We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A major disappointment”
Review of Number 10 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Number 10 Hotel
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Number 10 bills itself as a 4 star hotel. However we found the following facilities normally encountered in 4 star hotels missing: locks on the windows; in room safe; bar fridge & mini bar; room service; enough power points to have the lamp and kettle on simultaneously; toiletries that extend beyond basic shampoo and soap; assistance with luggage (especially in the absence of a lift and a ramp to the front door); maps of the local area and any information about Glasgow or any concierge service at all, a record of our booking; arrangement of room fittings that allow one to watch TV from a chair; an internet kiosk and an automatic kettle. What put the icing on the cake for us was the complete indifference of the staff. After we had struggled up the drive and steps to the front door with our luggage at check-in we found that they were watching us. They did not seem at all concerned that we were unable to lock a ground floor room - it was easier to get into the room through the window than the door and only moved us at my husband's insistence. The room upstairs still did not have locks on the windows. The reception, dining room and bar were all staffed by one person and on occasions we were told to 'wait'. We put our valuables into a safe at reception but found that the only person with a key wasn't in the next day and we couldn't access our belongings - we'd have to 'wait' until he came in.
I gather this hotel is more focused on functions rather than welcoming international guests to Glasgow. It spoiled our visit to the city. The only bright spot was the fact that taxis to other places were cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cx2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensdrive, Customer Relations at Number 10 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. The hotel appreciates any positive and negative feedback as this helps us improve our guests experience at the hotel. I would like to acknowledge each point you have made about the hotel and offer an explanation. Firstly we apologise for any confusion with your booking which was due to you changing your dates of stay. Your amendments did not come through to our system from the booking site which was quickly cleared up upon check in. You were allocated in one of the townhouse rooms which have large traditional bay windows. We understand your concern that there were no locks on the windows however the manager assured you that these cannot be opened from the outside due to their weight and the fact that the groove is lower than the window sill therefore no one could physically get their fingers underneath the window to open it. I apologise if this was not explained clearly enough at the time. We also have 24 hour CCTV and the hotel is staffed 24 hours so there really is no security risk. The manager then moved you straight away after personally taking you to your room after check in to an upper floor room which you seemed happy with at the time. We could have moved you to one of our contemporary rooms with double glazing in the main building however you had booked a luxury superior room which are more spacious and located in our townhouse building.

We are disappointed that you did not raise your complaints with a member of staff at the time. Being a small hotel our staff make an effort with all guests at the hotel and were not aware at the time of your complaints. They genuinely would have went out their way to try and rectify as many issues as they could to make your stay at the hotel more enjoyable as this is their main priority which you will notice from reviews on this site and on late rooms and booking dot com. I am also concerned of your claim that no information of the local area was offered to you as I personally offered to print you off maps and details of local attractions which you refused. There are currently no leaflets of our specific area which is why we print specific details for guests.

Regarding your complaint of no lift. We apologise for this however our buildings are traditional Victorian therefore it is not possible for us to introduce a lift to either of the buildings. We do however have a ramp at the rear of the building which a member of staff could have directed you to. No staff members were aware of you struggling with your bags and I can only apologise for this as guests are usually assisted with their luggage when needed.

We hope you will return to the hotel in the future. We have taken on board your complaints that our facilities to not match up to your idea of a 4 star however we follow visit Scotland’s guidelines which do not state any of these are requirements. We have however taken your advice about the safes in the rooms and are in the process of getting these for our superior rooms so we would like to thank you for this. We again would like to apologise for any distress cause to you and your husband during your stay and wish we had been made aware of these at the time.

We wish you all the best with your future travels.

Kind Regards,
Number 10

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2010

As Stockbridge Village Golf Society, we have been staying at No 10 Queens Drive (formally known as the Dunkeld Hotel) Bi-Annually for the last 20 years. As we have an annual match against the Malletsheugh Golf Club on a home and away basis and they are at home this year. Next Year 1020 is the 25th Anniversary Match.

We have always been well looked after by all of the staff.

This year was no exception, we arrived in dribs and drabs through-out the Friday Afternoon/Evening, a member of staff was always on hand to greet every one as they arrived and in all cases show them to their respective rooms. Not unusual you may think but they also had to deal with a wedding reception on the same day! and keep the bar going for us.

Saturday the staff were just as good. After playing Golf in Troon (No not that one, the Municipals next door – which are very good – The Darly, Lochgreen and Fullarton) we arrived back to find that there was a surprise 50th Birthday party being held at the Hotel, with quite a few party goers staying at the hotel. The surprise for us was that it was for the wife of a former member of the Golf Club we were playing. This party did not stop the staff from attending to our every need. They even double checked our rooms to make sure that the maids had not missed anyone out.

Sunday was a bit quieter and the staff, although they must have been tired, were just as eager to help as they were on Friday.

We asked for a buffet breakfast on the three mornings that we stayed, as it is difficult to get people all up and fed in time to be on a coach leaving at 8am, especially when they have sampled the Pubs and clubs that Glasgow has to offer (3 nights on the trot). This was supplied as requested. Nothing was too much trouble.

I have stayed at the hotel on a Number of occasions through 2009 on business and usually stay in No 10; these rooms are fantastic, well decorated and roomy. This time we all stayed in what we call the Hotel part. These rooms again have been redecorated to a very high standard and all who stayed commented on how much it had changed for the better in the last 2 years.

September Weekend is a Holiday in Glasgow so the whole city is bustling especially at night.

The city centre is either a short taxi ride away or you can walk to the train station.

The food @ No 10 is excellent well prepared and presented both William and John are very good cooks.

The whole staff William, John, Claire, Nicola, Angela, Sarah, Laura and Michelle, are a group of people who are very good at the jobs they do.

All in all a very good time was had by every member.

For and on Behalf of, The Committee, and members of Stockbridge Village Golf Society.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scouse_Golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Rooms were gorgeous, we got upgraded to a suite - lovely :) Had such a nice romantic and relaxing time here. Will definitely be back here and would recommend to anyone. Only thing that was a little annoying was the king bed was 2 doubles pushed together, and when your on a romantic brake, its a little un-comfortable!!! Other than that, everything excelled!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo25Ayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

I had a great view overlooking the park in the townhouse next to the hotel. The room was absolutely massive and well decorated with a fabulous bathroom. The woman on reception was lovely and found me a nice place to eat that had vegetarian selections - she brought the menu up online for me to look at. The only disappointment was the dining room. I felt that they could make an effort to decorate it to make it much more welcoming. I think they use it for weddings etc so when empty it has a rather echoey feel - a bit like a cafeteria!!! I didn't have breakfast so can't say for sure about the food, but when I looked at the buffet thought that they could have more selections. Apart from that though it was great.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

This hotel was booked as a last minute surprise as part of my birthday from my partner. He booked it in good faith as it was recommended by a family friend who had had a wedding here in the summer and another friend due to have their 21st at the hotel next year. On arrival we where told that the Club room that my partner had booked had gone to another guest as they had not picked up our booking from laterooms.com on time. Our room was in the main building and words fail to describe what we where given, i wouldnt even rate as a 2 star. There was scrapes all over the wall paper, an inch worth of dust round the edges of the carpet where it had not been hoovered properly. We had three single beds one across the bottom of the window and two pushed together. I take it this was supposed to be our luxuary king size bed. There was also green stains all over the throw on the bed. The room was absolutley freezing as we could not get the heating to turn on i went to reception and was told the heating was on a timer and that i would have a call to the room to advise when the heating would go on. I did not get this call. After 30 mins i went back down to be told that the receptionist did not know when the heating would go on. We did not stay at this hotel we left over 90mins of trying to find somewhere else to stay. On departing the receptionist was most unhelpfull and left us standing for over 20 minutes before chasing up the taxi for us. She was far too busy drinking coffee in the bar with another member of staff. The taxi driver advised us that apprentices had been staying in the hotel for a period of two or three weeks and i think it was more than apparent that it was one of there rooms that we had been given. the nice birthday afternoon that my partenr had and i had planned was ruined we did not get to go for the lunch or spened the afternoon together instead we spent it looking for somewhere else to stay and it was well after 5pm before we got the other hotel. I was due to book this hotel for my mothers 50th but needless to say this definatley wont be happening.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank senga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensdrive, Customer Relations at Number 10 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2009

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are very disappointed to hear of your negative experience at the hotel and accept full responsibility for the error in you being allocated into the wrong room type. I can understand your criticism of the hotel due to your disappointment however we don’t feel describing the room allocated to you as 2 star is very accurate. These rooms are smaller than our club rooms however they are still maintained to a very high standard and benefit from the same decor as our club rooms. This room was set up for a family arriving at the hotel that weekend which was the reason for the 3 single beds. We know was not ideal for you and your partners visit and we cannot apologise enough for this. The manager has personally looked into your claims of dust on the carpet and marks on the wall and throw. There is a scuff on the wallpaper which maintenance have been notified of and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our housekeepers work hard to maintain these rooms therefore all these points have been brought to their attention also. Regarding the heating in the hotel this does come on late afternoon which is when you checked in however being a traditional Victorian building this does take longer to heat the rooms and we take on board that during the winter this should be going on earlier which has now been rectified.

We are genuinely sorry for your disappointment and hope to make this up to you in the future. I would also like to highlight that no other guest was ever given your room and speaking to the receptionist on at the time she tried to explain that we were overbooked for this room type due to a problem with the booking site. Regarding your wait for your taxi we have CCTV at the hotel which we have checked for you. A member of staff did call you a taxi earlier however this took longer than usual as the company was very busy. Please feel free to check this with Hampden Cars. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the wait time and if it is taking longer than usual we will call again to try and get this to arrive earlier. Our receptionist called to ensure a taxi was on its way as you were waiting longer than usual however unfortunately this was out with our control.

I’m sure your friend who recommended us to you will tell you that the hotel does have fantastic rooms as many of our reviews suggest and we hope to show you this if you visit the hotel in the future. If you are attending one of our functions at the hotel please let us know and we will try and give you a suite for the night.

Kind Regards,

Number 10 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Rooms were impecable. Staff were very helpful. Area was nice with good views. Decor was very classy. Taxis two minutes away and £8 into town.

Would definitely recommend and stay again!

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Psychpostgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

enjoyed my stay. The hotel has two good elements, good old fashioned service and a modern feel to the hotel.
Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy-in-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
340 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,216 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
849 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 10 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 10 Hotel

Address: 10-16 Queens Drive, Glasgow G42 8BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £58 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 10 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 10 is a beautiful boutique hotel, conveniently located on Glasgow's Southside, and just 10 minutes from the city centre - perfect whether you are travelling on business or pleasure. Set in a stunning location with beautiful views over Queen's Park, No 10 affords spacious and stylish interiors that effortlessly blend contemporary design with the original Victorian features. And these features are perfectly complemented by our luxurious rooms, our fantastic new restaurant and, buzzing bar and an enthusiastic team to look after you. Plus No 10 has a pretty garden at the rear which is perfect for al fresco drinks and dining on warmer days. The hotel consists of two stunning Victorian townhouses that have been restored to their original glory, providing a range of stylish contemporary accommodation. Our 26 rooms and suites offer lovely open views over parkland and gardens, and feature every modern convenience including 24-hour internet access, in-room toiletries, hospitality tray, comfortable beds and much more. The hotel recently launched its new restaurant & bar offering a relaxed setting where guests can enjoy an extensive menu of timeless classics with a modern twist; the restaurant is open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch, light bites, afternoon tea and dinner. Seasonally inspired dishes, using locally sourced ingredients, are the foundation of the menu, and they have been infused with ingenious touches from the talented Executive Chef and kitchen brigade. No 10 is an ideal location for business and leisure guests and as a wedding venue. The hotel is only 10 minutes from the city centre and 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. Nearby are the world famous Burrell Collection and all of Glasgow's Museums & Art Galleries. The Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre and The Hydro are only 15 minutes away and there is also easy access to the M8 and M77 Motorways, the Emirates Arena and Hampden Park, Scotland's national stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Number 10 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No 10 Queens Drive Hotel
Number 10 Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing