We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in a great location”
Review of Number 10 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Number 10 Hotel
Ranked #29 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2010

The No. 10 having entirely changed since it was known as The Dunkeld is an absolute gem of a hotel in a great location with easy transport links into the city and nearby districts.

I stayed in a double room on the top floor of the hotel which was a lovely room complete with double bed, television, draw space and wardrobe, 4 electricity sockets (don't know what "A major disappointment" is talking about, they're just tucked behind drawers and little tables), ethernet cable and wifi throughout the building and ensuite. The rooms are extremely comfortable (particularly the beds!) and very quiet even when there are parties in the main hall on the ground floor.

Each building is well decorated and really gives the boutique feel at a very reasonable price for somewhere to stay for a couple of days. I was visiting the No. 10 as part of a wedding party over the weekend and was lucky enough to be given a substantial discount off the room rate as we were staying for several nights either side of the wedding.

Staff are extremely helpful and are always on hand whether at reception or in the bar to help. Although we didn't get a chance to sample the lunch or dinner menue (due to events taking place over the entire weekend) it sounded very tasty!

100% I would recomment the No. 10 Hotel whether for a stay in a room or as a location for a party. I'll be back in August!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mills110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

I have now stayed here twice and will be booking again. The staff really are of the friendliest nature, genuinely, nothing is too much bother. The rooms are up to the minute and very nicely decorated. The food could not be faulted......especially the sticky toffee pudding!
Anyone staying here is made to feel very welcome and not like a stranger at all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canneloniwhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We needed accomodation in that area of Glasgow at short notice and booked the hotel for one night. Finding the hotel was easy and there was adequate on-road and some off-road parking. After checking in we were shown to our room in a very pleasant manner and mealtimes etc were explained to us. Despite its claim to 4* status it did not have a lift. The room was very nice and had been recently redecorated. The bed was however quite firm which may not suite all. Flat screen TV had full range of terestrial and satelite channels. The ensuite had a very good shower however it lacked a toilet roll holder and there were no glasses in the room, which I am sure could have been easily rectified by calling reception.

Th only public area other than the dining room, was the bar which had a TV showing sport all the time and a similar screen was placed in the entrance vestibule - Fine if you like sport with everything. Bar prices were very reasonable

There was some noise in the room due to a function below but this stopped at midnight. The main source of noise during the night eminated from the efficient central heating.

We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment. Continental Breakfast was £5 and full Scottish £10

The hotel was hardly 4* but represented good value for money

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balearicbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

It is clear that this hotel is in the midst of being renovated and brought up to a 4 star standard, the general boutique look is there, but the whole package doesn't match upto what you would expect.
We stayed in one of the larger rooms and althoughthe bed was big, it was essentially 2 beds joined together and the join was extremely uncomfortable. Also the bedding barely covered the bed and we both woke up feeling very cold.
The in room facilities are very limited and toiletries very basic. The tv is much too small for the huge room and the dressing table mirror was wrongly positioned and you couldn't see yourself in it when sat down or when you stood up.
The room faced the front of the building and we found it quite noisy.
The breakfast was served in a large largely empty room with chairs piled up at one end and the choice was limited for a 4 star hotel. It felt like a traditional B&B at breakfast and didn't fall in line with the boutique image they were trying to create. Some way to go in creating the right ambience.
The serving staff doubled as receptionists and it was hard to find someone to help with queries and the lady was particularly rude when we checked out as we weren't sure if we had paid online or not and were made to feel we were trying to get out of paying
In time, this hotel could be really nice, but more attention to detail and more thought to the practicalities of staying in a hotel would be advisable and the whole 4 star boutique image has to flow through to every aspect of the stay to create a good all round experience. Decor alone is not enough!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Number 10 bills itself as a 4 star hotel. However we found the following facilities normally encountered in 4 star hotels missing: locks on the windows; in room safe; bar fridge & mini bar; room service; enough power points to have the lamp and kettle on simultaneously; toiletries that extend beyond basic shampoo and soap; assistance with luggage (especially in the absence of a lift and a ramp to the front door); maps of the local area and any information about Glasgow or any concierge service at all, a record of our booking; arrangement of room fittings that allow one to watch TV from a chair; an internet kiosk and an automatic kettle. What put the icing on the cake for us was the complete indifference of the staff. After we had struggled up the drive and steps to the front door with our luggage at check-in we found that they were watching us. They did not seem at all concerned that we were unable to lock a ground floor room - it was easier to get into the room through the window than the door and only moved us at my husband's insistence. The room upstairs still did not have locks on the windows. The reception, dining room and bar were all staffed by one person and on occasions we were told to 'wait'. We put our valuables into a safe at reception but found that the only person with a key wasn't in the next day and we couldn't access our belongings - we'd have to 'wait' until he came in.
I gather this hotel is more focused on functions rather than welcoming international guests to Glasgow. It spoiled our visit to the city. The only bright spot was the fact that taxis to other places were cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cx2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensdrive, Customer Relations at Number 10 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. The hotel appreciates any positive and negative feedback as this helps us improve our guests experience at the hotel. I would like to acknowledge each point you have made about the hotel and offer an explanation. Firstly we apologise for any confusion with your booking which was due to you changing your dates of stay. Your amendments did not come through to our system from the booking site which was quickly cleared up upon check in. You were allocated in one of the townhouse rooms which have large traditional bay windows. We understand your concern that there were no locks on the windows however the manager assured you that these cannot be opened from the outside due to their weight and the fact that the groove is lower than the window sill therefore no one could physically get their fingers underneath the window to open it. I apologise if this was not explained clearly enough at the time. We also have 24 hour CCTV and the hotel is staffed 24 hours so there really is no security risk. The manager then moved you straight away after personally taking you to your room after check in to an upper floor room which you seemed happy with at the time. We could have moved you to one of our contemporary rooms with double glazing in the main building however you had booked a luxury superior room which are more spacious and located in our townhouse building.

We are disappointed that you did not raise your complaints with a member of staff at the time. Being a small hotel our staff make an effort with all guests at the hotel and were not aware at the time of your complaints. They genuinely would have went out their way to try and rectify as many issues as they could to make your stay at the hotel more enjoyable as this is their main priority which you will notice from reviews on this site and on late rooms and booking dot com. I am also concerned of your claim that no information of the local area was offered to you as I personally offered to print you off maps and details of local attractions which you refused. There are currently no leaflets of our specific area which is why we print specific details for guests.

Regarding your complaint of no lift. We apologise for this however our buildings are traditional Victorian therefore it is not possible for us to introduce a lift to either of the buildings. We do however have a ramp at the rear of the building which a member of staff could have directed you to. No staff members were aware of you struggling with your bags and I can only apologise for this as guests are usually assisted with their luggage when needed.

We hope you will return to the hotel in the future. We have taken on board your complaints that our facilities to not match up to your idea of a 4 star however we follow visit Scotland’s guidelines which do not state any of these are requirements. We have however taken your advice about the safes in the rooms and are in the process of getting these for our superior rooms so we would like to thank you for this. We again would like to apologise for any distress cause to you and your husband during your stay and wish we had been made aware of these at the time.

We wish you all the best with your future travels.

Kind Regards,
Number 10

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

As Stockbridge Village Golf Society, we have been staying at No 10 Queens Drive (formally known as the Dunkeld Hotel) Bi-Annually for the last 20 years. As we have an annual match against the Malletsheugh Golf Club on a home and away basis and they are at home this year. Next Year 1020 is the 25th Anniversary Match.

We have always been well looked after by all of the staff.

This year was no exception, we arrived in dribs and drabs through-out the Friday Afternoon/Evening, a member of staff was always on hand to greet every one as they arrived and in all cases show them to their respective rooms. Not unusual you may think but they also had to deal with a wedding reception on the same day! and keep the bar going for us.

Saturday the staff were just as good. After playing Golf in Troon (No not that one, the Municipals next door – which are very good – The Darly, Lochgreen and Fullarton) we arrived back to find that there was a surprise 50th Birthday party being held at the Hotel, with quite a few party goers staying at the hotel. The surprise for us was that it was for the wife of a former member of the Golf Club we were playing. This party did not stop the staff from attending to our every need. They even double checked our rooms to make sure that the maids had not missed anyone out.

Sunday was a bit quieter and the staff, although they must have been tired, were just as eager to help as they were on Friday.

We asked for a buffet breakfast on the three mornings that we stayed, as it is difficult to get people all up and fed in time to be on a coach leaving at 8am, especially when they have sampled the Pubs and clubs that Glasgow has to offer (3 nights on the trot). This was supplied as requested. Nothing was too much trouble.

I have stayed at the hotel on a Number of occasions through 2009 on business and usually stay in No 10; these rooms are fantastic, well decorated and roomy. This time we all stayed in what we call the Hotel part. These rooms again have been redecorated to a very high standard and all who stayed commented on how much it had changed for the better in the last 2 years.

September Weekend is a Holiday in Glasgow so the whole city is bustling especially at night.

The city centre is either a short taxi ride away or you can walk to the train station.

The food @ No 10 is excellent well prepared and presented both William and John are very good cooks.

The whole staff William, John, Claire, Nicola, Angela, Sarah, Laura and Michelle, are a group of people who are very good at the jobs they do.

All in all a very good time was had by every member.

For and on Behalf of, The Committee, and members of Stockbridge Village Golf Society.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scouse_Golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Rooms were gorgeous, we got upgraded to a suite - lovely :) Had such a nice romantic and relaxing time here. Will definitely be back here and would recommend to anyone. Only thing that was a little annoying was the king bed was 2 doubles pushed together, and when your on a romantic brake, its a little un-comfortable!!! Other than that, everything excelled!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo25Ayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
343 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,216 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
860 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 10 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 10 Hotel

Address: 10-16 Queens Drive, Glasgow G42 8BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £57 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 10 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 10 is a beautiful boutique hotel, conveniently located on Glasgow's Southside, and just 10 minutes from the city centre - perfect whether you are travelling on business or pleasure. Set in a stunning location with beautiful views over Queen's Park, No 10 affords spacious and stylish interiors that effortlessly blend contemporary design with the original Victorian features. And these features are perfectly complemented by our luxurious rooms, our fantastic new restaurant and, buzzing bar and an enthusiastic team to look after you. Plus No 10 has a pretty garden at the rear which is perfect for al fresco drinks and dining on warmer days. The hotel consists of two stunning Victorian townhouses that have been restored to their original glory, providing a range of stylish contemporary accommodation. Our 26 rooms and suites offer lovely open views over parkland and gardens, and feature every modern convenience including 24-hour internet access, in-room toiletries, hospitality tray, comfortable beds and much more. The hotel recently launched its new restaurant & bar offering a relaxed setting where guests can enjoy an extensive menu of timeless classics with a modern twist; the restaurant is open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch, light bites, afternoon tea and dinner. Seasonally inspired dishes, using locally sourced ingredients, are the foundation of the menu, and they have been infused with ingenious touches from the talented Executive Chef and kitchen brigade. No 10 is an ideal location for business and leisure guests and as a wedding venue. The hotel is only 10 minutes from the city centre and 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. Nearby are the world famous Burrell Collection and all of Glasgow's Museums & Art Galleries. The Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre and The Hydro are only 15 minutes away and there is also easy access to the M8 and M77 Motorways, the Emirates Arena and Hampden Park, Scotland's national stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Number 10 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No 10 Queens Drive Hotel
Number 10 Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing