We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Pleasant Stay.........” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #59 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Stanley, WAKEFIELD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Another Pleasant Stay.........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

This was our 5th visit to the Ambassador for weekend breaks over the last 3 years.
Location is great. Right next to Botanical Gardens on the edge of Glasgows West End and all it's fabulous Restaurants.
Rooms clean and tidy. Tea and coffee facilities well stocked. Bathroom compact but clean with a bath and shower. Breakfast delicious, although service was a little chaotic on Saturday morning when everyone wanted breakfast at the same time. Sunday was a much more tranquil affair. Staff are always pleasant and very very helpful. Missed Pam this year, obviously her weekend off, but Louise did a stirling job.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgenFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    84
    48
    14
    8
See reviews for
51
76
41
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Handy location, clean and tidy, friendly staff.
Room was nice, not huge big big enough. Smallish bathroom but nice none the less.

Good wifi, and free parking at rear was great. Easy walk to westend restaurants, shops etc. 5 minute bus to city centre. Taxi from city centre was £7.5 to the front door.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenntb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Great location for the west end and opposite Botanic Gardens.Easy to get to the tube in Byres Rd to get to the city. I have stayed here before and once again th hotel was adequate and had everything I needed. It was clean in all areas and comfortable, though on this occassion the bed was a little lumpy. Breakfast was plentiful and my scrambled eggs were freshly cooked, light and hot. The staff are friendly, but not "in your face". I would recommend a room at the back, as thereis some road noise at the front. All in all a pleasant trip.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guardianangel1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here on a number of occasions and always made very welcome by excellent staff that actually care about their guests unlike many of the large hotel chains. Parking is normally easy and free outside the hotel and free wifi in rooms; good for business and leisure visitors. Room has always been clean and perfectly adequate. Good breakfast served with ample choice. Location is in the attractive West End in quiet lane next to Botanical Gardens. A 5min stroll takes you to numerous restaurants and bars and a 10 min taxi/bus takes you into main shopping, commercial centre of Glasgow. This is an excellent hotel for business or leisure visitors to this vibrant city without the hassle of a 'plastic' city centre hotel.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank georgeDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I cannot really complain about anything specific, maybe the bathroom was a bit small and not particularly nice. The WiFi worked nicely and it is free. As I rated it, it is average, I may try another one next time.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank free-spirit2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This small, unpretentious hotel in a quiet street near to the Botanic Gardens is clean, friendly and with an excellent breakfast cooked to order. Our room was a double in what was presumably originally attic space and was a little small. Other rooms on lower floors are probably more spacious. However all facilties were in place including adequate hanging space built in. It was very good value and well placed for access to Byres Rd and the University. The Kelvin Walkway, providing a pleasant walking area along the river and access to the Botanic Gardens opens immediately opposite.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

This place reminded me of a set from the famous British Gangster film Get Carter. To me it was a dismal hell hole of a place which would be the last resort for anyone used to a smidgen of pleasantness or luxury. As a working class lad who spent a lot of family holidays in seaside concentration camps/B&Bs during the seventies this place made me relive those memories. The bed spreads, the wall paper, the avocado shower trays, stained mattresses and stray pubic hairs brought back a flood of memories.

We booked this hotel to attend a degree ceremony, as it seemed the only place in Glasgow that had a room at the time. Our journey to this place was not helped by the fact the front of the hotel is located on a street which has a traffic restriction on it, and the car park behind the building has to be reached via an alleyway barely wide enough for a car. The very few parking spaces angled in such a manner your have to have add half an hour on any journey to carefully extract your car. Take the wrong road here and its a significant back track to get back to the building.

The lady on the desk was quite accommodating, but was clearly on her own and appeared a bit confused. We were 'sent' to a room with directions, which when we found it had flowery carpets. It also had flowery bead spreads, lampshades, curtains and wall paper none of which matched. It smelled as if the previous occupant had smoked in it. Its only plus was it was quite large and tall. But so tall the cobwebs on the light fitting had not been attended to since the Jurassic period and a large spider watched us as we walked around. The arachnid was big enough for us to feel we had been double booked! My wife visibly stiffened as she looked in to the en suite. A museum piece from 1982 Shanks's catalogue. A slough of thick brown sludge was oozing from the shower fitting and the tray had a bout 1/2 an inch of it in the bottom. We trekked back to the desk and we were automatically given another room as though it often happened and it was no biggy! The other room was a cupboard (No we checked it was once a linen cupboard off a larger room!) with two single beds in it. This shower, with its frighteningly small and flexible tray, though working, had a broken door. That night we slept badly, apart.

The breakfast appeared to be 'cooked' and served by the same lady as had let us in the afternoon before. I have a cast iron stomach and I am like many of my generation, very accommodating and will eat what's put in front of me. This though, I mostly left. My wife who is admittedly is a bit fussy didn't touch hers. Cheap pale sausage. A still frozen in the middle hash brown. Gristly bacon and an egg browned on the edges which looked like a pan scourer. Frankly I would have willingly eaten a deep fried pan scourer instead. To me, crisp, light, fired bread is a guilty pleasure, This example of the breed was mid brown, soggy and so full of old cooking oil it burst in my mouth like a pustule. Need I go on.

Its one saving grace is that its quiet and close to the botanical gardens and an area of the city full of interesting bijou shops and restaurants. I have read positive reviews of this place and either I have gone soft and become used to the luxury of better establishments or this was a ghastly joke played upon us by the management. If you love your wife or girlfriend and wish to take her somewhere nice this isn't the place. She will leave you.

The irony was that we got this as a 'bargain' on late rooms, and it was not cheap. It certainly wasn't any cheaper than much better hotels. I still love Glasgow. Its lovely and friendly beyond the walls of this ghastly place.

Room Tip: Sleep in the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voycey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
In response to the above review, unfortunately we can find no record of this person having stayed at the Ambassador, the staff have no knowledge of any guest being moved because of problems with their bathroom. The description about flowery carpets, bedspreads and lampshades is wrong, it is many years since we had bedspreads on the beds and have always had plain carpets in the rooms.
According to the guest nothing was suitable for them so if that was the case this beggars the question why stay, why not ask for a refund and leave.
All the rooms have comment cards, none of which refer to anything like this, no complaints were received by the staff.
Having trawled through our computer system and spoken to all staff,
we can find no trace of this person at all, we now question whether in fact this guest actually stayed at the Ambassador.
We find this complaint long winded and professional, could this be one of our competitors?
In 23 years in the hotel industry I have never seen anything like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belhaven Hotel
#51 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. This stylish 3 star hotel is the ideal base for a leisue or corporate stop over in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing