We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location next to Kelvingrove Park”
Review of Argyll Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argyll Guest House
Ranked #10 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great location next to Kelvingrove Park”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Staff was very personable and helpful. Smallish room was neat, and comfortable. The only downside was a background toilet smell even tho all was quite clean. The location was excellent for its proximity to Kelvingrove Park, the fantastic Museum, the University, and convenient bus routes to all else. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowerline4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    66
    49
    16
    23
See reviews for
27
82
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We had a lovely couple of nights at this guest house. It ticks all of the boxes. I particularly want to mention one of the staff - i think his name was Alistair - he's an asset to the place - a friendly, helpful man.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abigailrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Guest House, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed here for one night as a base for exploring Glasgow on the way to the West Highlands. The location was great and easy to get to from the train Station by public transport (bus) and it only takes 20 mins max to walk into the centre of town. The room was warm, comfortable and clean and good value for money. Perhaps a little noisy as people came to and from their rooms quite late but that would be a problem in any location. The staff were friendly, and allowed us to leave are bags at reception when we arrived late morning so we could go off and explore the City before checking into our room. Would recommend, excellent value for money!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank GracieDundee_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Guest House, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and we hope to see you back sometime soon.

Happy Travelling,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This guesthouse is adequate for one night's stay but other than that I wasn't too impressed, although I should point out straight away that while I booked myself a single room online, when I arrived I discovered my room was a double room and I wasn't paying any extra which is obviously a positive. However I've stayed in better budget places for the same price or even a bit less. The bathroom smelled rather odd - I made sure I kept the door closed so I couldn't smell it from my room and the shower was abysmal. I had a better shower experience in a pokey wee chalet up in Aviemore recently. The room itself was ok, clean, although quite dark since the curtains remained drawn given the location of the room looking directly onto a main road. Last thing to mention was that I recieved an e-mail about a day before I arrived informing me the restaurant was out of bounds as there was a wedding reception or something going on. It would have been nice to have had better warning since I booked the hotel about a week before.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheIcarusII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Guest House, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are always trying to improve the Guesthouse and its facilities, as well as the customer experience.

We apologise for not contacting you further in advance about the Restaurant being closed, though we were still offering room service for the evening.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

This was a good standard room and a fine place to stay for 4 nights while exploring Glasgow. The room had a very standard hotel feel, but was clean and comfortable, albeit a bit small. The walls/doors are thin here again, but we didn't have many neighbors (it seemed) so we weren't bothered by any sounds. For 50 pounds/night with ensuite bathroom it seemed like a decent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Guest House, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review! I hope that you enjoyed your stay in the Guesthouse and had a good time exploring Glasgow. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This Guest house is very well situated for the north end of the city. It's 'sister' hotel across the road looks nice, and the breakfast I had there was great; and the service was excellent. The Guest house is in need of some upgrading and a deep clean in the room (which was very small, even for a single room). The bed was comfy, and quiet and the shower was ok. I could only get one channel on the TV. So, all in all, it was ok, not expensive for a city hotel, but I would recommend trying the hotel rather than the Guest house.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Seamus60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I have stayed at this guest house several times. It is clean and comfortable.
Normally the internet coverage is good but on this occasion was not working in the Guest House. The receptionist let me sit in the hotel reception instead as the internet was working fine there but of course it is much less convenient than working from the room.

Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank WestHighlandLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Guest House, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review! I am sorry to hear that the internet was not working properly in your room. We have had someone look into it and found out that it just needed to be reset. I hope that the next time you stay with us; you won’t have any problems with the internet.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
775 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#51 of 95 in Glasgow
913 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
609 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Guest House

Property: Argyll Guest House
Address: 970 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular, small and family run in convenient location .5 mile west of the city centre offering room only or bed and breakfast at budget rates. By Kelvingrove Park it is within a short walk of Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries/ Museum, Kelvinhall International Sport Arena and Glasgow University. Enjoy both west end and city centre shopping, dining and nightlife. Ideal for business or tourist alike. Family Rooms Available. Free Street Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Argyll Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Argyll Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing