We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back no problem!”
Review of Argyll Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argyll Guest House
Ranked #8 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Rooms were reasonable standard. Friendly, pleasant and helpfully staff! Location and price were good top! Would be more than happy to return!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Napalmnailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

I have stayed here many times now for different lengths of time,one being for two months while working nights! The staff are very accomodating and nothing is too much trouble.I feel it is fair to say that the rooms in the hotel are to a better standard than the guest house across the road so it is worth the little extra if a room is availible.I must mention the breakfast though,I have been in and out of hotels,guest houses and b+b's for nearly twenty years and the Argyll's is the best I've ever had !

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Very close to the SECC. Rooms are clean and presented well. When I first arrived the radiator was making a noise. I phoned the reception and within a couple of minutes someone was there to fix it. Great value for money and the breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wbell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here sept 24 2011. As it is close to Glasgow university and a pub there was noice all night. We stayed in room 6 on the sauchiehall side. We only got about 2 hours sleep as the drunk university students were talking outside our window until 3 am. When we left for the airport there were still groups of students staggering home. The room was okay but I found the double bed hard. The service for our continental breakfast at 6am was wonderful. The front desk was very helpful as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank campervan_question
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I stayed here for two nights on my first trip to Scotland. The location is quite good as it's right near Kelvingrove Park, several restaurants, and about a 20 minute (and very nice) walk from the city centre. The airport bus stop is right outside the guest house, and it is a practical and cost-efficient way to get to the Glasgow International Airport. The breakfast each morning is very nice, and I would also recommend the same restaurant for dinner. The staff was very helpful and was always available to answer my questions.

I stayed in a single room, and it was quite small. However, this was not a problem as I didn't spend much time in my room. Both the room and the bathroom were clean and neat. There is also wireless internet service, but in my experience, it was a bit spotty. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and tried to fix this as soon as possible.

I would recommend this guest house if you are trying to find a clean and comfortable place on a budget and/or looking for a quick stop on your tour through Scotland.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone, I would not recommend a room on the ground floor. The large windows seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matilda_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Staff was very personable and helpful. Smallish room was neat, and comfortable. The only downside was a background toilet smell even tho all was quite clean. The location was excellent for its proximity to Kelvingrove Park, the fantastic Museum, the University, and convenient bus routes to all else. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowerline4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We had a lovely couple of nights at this guest house. It ticks all of the boxes. I particularly want to mention one of the staff - i think his name was Alistair - he's an asset to the place - a friendly, helpful man.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abigailrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
611 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 35 in Glasgow
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alamo Guest House
#1 of 35 in Glasgow
727 reviews
Glasgow Guest House
#2 of 35 in Glasgow
626 reviews
Amadeus Guest House
#4 of 35 in Glasgow
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Guest House

Address: 970 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: £33 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Argyll Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular, small and family run in convenient location .5 mile west of the city centre offering room only or bed and breakfast at budget rates. By Kelvingrove Park it is within a short walk of Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries/ Museum, Kelvinhall International Sport Arena and Glasgow University. Enjoy both west end and city centre shopping, dining and nightlife. Ideal for business or tourist alike. Family Rooms Available. Free Street Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Argyll Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Argyll Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing