal location for business and leisure guests and as a wedding venue. The hotel is only 10 minutes from the city centre and 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. Nearby are the world famous Burrell Collection and all of Glasgow's Museums & Art Galleries. The Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre and The Hydro are only 15 minutes away and there is also easy access to the M8 and M77 Motorways, the Emirates Arena and Hampden Park, Scotland's national stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Number 10 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No 10 Queens Drive Hotel
Number 10 Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing